KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Laptop recs -- 512 GB vs. 1 TB and 16 GB vs. 32 GB -- any difference for DNS?
Topic Summary: Will 1 TB (versus 512 GB) and 32 GB (versus 16 GB) improve DNS performance?
Created On: 12/05/2020 01:42 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 12/05/2020 01:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sjtandlich

I need to purchase a laptop for use with DNS 15.3 Professional/KnowBrainer, and am leaning toward the HP Envy 17-T-CG100.

This computer comes with 16 GB memory, but would allow me to upgrade to 32 GB for $180. It also comes with 512 GB SSD storage, but would allow me to upgrade to 1 TB for an extra $100. I would like to know if either of these upgrades would provide any noticeable benefit in using DNS.

I am an editor and a heavy user of DNS/KnowBrainer (currently working on a desktop but will need the laptop for travel), and would pay for one or both of the upgrades if they would help in the operation of DNS. But I also don't want to make upgrades that aren't necessary. DNS is my only application with relatively high requirements — I work almost entirely on MS Word documents, with no video editing or gaming, etc.

I would appreciate any comments or suggestions. Thank you.

Seth

12/05/2020 02:58 PM

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

From a Dragon speed and accuracy point of view, doubling your RAM or increasing your hard drive won't make any difference. On a personal note, we would do both but we also use as much is 24 Gb of RAM. Most end users would be just as well-off with lower specs.