KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Custom command stopped working
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/06/2020 05:03 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 Custom command stopped working   - Onehiccup - 09/06/2020 05:03 PM  
 Custom command stopped working   - Lunis Orcutt - 09/06/2020 06:39 PM  
 Custom command stopped working   - Onehiccup - 09/06/2020 06:46 PM  
 Custom command stopped working   - Lunis Orcutt - 09/06/2020 08:14 PM  
 Custom command stopped working   - Alan Cantor - 09/06/2020 09:57 PM  
 Custom command stopped working   - Onehiccup - 09/07/2020 07:08 AM  
 Custom command stopped working   - Alan Cantor - 09/07/2020 10:24 AM  
Keyword
 09/06/2020 05:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Onehiccup
New Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/06/2020

Hi Everyone, 

Last night I created a custom commands with DNS 15.3 for a program called Anki. It worked well, and the commands were generally very simple utilising a few key stroke steps. Today they are not working. I've attached an image and as you can see an anchor box appears with the word "turn", which is a command. However, this did not turn into a command. All anki related commands do not work, but my google commands do. I have tried to edit the commands to see if i can get them working. 

I'm suspicious of the blue 'turn' anchor box - for some reason i do not remember this box appearing last night, when the commands were working. 

Any help please?

Kind regards,

Michael



Anki.JPG
Anki.JPG  (40 KB)
anki 3.JPG
anki 3.JPG  (51 KB)

 09/06/2020 06:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 38107
Joined: 10/01/2006

                   Welcome (See Mission Statement)

 

We suspect that all you have to do is change your Windows specific commands to application-specific. If that doesn't work, global will definitely work. 

We additionally recommend using Advanced Scripting rather than step by step. KnowBrainer VerbalBasic II is significantly more capable, faster and even simpler. Here is a no-frills YouTube construction video. Here is a YouTube playback video demonstration of verbal VB Advanced Scripting.



-------------------------

Forum Mission Statement
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ext 1



 09/06/2020 06:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Onehiccup
New Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/06/2020

Thank you for replying,

I have tried changing it to application specific and global and it does not work. I'll look into advanced scripting to see if that helps. But I am still puzzled about what has changed. 

I was hoping that I wouldn't need to use another program, due to the cost associated with using knowbrainer - unless there is a free version. 

By the way, I installed a free trial of knowbrainer and it could not find the application Anki. DNS can find it though. 

 09/06/2020 08:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 38107
Joined: 10/01/2006

KnowBrainer only directly supports a number of mainstream applications. Think of the existing KnowBrainer commands as a few thousand examples. There are probably hundreds, if not thousands, of somewhat obscure applications such as Anki. Only 50% of KnowBrainer built-in commands are designed to automate your workflow. The other 50% is our KnowBrainer Patent # is 7,966,182 VerbalBasic Toolbox which gives you the tools to automate your personal workflow. Think of KnowBrainer as a fish & VerbalBasic as your fishing tackle box. Most end users never use VerbalBasic because the built-in commands are often enough but we are attempting to change that mindset.  



-------------------------

Forum Mission Statement
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ext 1



 09/06/2020 09:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Alan Cantor
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 3867
Joined: 12/08/2007

There is nothing untoward about seeing the Results Box containing the name of the last command or phrase you said. The Results Box was probably there yesterday; perhaps you changed the setting on whether (and how long) it appears.

My guess is that your command is working, but not doing anything. The first line of your script outputs the spacebar. Is there a push button that already has keyboard input focus when you say the command? Or is the application browser-like, in which case pressing the spacebar causes the page to scroll down one screen?

What happens if you physically press the spacebar instead of saying the command?
 09/07/2020 07:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Onehiccup
New Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/06/2020

Ah okay - good to know about the result box - Thank you.

I've attached another image - the space bar is supposed to show the answer of what that character means (it's a flashcard program). If i press the space bar physically it does it does show the answer (the intended behaviour). 

I've tried global, application, window. I've tried different command names. I've tried enabling and disabling voice-enabled menus, buttons, and other controls setting. I've tried restoring all settings to default, and checking what's changed. Other commands work relating to google (timer command, where it opens up google, and types in a ten minute timer). 

Any thoughts?



anki 4.png
anki 4.png  (8 KB)

 09/07/2020 10:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Alan Cantor
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 3867
Joined: 12/08/2007

Try as an Advanced Scripting command:

SendKeys "{Space}"

If that doesn't work, substitute SendSystemKeys or SendDragonKeys for SendKeys.

If that doesn't work, not sure what to suggest. I faced a similar situation, and the workaround I found was to send Shift + Space instead of Spacebar. Try it manually, and if it works, try this:

SendKeys "+{Space}"

or this:

SendSystemKeys "{Shift+Space}"

 

But Shift + spacebar is a long shot!



Statistics
31824 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 462 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 462 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.