KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Open Program
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/09/2021 01:05 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 Open Program   - Robert Snow - 06/09/2021 01:05 PM  
 Open Program   - Lunis Orcutt - 06/09/2021 01:08 PM  
 Open Program   - Robert Snow - 06/09/2021 02:16 PM  
 Open Program   - Edgar - 06/10/2021 10:10 AM  
 Open Program   - dilligence - 06/10/2021 11:03 AM  
 Open Program   - Robert Snow - 06/12/2021 04:56 PM  
 Open Program   - Lunis Orcutt - 06/14/2021 11:52 AM  
 Open Program   - Robert Snow - 06/14/2021 04:19 PM  
 Open Program   - Indredi - 06/10/2021 01:25 PM  
 Open Program   - Todd - 06/10/2021 09:38 PM  
 Open Program   - Lunis Orcutt - 06/10/2021 10:08 PM  
 Open Program   - ax - 06/10/2021 10:59 PM  
 Open Program   - dilligence - 06/10/2021 10:51 PM  
 Open Program   - Edgar - 06/11/2021 09:15 AM  
 Open Program   - Robert Snow - 06/12/2021 04:49 PM  
 Open Program   - Robert Snow - 06/13/2021 11:10 PM  
 Open Program   - Robert Snow - 06/13/2021 11:04 PM  
 Open Program   - Alan Cantor - 06/10/2021 01:38 PM  
 Open Program   - Robert Snow - 06/13/2021 10:57 PM  
 Open Program   - Lunis Orcutt - 06/14/2021 11:54 AM  
 Open Program   - Alan Cantor - 06/12/2021 05:43 PM  
 Open Program   - Robert Snow - 06/13/2021 11:31 PM  
 Open Program   - PG LTU - 06/12/2021 08:26 PM  
 Open Program   - Robert Snow - 06/13/2021 11:40 PM  
 Open Program   - Lunis Orcutt - 06/12/2021 09:34 PM  
 Open Program   - Robert Snow - 06/13/2021 11:47 PM  
 Open Program   - Robert Snow - 06/16/2021 08:51 PM  
 Open Program   - Alan Cantor - 06/14/2021 01:19 PM  
 Open Program   - Robert Snow - 06/22/2021 01:48 AM  
 Open Program   - Robert Snow - 06/16/2021 12:46 PM  
Keyword
 06/09/2021 01:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Robert Snow
Senior Member

Posts: 122
Joined: 04/18/2017

I'm trying to open a program called (CNC-OneNote-WasteBoard.lnk)

 

It's a group of three programs using StarTech-Groupy. Normally I can just click on it and it will execute perfectly. I'm trying to use a voice command in Dragon 15 professional, Voice (Group CNC). I tried MyCommand Editor the following with no luck.:

For reasons unknown to me I could not display the code.

Run C:\Users\ameri\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Saved Groups\CNC-OneNote-WasteBoard.lnk

 

I have it set up for global.

 

Command type I was not sure about.

 

Bob

 

 



-------------------------

Robert Snow
Germantown, WI



 06/09/2021 01:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 39191
Joined: 10/01/2006

Try AppBringUp "C:\Users\ameri\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Saved Groups\CNC-OneNote-WasteBoard.lnk"



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1

 06/09/2021 02:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Robert Snow
Senior Member

Posts: 122
Joined: 04/18/2017

AppBringUp did not work. I tried using Macro Express Professional 6.3.3.1. It did open as I wanted. This is the code I used:

 

I would rather use Dragon, the advantage of voice control.

Bob

 

LAUNCH PROGRAM AND ACTIVATE WINDOW Title="(Master) C:\\Users\\ameri\\AppData\\Roaming\\Microsoft\\Windows\\Start Menu\\Saved Groups" Exact_Match="FALSE" Wildcards="FALSE" Path="C:\\Users\\ameri\\AppData\\Roaming\\Microsoft\\Windows\\Start Menu\\Saved Groups\\CNC-OneNote-WasteBoard.lnk" Mode="\x00" Default_Path="TRUE" Wait="1" Wait_For_Program="15"/



-------------------------

Robert Snow
Germantown, WI



 06/10/2021 10:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Edgar
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 1176
Joined: 04/03/2009

Originally posted by: Robert Snow  I tried using Macro Express Professional 6.3.3.1. It did open as I wanted.

