KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Multiple mikes
Topic Summary: Controlling multiple microphones
Created On: 06/10/2021 11:17 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 Multiple mikes   - Mostam - 06/10/2021 11:17 AM  
 Multiple mikes   - Lunis Orcutt - 06/10/2021 12:15 PM  
 Multiple mikes   - Mostam - 06/10/2021 03:21 PM  
 Multiple mikes   - Lunis Orcutt - 06/10/2021 04:40 PM  
 Multiple mikes   - Mostam - 06/11/2021 07:47 AM  
 Multiple mikes   - Lunis Orcutt - 06/11/2021 10:54 AM  
Keyword
 06/10/2021 11:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mostam
New Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/09/2016

I'm using the speechware 3 in 1 table microphone and it is a great improvement to speech recognition. But it does not work well when I use it with Zoom. It requires that I have to be to close for her to pick up my voice and the quality of the long-range mode is not very good. For the online sessions I'm using my blue yeti Mike which does a great job with broadcast quality. I can plug both mics in a new one or the other. I'm using a laptop and I forgot that the laptop also has a microphone. Is there a way to control which microphone Dragon is going to pay attention to?

 06/10/2021 12:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 39241
Joined: 10/01/2006

We had no problem using our SpeechWare 3-in-1 in Zoom but have since switched to Microsoft Teams. As to your question... You have already assigned your 3-in-1 to Dragon so you don't have to worry about it. You should be able to assign your Blue Yeti default to Zoom

-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1

 06/10/2021 03:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mostam
New Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/09/2016

If it's possible to do that I don't know how to do it. What I am finding is that if I have the speechware Mike turn off (LED is red) but Dragon still has Mike on, if I speak it gets transcribed. I'm assuming this is happening because the Mike and the laptop is picking up and Dragon has automatically switched to the laptop Mike. There does not seem to be a way to tell what microphone Dragon is using if you have more than one. Nor does there seem to be a way to tell it not to use a particular Mike. Is there some way to access that function? I also don't see a way to assign a microphone to zoom.

 06/10/2021 04:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 39241
Joined: 10/01/2006

If Dragon picks up your dictation when you turn your 3-in-1 microphone off, you're not using it to begin with. Dragon does not include an automatic switch microphone feature. You can test this theory by unplugging the 3-in-1 microphone. If Dragon was using the 3-in-1, it would either not allow you to turn the Dragon microphone on or turn gray. You have simply assigned your notebooks integrated microphone to Dragon. Try opening your Manage Dictation Sources to the Choose Microphone menu and select the 3-in-1.



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1

 06/11/2021 07:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mostam
New Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/09/2016

Yes that works. I did not know where to find that feature. I would have thought microphone select was under audio and I never noticed that it does appear on the profile menu. At the time I was using a profile that recognize the built-in mic in the laptop. I was not aware which microphone was active. Thanks for the help
 06/11/2021 10:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 39241
Joined: 10/01/2006

We believe Nuance agrees about the Manage Dictation Sources menu being in an odd place  with an odd name. It will probably be removed from Ver. 16 and added to a more logical Microphone section, under the Settings menu. The next DragonBar, which is currently in the Group, & Medical editions of Dragon, will only feature 2 main menus.



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1



KnowBrainer Speech Recognition » Microphones and Sound Cards » Multiple mikes

Statistics
32127 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 296 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 297 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2021 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.