KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Dragon Legal Group 15.71 Bogs Downs When a Comment Is Opened for Editing in Acrobat Pro DC
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/02/2022 02:01 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 Dragon Legal Group 15.71 Bogs Downs When a Comment Is Opened for Editing in Acrobat Pro DC   - Rapp - 10/02/2022 02:01 PM  
 Dragon Legal Group 15.71 Bogs Downs When a Comment Is Opened for Editing in Acrobat Pro DC   - Lunis Orcutt - 10/02/2022 02:31 PM  
 Dragon Legal Group 15.71 Bogs Downs When a Comment Is Opened for Editing in Acrobat Pro DC   - Scribe - 10/02/2022 02:42 PM  
 Dragon Legal Group 15.71 Bogs Downs When a Comment Is Opened for Editing in Acrobat Pro DC   - Rapp - 10/02/2022 05:57 PM  
 Dragon Legal Group 15.71 Bogs Downs When a Comment Is Opened for Editing in Acrobat Pro DC   - ax - 10/02/2022 06:12 PM  
 Dragon Legal Group 15.71 Bogs Downs When a Comment Is Opened for Editing in Acrobat Pro DC   - Rapp - 10/02/2022 06:33 PM  
 Dragon Legal Group 15.71 Bogs Downs When a Comment Is Opened for Editing in Acrobat Pro DC   - Scribe - 10/03/2022 12:04 AM  
 Dragon Legal Group 15.71 Bogs Downs When a Comment Is Opened for Editing in Acrobat Pro DC   - Scribe - 10/06/2022 04:32 PM  
 Dragon Legal Group 15.71 Bogs Downs When a Comment Is Opened for Editing in Acrobat Pro DC   - cdslange - 10/07/2022 07:33 AM  
 Dragon Legal Group 15.71 Bogs Downs When a Comment Is Opened for Editing in Acrobat Pro DC   - Matt_Chambers - 10/10/2022 08:45 AM  
 Dragon Legal Group 15.71 Bogs Downs When a Comment Is Opened for Editing in Acrobat Pro DC   - Scribe - 10/07/2022 01:37 PM  
 Dragon Legal Group 15.71 Bogs Downs When a Comment Is Opened for Editing in Acrobat Pro DC   - ax - 10/10/2022 03:17 AM  
 Dragon Legal Group 15.71 Bogs Downs When a Comment Is Opened for Editing in Acrobat Pro DC   - Rapp - 10/10/2022 11:54 AM  
 Dragon Legal Group 15.71 Bogs Downs When a Comment Is Opened for Editing in Acrobat Pro DC   - jaysan - 10/14/2022 12:34 PM  
 Dragon Legal Group 15.71 Bogs Downs When a Comment Is Opened for Editing in Acrobat Pro DC   - monkey8 - 10/19/2022 04:55 AM  
 Dragon Legal Group 15.71 Bogs Downs When a Comment Is Opened for Editing in Acrobat Pro DC   - Miranda34 - 05/04/2023 10:40 PM  
Keyword
 10/02/2022 02:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Rapp
Senior Member

Posts: 117
Joined: 12/12/2007

Whenever I open a comment for editing in Acrobat Pro DC, Dragon bogs down and it takes while to become responsive again.  I have considered a few options, such as an AutoHotkey script that turns off the microphone whenever Acrobat (or a comment in Acrobat) becomes active. 

I have also looked into adding something like the following to nsuser.ini, but I'm not sure which version should be used for Acrobat Pro DC.

[Acrobat|InputVersion\Compatibility Module Status]
Global Dictation=0

Any suggestions? Thanks in advance for your thoughts on this topic. 

 10/02/2022 02:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 40989
Joined: 10/01/2006

Depending on the complexity, would working in Microsoft Word and then saving your document as a PDF file work? This is how we handle Word and Excel records and receipts. Note that our requirements are fairly simple and not ideally suited to dictating into forms.