You can create a Dragon script which will launch your Macro Express script. I'm not really familiar with Macro Express, but I suspect that you can compile your script from within the Macro Express GUI; do so and, for simplicity, name the script something with NO spaces in the name (e.g. GroupyScript.exe) And put it in a folder whose complete path has no spaces (e.g. C:\MyScripts\) thus:

C:\MyScripts\GroupyScript.exe

then create your Dragon® Advanced Script:

AppBringUp "C:\MyScripts\GroupyScript.exe"

this should work.



-------------------------

-Edgar
DPI 15.3, 64-bit Windows 10 Pro, OpenOffice & Office 365, Norton Security, Shure X2U XLR to USB mic adapter with Audio Technica DB135 vocal mic, Asus X299-Deluxe Prime, Intel Core i9-7940X (14 core, 4.3 GHz overclocked to 4.9 GHz), G.SKILL TridentZ Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4 3333 (PC4 26600) F4-3333C16Q-64GTZ, NVIDIA GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1060 GV-N1060G1 GAMING-6GD REV 2.0 6GB graphics card with 3 1920x1080 monitors

 06/10/2021 11:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dilligence
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 1393
Joined: 08/16/2010

Maybe I'm missing something but that lnk is a start menu item right?

 

Why not right click on that link and choose: Send to --> Desktop (create shortcut).

Give the created desktop shortcut any name you like for instance "Waste Board".

 

Now you can use the native Dragon open/start <dictation> voice commands i.e "open Waste Board" or "start Waste Board".



-------------------------

 06/12/2021 04:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Robert Snow
Senior Member

Posts: 122
Joined: 04/18/2017

I might not of made myself clear enough on what I was trying to accomplish. Basically all I'm trying to do is open up a file.

C:\Users\ameri\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Saved Groups\CNC-OneNote-WasteBoard.lnk

unfortunately now I'm finding out that spaces in the past can be a mortal sin. I use another program called Opus and with that all I have to do is put quotations to avoid the space problem.

"C:\Users\ameri\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Saved Groups\CNC-OneNote-WasteBoard.lnk"

Are quotations a possibility? 

Bob



-------------------------

Robert Snow
Germantown, WI

 06/14/2021 11:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 39191
Joined: 10/01/2006

Originally posted by: Robert Snow AppBringUp did not work. I tried using Macro Express Professional 6.3.3.1. It did open as I wanted. 

 

Did you create an Advanced-Scripting command; not Plain Text? See following:



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1

 06/14/2021 04:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Robert Snow
Senior Member

Posts: 122
Joined: 04/18/2017

This did it! A very big THANK YOU!

My biggest problem was a lack of understanding Sub Main & End Sub. I did a search in Dragon 's  the subject, found nothing.

I found many responses to my issues very helpful. I want to thank all those that helped this hardheaded guy. I created a directory path off desktops path, no spaces. Here is my final code that worked. Thanks again to all those that made my day.

Advanced Scripting

Sub Main
AppBringUp "C:\Users\ameri\Desktop\Groupy\WasteBoard.lnk"
End Sub

Bob



-------------------------

Robert Snow
Germantown, WI

 06/10/2021 01:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Indredi
New Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/24/2020

I've found that diligence's method works exceedingly well. Additionally, I found that this works with many other things. For instance, I right-clicked on a folder in File Explorer, created a shortcut to the desktop for the folder and then renamed the shortcut on the desktop to a short easy name to be read and recognized by DNS. I'm not a big fan of lots of shortcuts on my desktop, but this method gives me easy access to groups of like files.



