KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Easily set microphone volume?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/02/2021 03:26 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 Easily set microphone volume?   - BigTech - 09/02/2021 03:26 AM  
 Easily set microphone volume?   - j_mundel - 09/02/2021 06:24 AM  
 Easily set microphone volume?   - Lunis Orcutt - 09/02/2021 12:08 PM  
Keyword
 09/02/2021 03:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


BigTech
Senior Member

Posts: 89
Joined: 11/25/2008

Right-Click System Tray Icon > Audio > Check Microphone

Dictate into the microphone quietly or loudly.

Is that the only way?

Cannot just enter a number someplace, for the microphone volume?

Thanks.

 09/02/2021 06:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
j_mundel
Junior Member

Posts: 29
Joined: 04/16/2018

Hi,

I've been running into my own mic input volume issues lately and I found the following helpful.

If using Dragon Professional Individual 15.xx on the Dragon bar Click Profile -> Manage dictation sources...

Then highlight the microphone you're using and make sure the box for "Automatically adjust the microphone level as I speak" is unticked.

Then if in Windows 10 open the settings app then click System -> Sound and then under "Input" heading make sure the microphone you're using is selected then click "Device properties" below that.

Here you an increase the volume to the desired level. Dragon normally adjusts this setting automatically and in some cases it may be set too low. Doing the first step should stop dragon from automatically adjusting this so you can set the desired level. Trial and error might be neccessary for optimum results.

Best of luck!
Joe

 09/02/2021 12:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 39241
Joined: 10/01/2006

We concur with the 1st part of J_mkundel's recommendation but changing Windows sound settings is a waste of time because Dragon will reset the volume input level when you run the Microphone Check; which you will have to do. If you wish to raise your microphone input level, speak at a lower volume level when you run the Microphone Check. Vice versa will produce the opposite results.



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1



KnowBrainer Speech Recognition » Dragon Speech Recognition » Easily set microphone volume?

Statistics
32127 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 297 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 298 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2021 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.