-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2022
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1

 10/02/2022 02:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Scribe
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 592
Joined: 04/02/2010

This is not a solution but merely a comment on a related problem. Yesterday, I was referring to a PDF that was open in Adobe DC (I have the basic free version). Every time I switched to it and tried to dictate into the search box after saying Press Control F, there was a long delay before what I dictated appeared in the box. I just tried it again as a test with a two-page PDF, and it took 19 seconds for the phrase I dictated into the search box to appear.

 

[Edited to add that I am using DPI 15.61 on a PC with 16 GB of RAM and and an i5 processor.]



-------------------------

Writing and editing (my main website):  Welcome - Words for Sale


The woman who dueled with Aaron Burr and won: www.MmeJumel.com


Crohn's News Blog: www.crohns-news.net



 10/02/2022 05:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Rapp
Senior Member

Posts: 117
Joined: 12/12/2007

Here is an Autohotkey script that will automatically turn off the microphone whenever a comment in Acrobat is active for editing. In my very brief testing, it seems to avoid the slowdowns previously associated with editing comments. Of course, if anyone has any enhancements or suggestions, please let me know.

#Persistent
#SingleInstance, Force

;Checks once per second
SetTimer, Check, 1000

Check:

WinGetClass, FC, A
Key := InStr(FC, "AcrobatSDIWindow")
;If Acrobat is active
If Key > 0
{
ControlGetFocus, CF, A
;if editing a comment is active
If (InStr(CF, "RICHEDIT50") > 0)
{
DgnMic := ComObjCreate("Dragon.MicBtn")
DgnMic.Register()
;turns on mic
DgnMic.MicState := 1
DgnMic.UnRegister()
ObjRelease (DgnMic)
}
Return
}

 10/02/2022 06:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ax
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 792
Joined: 03/22/2012

Nicely done.  In an ideal world of course folks wouldn't have to use any scripting tool to workaround such glitches.

The "InStr()" thing is an immediate reminder to myself on how I could use it for my purposes.

If it works the way you intend it, then it works.  However, perhaps the final "Return" should be put outside the outer set of brackets?

Probably for a single-action script like this which is "persistent", it doesn't matter (too much) where you place the "Return".



 10/02/2022 06:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Rapp
Senior Member

Posts: 117
Joined: 12/12/2007

I think you're right. Here is the "Return" after the last bracket so that the script will always return even if it is not in Acrobat.

#Persistent
#SingleInstance, Force

;Checks once per second
SetTimer, Check, 1000

Check:

WinGetClass, FC, A
Key := InStr(FC, "AcrobatSDIWindow")
;If Acrobat is active
If Key > 0
{
ControlGetFocus, CF, A


;if editing a comment is active
If (InStr(CF, "RICHEDIT50") > 0)
{
DgnMic := ComObjCreate("Dragon.MicBtn")
DgnMic.Register()
DgnMic.MicState := 1
DgnMic.UnRegister()
ObjRelease (DgnMic)

}

}
Return
 10/03/2022 12:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Scribe
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 592
Joined: 04/02/2010

Rapp,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write that script (and Ax, for the modification.) I'll have to start exploring AutoHotKey. Your script gives me hope that it might be possible to use Dragon to edit in Adobe DC, which would open up some job opportunities for me.

-------------------------

Writing and editing (my main website):  Welcome - Words for Sale


The woman who dueled with Aaron Burr and won: www.MmeJumel.com


Crohn's News Blog: www.crohns-news.net

 10/06/2022 04:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Scribe
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 592
Joined: 04/02/2010

This is a follow-up. I read about AutoHotKey and then tried the script set out above (using Adobe Acrobat Reader DC rather than the Pro version). Nothing happened. However, I discovered that if I disabled Adobe's security sandbox, I could dictate into the Find box and Comments boxes without delays. I also had Select-and-Say capacity for dictation and corrections. To disable the sandbox in Adobe, go to Edit, followed by Preferences, and uncheck Enable Protected Mode at startup. Close and then restart the app for the change to take effect.