 06/10/2021 09:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Todd
Advanced Member

Posts: 164
Joined: 02/03/2008

I'm not a big fan of lots of shortcuts on my desktop, but this method gives me easy access to groups of like files.

 

 

 

Since Dragon tracks shortcuts on both the desktop and the Start menu, I created a subfolder (Speech\Shortcuts) in:

 

 

C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs

 

 

Here I have dozens of shortcuts to applications and files with easily recognized names.  Thus, desktop clutter is avoided.



-------------------------

Todd Kermit
Principal
SpeechWise
todd@speechwise.com

www.speechwise.com

Dragon Professional Individual 15.61, Intel Core i7-10700K, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro, Plantronics CS55/Andrea PureAudio USB-SA

 06/10/2021 10:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 39191
Joined: 10/01/2006

How would you like to kick it up a notch with the ability to open pretty much anything, anywhere, anytime; including the Web?

 

We just added an Apple Siri type of command to Windows appropriately named Windows Open <dictation>. You are no longer limited to opening programs. You can now open any application, utility, folder, file, Internet address, picture, song etc. It doesn't even have to be on Drive C. There's pretty much nothing KnowBrainer can't open with one command. For example, we have a Microsoft Word file called “Natpro Quick Tips” buried 4 submenus deep on Drive D. We can open that file whether Microsoft Word is open or not by saying Windows Open File <quick tips>. Notice that we didn't have to say the 1st name of the file; which Dragon wouldn't recognize anyway. This is what we mean by KnowBrainer AI. Even Web searches and addresses are included.


PS: You can also say Windows Open <WasteBoard> without any tricks or specialty commands. You'll find a 30 day trial in our signature tag.



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1



 06/10/2021 10:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ax
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 297
Joined: 03/22/2012

Originally posted by: Lunis Orcutt How would you like to kick it up a notch with the ability to open pretty much anything, anywhere, anytime; including the Web?

 

 

 

We just added an Apple Siri type of command to Windows appropriately named Windows Open . You are no longer limited to opening programs.

 

 

 

Not being a KB user, I nevertheless find this feat impressive, assuming not attracting the attention of Cupertino patent law army (kidding).

 

Any chance the smart developer behind KB can harness some of that AI goodness to allow a poor chap to holler: "Computer.  Hands off feature upgrade for 180 days" while silently making a bunch of registry hacks and what they call it - "group policy" edits under the hood?

 

Otherwise that hapless sop would have to resort to pretending some kind of "metered connection".  Now that's definitely more Flintstones than AI ...



 06/10/2021 10:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dilligence
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 1393
Joined: 08/16/2010

Thanks Todd, I didn't know that! This opens up some new possibilities for sure.



-------------------------

 06/11/2021 09:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Edgar
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 1176
Joined: 04/03/2009

Originally posted by: Todd I'm not a big fan of lots of shortcuts on my desktop

 

Since Dragon tracks shortcuts on both the desktop and the Start menu, I created a subfolder (Speech\Shortcuts) in: 

 

C:\Users\\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs 

 

Here I have dozens of shortcuts to applications and files with easily recognized names.

This is great! I was putting hidden shortcuts on my desktop to eliminate the clutter but this will work much better. Thanks!



-------------------------

-Edgar
DPI 15.3, 64-bit Windows 10 Pro, OpenOffice & Office 365, Norton Security, Shure X2U XLR to USB mic adapter with Audio Technica DB135 vocal mic, Asus X299-Deluxe Prime, Intel Core i9-7940X (14 core, 4.3 GHz overclocked to 4.9 GHz), G.SKILL TridentZ Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4 3333 (PC4 26600) F4-3333C16Q-64GTZ, NVIDIA GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1060 GV-N1060G1 GAMING-6GD REV 2.0 6GB graphics card with 3 1920x1080 monitors

 06/12/2021 04:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Robert Snow
Senior Member

Posts: 122
Joined: 04/18/2017

>Here I have dozens of shortcuts to applications and files >>

Any chance on seeing how you coded a few of those. It sure would help me get a jumpstart.

