KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Unwitting Solution to "Running" Dragon on Mac
Topic Summary: I accidentally found a way to get the benefits of Dragon without having to use a virtual machine...
Created On: 09/23/2022 12:21 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 Unwitting Solution to "Running" Dragon on Mac   - adriancobon - 09/23/2022 12:21 PM  
Keyword
 09/23/2022 12:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
adriancobon

I have been using Dragon Professional since 2014 and depend on it to get my work done. My preferred operating system is MacOS and I am quite happy running an M1 Mac Mini. However, getting Dragon Pro 15.61 to play nice in a virtual machine running Windows 11 has been... well, I am certain many seasoned Mac users can fill in the blank with any number of interesting turns of phrases.

To compensate for that I have been using an older but still quite servicable Windows 10 PC with a dedicated microphone. I login using RDP and just dictate away. From there, the copy is saved to a shared folder and I go about using my writing and editing software on the platform I am most comfortable with.

The problem is that using a remote connection made dealing with complex pieces of media difficult, if not impossible. I had to find a better solution.

I finally settled on transcription, using the automated tool that comes with the professional version of Dragon. My profile was already getting 99.99% accuracy for most of my commercial work, so as long as I used the same microphone it stood to reason that I would get the same results. 

I set the transcription agent to automatically transcribe anything put into one folder on my shared drive and dump it into a second folder. Then I moved the microphone over to my Mac Mini and got to work.