KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Replacing text - adjusting the maximum number of characters
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/25/2022 03:50 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 Replacing text - adjusting the maximum number of characters   - Alan Cantor - 09/25/2022 03:50 PM  
 Replacing text - adjusting the maximum number of characters   - Lunis Orcutt - 09/25/2022 05:42 PM  
 Replacing text - adjusting the maximum number of characters   - Mav - 09/26/2022 01:46 AM  
 Replacing text - adjusting the maximum number of characters   - R. Wilke - 09/26/2022 03:50 AM  
 Replacing text - adjusting the maximum number of characters   - Stephan Kuepper - 09/26/2022 05:11 AM  
 Replacing text - adjusting the maximum number of characters   - R. Wilke - 09/26/2022 11:59 AM  
 Replacing text - adjusting the maximum number of characters   - Alan Cantor - 09/26/2022 01:14 PM  
Keyword
 09/25/2022 03:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Alan Cantor
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 4405
Joined: 12/08/2007

If you have selected some text, and that selection contains less than a certain number of characters, the next words you say will replace the selection.

 

If that selection contains more than a certain number of characters, Dragon flashes a message near the DragonBar, saying that the selection is too large to replace.

 

Does anyone know if there is a way to set the maximum number of characters to a different value? For me, the number of characters is too low. And I have clients for whom the default value might be too high.

 09/25/2022 05:42 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 40207
Joined: 10/01/2006

We know how your client feels and run into this problem with our <dictation> commands. Unfortunately, character number limits are hardcoded and cannot be edited by the end-user



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2022
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1

 09/26/2022 01:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mav
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 567
Joined: 10/02/2008

I think saying "scratch that" before starting to dictate the replacement will have the same effect but not suffer from the overwrite character number limitation.

 

hth

mav

 09/26/2022 03:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
R. Wilke
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 7921
Joined: 03/04/2007

I think I have posted this before, but actually, the value isn't fixed. It seems like the current default is set to 299 characters, but it is one of the Dragon engine options which are accessible via the SDK, and it can be modified from within an Advanced Scripting, for example, using the appropriate "getter and setter" functions.

Have a look at this, but don't push your luck resetting the maximum too high.

Dim eng As New DgnEngineControl
MsgBox "Previous setting: " + eng.Option(dgnengoptionMaxReutterReplacement)
eng.Option(dgnengoptionMaxReutterReplacement) = 350
MsgBox "New setting: " + eng.Option(dgnengoptionMaxReutterReplacement)

-------------------------



No need to buy if all you want to do is try ...

DragonCapture KB Download (Latest)
DragonCapture Homepage

 09/26/2022 05:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Stephan Kuepper
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 2277
Joined: 10/04/2006

You can also add the following line to your options.ini, located in the user profile, folder "Currect":

Max Reutter Replacement=n

with n being the number of characters. This was actually posted by Rüdiger some 8 years ago:
https://knowbrainer.com/forums/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=12&threadid=19822&enterthread=y

HTH, Stephan

(edit to activate link)



-------------------------

www.egs-vertrieb.de - www.spracherkennungscloud.de



 09/26/2022 11:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
R. Wilke
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 7921
Joined: 03/04/2007

Originally posted by: Stephan Kuepper You can also add the following line to your options.ini, located in the user profile, folder "Currect": Max Reutter Replacement=n with n being the number of characters. This was actually posted by Rüdiger some 8 years ago: https://knowbrainer.com/forums/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=12&threadid=19822&enterthread=y HTH, Stephan

 

(edit to activate link)

 



Thank you very much, Stephan, for reminding me of this which I had actually forgotten, same as I seem to keep forgetting how brilliant I used to be back in the day. :-)



-------------------------



No need to buy if all you want to do is try ...

DragonCapture KB Download (Latest)
DragonCapture Homepage

 09/26/2022 01:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Alan Cantor
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 4405
Joined: 12/08/2007

Thank you!
Statistics
32389 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 345 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 348 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2022 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.