Bob



-------------------------

Robert Snow
Germantown, WI

 06/13/2021 11:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Robert Snow
Senior Member

Posts: 122
Joined: 04/18/2017

y>>I created a subfolder (Speech\Shortcuts)

 C:\Users\\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs <<

Are you Saying C:\speech\shortcuts? And if so how do you get myCommands to move them to this location?

Bob



-------------------------

Robert Snow
Germantown, WI

 06/13/2021 11:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Robert Snow
Senior Member

Posts: 122
Joined: 04/18/2017

Maybe my problem is I don't understand where the command is being saved. I automatically expected it to execute when I speak it's name.

That's taking into consideration Im using this code.

start B\SW\Groupy\CNC-OneNote-WasteBoard.lnk

Also Launch & Open

B0b



-------------------------

Robert Snow
Germantown, WI

 06/10/2021 01:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Alan Cantor
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 4144
Joined: 12/08/2007

Renaming the desktop shortcut to something that is easy to say seems like the best solution to me. Then preface the shortcut name with either Start, Open, or Launch.
 06/13/2021 10:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Robert Snow
Senior Member

Posts: 122
Joined: 04/18/2017

I was in myCommnds Editor using Dragon Pr0 15.612. My Windows is 10Pro with Chrome

This is my "Text command" 

start B\SW\Groupy\CNC-OneNote-WasteBoard.lnk

I also used LAUNCH and OPEN wth No luck. I must be missing something.

Bob 



-------------------------

Robert Snow
Germantown, WI

 06/14/2021 11:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 39191
Joined: 10/01/2006

Originally posted by: Robert Snow I was in myCommnds Editor using Dragon Pr0 15.612. My Windows is 10Pro with Chrome

 

This is my "Text command" 

 

start B\SW\Groupy\CNC-OneNote-WasteBoard.lnk

 

I also used LAUNCH and OPEN wth No luck. I must be missing something.

 

Bob 

 

 

 

Plain Text (Text & Graphics) commands won't work. You will need to create an Advanced-Scripting command in order to take this approach. However, Todd's recommendation would allow you to skip creating commands and you could say something like <launch, show, open or start <WasteBoard>. You will need to rename the CNC-OneNote-WasteBoard shortcut to something easier to say and remember like WasteBoard. When using this type of command, Dragon makes you say the entire name. Assuming your extension is hidden, you would have to say something like Open <CNC-OneNote-WasteBoard> and if you are displaying extensions, you would literally have to say something like Launch <CNC-OneNote-WasteBoard dot link>. Windows default setting to hide extensions is usually a good idea.



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1

 06/12/2021 05:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Alan Cantor
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 4144
Joined: 12/08/2007

Try this:

1. Make a new copy of the shortcut to the file you want to open, and paste it on the desktop.

2. Test the shortcut via keyboard or mouse to make sure that activating the desktop shortcut actually opens the file.

3. If the shortcut is working when you access it manually, rename it. Make the name two or three words long, and use common words that are in Dragon's vocabulary. Don't worry about spaces, but omit punctuation. For example, if the name of the shortcut is "CNC-OneNote-WasteBoard," rename it to "Waste Board."

4. Now try it with Dragon: "open Waste Board."

5. If nothing happens, close Dragon, close all programs, restart your computer, and try the Dragon command again.
 06/13/2021 11:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Robert Snow
Senior Member

Posts: 122
Joined: 04/18/2017

Alan I did get it to work, or we did. My missiion was not only to accomplish this.  I was hoping to learn how to load programs from myCommands editor. At least now I know the actual file, WasteBoard will execute as I planned.

Thanks

Bob



-------------------------

Robert Snow
Germantown, WI

 06/12/2021 08:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PG LTU
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 2164
Joined: 03/21/2007

+1 Alan, and once you rename the shortcut on the desktop, if "open name of shortcut" doesn't work, try to select it by voice and say "press enter." Does it work? If you use mousegrid to select it and say "double click" before leaving mousegrid mode, does it work? If it is manually selected and you manually press "enter" does it work?