-------------------------

Writing and editing (my main website):  Welcome - Words for Sale


The woman who dueled with Aaron Burr and won: www.MmeJumel.com


Crohn's News Blog: www.crohns-news.net

 10/07/2022 07:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cdslange
Junior Member

Posts: 33
Joined: 06/30/2017

Originally posted by: Scribe This is a follow-up. I read about AutoHotKey and then tried the script set out above (using Adobe Acrobat Reader DC rather than the Pro version). Nothing happened. However, I discovered that if I disabled Adobe's security sandbox, I could dictate into the Find box and Comments boxes without delays. I also had Select-and-Say capacity for dictation and corrections. To disable the sandbox in Adobe, go to Edit, followed by Preferences, and uncheck Enable Protected Mode at startup. Close and then restart the app for the change to take effect.

 

Scribe please go straight to the top of my favorite person list for this discovery. I have been bogged down in Adobe Acrobat with Dragon for the last several months and this has solved it. It first started happening several months back and it used to lock up everywhere including on the print dialog, find dialog and many other places. Thank you so much.



 10/10/2022 08:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Matt_Chambers
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 839
Joined: 08/09/2018

Originally posted by: Scribe This is a follow-up. I read about AutoHotKey and then tried the script set out above (using Adobe Acrobat Reader DC rather than the Pro version). Nothing happened. However, I discovered that if I disabled Adobe's security sandbox, I could dictate into the Find box and Comments boxes without delays. I also had Select-and-Say capacity for dictation and corrections. To disable the sandbox in Adobe, go to Edit, followed by Preferences, and uncheck Enable Protected Mode at startup. Close and then restart the app for the change to take effect.

This is an amazing solution! I just tried it, and was able to use Find function effectively for the first time in months.

I guess this points out the complexity of trying to get Dragon to work in various applications.

Thanks for the great solution!

 10/07/2022 01:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Scribe
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 592
Joined: 04/02/2010

You are most welcome. I learn a lot from this board, and I am happy when I can help someone else.



-------------------------

Writing and editing (my main website):  Welcome - Words for Sale


The woman who dueled with Aaron Burr and won: www.MmeJumel.com


Crohn's News Blog: www.crohns-news.net



 10/10/2022 03:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ax
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 792
Joined: 03/22/2012

Assuming this is the fix (not that I would know since I neither edit PDF nor use desktop Dragon), then Scribe I bestow on you this year's "Herr Wilke" "Fix-It-At-The-Source" Award.

This kind is without a doubt the best kind of fix.

Well done!

 10/10/2022 11:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Rapp
Senior Member

Posts: 117
Joined: 12/12/2007

Scribe, that's a great find. Thanks for sharing the solution.
 10/14/2022 12:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


jaysan
Power Member

Posts: 51
Joined: 05/14/2007

I had trouble finding this setting in Adobe Acrobat reader, so I'm adding a screenshot I found online that helped me.

This type should seriously be added to some best of. Added to one of the installation guides. A new post by the contributing author with the title "how to avoid Dragon slowdowns in Adobe Acrobat Reader".

This has bothered me/slowed me down for years, but for some reason I figured I would look in the forum for help today, and found it deep in a thread.

 

 



-------------------------

Work laptop: DPI 15.1, i7-1065G7, 16GB RAM, KB2017, SpeechStart+, Sennheiser SC660 for Lync

 10/19/2022 04:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
monkey8
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 4186
Joined: 01/14/2008

Adobe "Enable Protected Mode at Start-up" rears its ugly head once again, great detective work Scribe. This is an old problem with Adobe which used to cause a more serious error. It's related to Assistive technology readers scanning the Adobe pages.

 

https://nuance.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/6224/kw/hookerr/session/L3RpbWUvMTM3NDU3MTg4NS9zaWQvUGtuc2VXdmw%3D



-------------------------

 05/04/2023 10:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Miranda34
New Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/04/2023

Originally posted by: monkey8 Adobe "Enable Protected Mode at Start-up" rears its ugly head once again, great detective work Scribe. This is an old problem with Adobe which used to cause a more serious error. It's related to Assistive technology readers scanning the Adobe pages.

 

 

 

https://nuance.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/6224/kw/hookerr/session/L3RpbWUvMTM3NDU3MTg4NS9zaWQvUGtuc2VXdmw%3D retro bowl

 

Is this an Adobe failure?

Statistics
32634 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 279 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 280 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2023 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.