Btw, what version of Dragon do you have as some versions behaved appallingly with parameters to shortcuts (by opening the underlying application).

So if it is latest Dragon and any of the above work, it should be able to be scripted. If only manual pressing "enter" on keyboard works, then maybe go to your shortcut, right-click and select "Properties" and say what is in the "Target:" box; and also say what is in the "Start in:" box; and also mention if you are relying on any registry associations to imply the actual executable (in which case, the data file name is essentially treated as a parameter). Let us know your results . . .



-------------------------




PG





Remember folks, my comments and this forum are for entertainment value only, please, no wagering or other reliance on the contents herein.  I permit no commercial use of my ideas (whether expressions or embodiments) without my written consent.



 06/13/2021 11:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Robert Snow
Senior Member

Posts: 122
Joined: 04/18/2017

Yes. Alan's help did work. And so did your help work. I spoke "open wasteboard". The Result was 3 programs opened as one tabed window. 

Thanks for taking the time.

Bob



-------------------------

Robert Snow
Germantown, WI

 06/12/2021 09:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 39191
Joined: 10/01/2006

++ A shout out to Todd's recommendation which we have added to the Quick Tips and credited with; in situations where you want to add several apps, folders and files.

-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1

 06/13/2021 11:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Robert Snow
Senior Member

Posts: 122
Joined: 04/18/2017

Are you saying there might be a way to have 3 programs in the same tabed window, tab for each program, giving me the ability to instantly switch between the different tabes. This is what StarDock-Groupy does. But it would be nice if code could accomplish this.

Bob



-------------------------

Robert Snow
Germantown, WI

 06/16/2021 08:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Robert Snow
Senior Member

Posts: 122
Joined: 04/18/2017

>>where you want to add several apps, folders and files.<<

To the same window.

Bob



-------------------------

Robert Snow
Germantown, WI

 06/14/2021 01:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Alan Cantor
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 4144
Joined: 12/08/2007

The beauty of using the desktop shortcut method is that it eliminates the need to do scripting.

There are different kinds of Dragon commands, including commands that are "hardwired" into the program, commands that a user can create, and commands that are automatically generated on-the-fly.

In the third group, Dragon recognizes certain utterances as commands based on information that appears in the user interface. Examples of this kind of command includes "click File" and "click Insert" in Microsoft Word. Dragon recognizes these commands because both are clickable objects in Word's ribbon. But if you hide the ribbon, the commands are not recognized. These commands are not hardwired. These commands become available when conditions are right in the user interface.

Ditto for desktop shortcuts. (And apparently, for shortcuts in certain folders.) Commands for activating icons on the desktop are not hardwired into Dragon, nor do they need to be created as a script. To make desktop shortcut commands available, create the appropriate shortcut, and ensure that its name consists of words in Dragon's vocabulary.
 06/22/2021 01:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Robert Snow
Senior Member

Posts: 122
Joined: 04/18/2017

Alan - I understand what you are saying. But I'm trying to push my self and learn. In all my years I took the easy road. Now I want to learn.

Bob



-------------------------

Robert Snow
Germantown, WI

 06/16/2021 12:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Robert Snow
Senior Member

Posts: 122
Joined: 04/18/2017

>>Alan Cantor
Microsoft Word. Dragon recognizes these commands because both are clickable objects in Word's ribbon. But if you hide the ribbon, the commands are not recognized<<
Example-ha: why does this program not open with a click. I've spent an hour trying to figure out something that is supposed to work.

As in the above example, I might have been that person. Sometimes we forget the simplest things. Thanks for mentioning this, a good reminder,
Bob

-------------------------

Robert Snow
Germantown, WI

KnowBrainer Speech Recognition » Dragon Speech Recognition » Open Program

Statistics
32107 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 249 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 250 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2021 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.