KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Dragon Anywhere (mobile) - issue with auto text import
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/29/2021 06:22 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 Dragon Anywhere (mobile) - issue with auto text import   - wristofdoom - 04/29/2021 06:22 PM  
 Dragon Anywhere (mobile) - issue with auto text import   - jacklenin - 04/29/2021 07:14 PM  
 Dragon Anywhere (mobile) - issue with auto text import   - wristofdoom - 04/29/2021 10:26 PM  
 Dragon Anywhere (mobile) - issue with auto text import   - Mav - 04/30/2021 03:03 AM  
 Dragon Anywhere (mobile) - issue with auto text import   - jacklenin - 04/30/2021 05:42 AM  
 Dragon Anywhere (mobile) - issue with auto text import   - wristofdoom - 04/30/2021 10:46 AM  
 Dragon Anywhere (mobile) - issue with auto text import   - Lunis Orcutt - 04/30/2021 08:07 PM  
 Dragon Anywhere (mobile) - issue with auto text import   - Stephan Kuepper - 05/03/2021 04:03 AM  
 Dragon Anywhere (mobile) - issue with auto text import   - wristofdoom - 05/03/2021 11:49 AM  
 Dragon Anywhere (mobile) - issue with auto text import   - GS - 07/30/2021 05:34 PM  
 Dragon Anywhere (mobile) - issue with auto text import   - Lunis Orcutt - 07/30/2021 09:57 PM  
Keyword
 04/29/2021 06:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wristofdoom
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 244
Joined: 09/03/2020

I am currently trying to use Dragon Anywhere on my android mobile phone. (Pray for me.)

 

It's working (and not working) about as well as I expected. Overall, having the continuous dctation is an improvement on the dictation built into my phone, and I'm looking forward to using this while walking around, in bed, whatever.

 

However, I am having a hard time getting the "import auto text" feature to work.

 

I am able to create auto text commands within the Dragon Anywhere mobile application, and those work fine. But I want to create a bunch of commands on my PC, and then import them. It will be much easier than re-creating this stuff on the phone.

 

But every time I try to import the XML file of my Dragon Anywhere commands onto my phone, the app simply crashes. No error message. It just closes.

 

I'm 99% sure I am doing everything right. I have tried importing the XML file from my Dropbox, and I have tried importing the XML file from the downloads folder of my phone. It does not work in either case.

 

My auto text command is as simple as can be. Right now I am just trying to import a single auto text plaintext command.

 

The exact XML file can be viewed here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/8duhbdqbr5tjd6r/test.xml?dl=0

 

Has anybody encountered this issue before?

 

I am exporting commands from Dragon Professional Individual 15.60 running on Windows 10. I am running Dragon Anywhere on a brand-new Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra android mobile phone.

 



-------------------------

Dragon Professional Individual v15.6. Windows 10. Knowbrainer 2017.

 04/29/2021 07:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jacklenin
Power Member

Posts: 47
Joined: 02/25/2018

I have a bit of experience with this. I'll try to test it and send you a response here.

 

UPDATE: I was able to import your autotext into my Dragon Anywhere 1.86 on iPhone and was able to use the autotext successfully. I have an Android virtual machine and I will test it there next. There was a recent update to the Android version in the last few days. Make sure you are running the latest version.

 

UPDATE #2: On my virtual Android version, the app crashes when trying to import the XML - same as your crash, I think. App just closes, no message.



 04/29/2021 10:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wristofdoom
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 244
Joined: 09/03/2020

Thanks for checking. Yep, sounds like the problem I have...

I did update my Android OS, but when it comes to Nuance, I am more worried about my software being fully updated rather than being not updated enough.

What version of Dragon on your PC are you exporting from?

I wonder if I modified the XML file so it had the same values/formatting as an older version of Dragon if I might have better results.

-------------------------

Dragon Professional Individual v15.6. Windows 10. Knowbrainer 2017.

 04/30/2021 03:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mav
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 440
Joined: 10/02/2008

Hi!

I must admit I neither have Dragon Anywhere on a phone nor on a virtual Android machine, but I noticed something in the xml file you posted.

I's lacking the initial processing instruction telling the application reading this file what encoding to use.

Most of the time, a wrong encoding only affects special characters in non-english languages (e.g. umlauts), but also can lead to very subtle and hard to find bugs.

Especially since your test file is being saved as UTF-16 LE, which is a very uncommon encding and not what you'd expect without any processing instruction.

 

You could try fixing this manually.

Open the xml file in notepad and this as the new first line:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>

 

Then use Save as... to save the new version.

Make sure you set the file type to "All files (*.*)" or else Notepad will add an unwanted .txt extension.

And set the Encoding using the combo box next to the "Save" button to "UTF-8".

 

After that, try importing this new version and please tell us if it worked.

 

hth,

mav

 04/30/2021 05:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jacklenin
Power Member

Posts: 47
Joined: 02/25/2018

Originally posted by: wristofdoom Thanks for checking. Yep, sounds like the problem I have... I did update my Android OS, but when it comes to Nuance, I am more worried about my software being fully updated rather than being not updated enough. What version of Dragon on your PC are you exporting from? I wonder if I modified the XML file so it had the same values/formatting as an older version of Dragon if I might have better results.

 

I'm running DPG 15.61. Ive done some messing around but the only thing I have come up with so far is if you have DPA through a reseller, they may import your exported autotext XMLs via the NMC for you if they are nice guys. I can import an autotext XML from DPG 15.61 to my DPA account using the NMC.

 04/30/2021 10:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wristofdoom
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 244
Joined: 09/03/2020

@Mav

Whoops, I actually had modified the test XML file, forgetting that I shared it here. I was deleting elements, in the hopes that it somehow would work if I just removed a single line of metadata. The unmodified file, exported straight from Dragon, can now be viewed at the same link. Https://www.dropbox.com/s/8duhbdqbr5tjd6r/test.xml?dl=0

However, you mentioned that the encoding on the XML file should be TF-8. Encoding for me by default when export the command as an XML file is UTF-16.

I tried changing the encoding down to 8 (I change the encoding in Notepad++, and then changed the line in the XML from 16 to 8), but does not make a difference. Same error. Https://www.dropbox.com/s/l3abt4d6pqqspdh/test%20new.xml?dl=0



@jacklenin

I believe I do not have access to NMC because I am running Dragon Professional Individual, rather than Group, and I purchased directly from Nuance rather than a reseller.

However, in theory I should be able to synchronize my vocabulary and my auto text commands between my desktop installation and my mobile, as per this video. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g880cOPXDhU

I have logged into my Dragon Anywhere account from within my Dragon Professional Individual installation, and the login validates successfully. However, none of my auto-text or custom vocabulary seems to synchronizes automatically. They make it look so easy in the video. 

Note: I am able to successfully import custom vocabulary words/phrases via a text file. It's only the auto-text that causes the crash.


@ANYBODY

If you have ever used Dragon Anywhere with Android and have managed to successfully or unsuccessfully synchronize or import commands/vocabulary USING any method, I would love to hear from you.

There is a horrifying lack of up-to-date guidance and documentation for this kind. Half of the links in the Dragon Anywhere mobile manual lead to 404's, and many of the videos and documentation seem to be out of date, including screenshots of screens that do not exist (or that perhaps are showing features that are iOS exclusive).

There does not seem to be a lot of chatter about Dragon Anywhere mobile on the Knowbrainer forms either. Hopefully this thread can be helpful for some future sufferers.



-------------------------

Dragon Professional Individual v15.6. Windows 10. Knowbrainer 2017.



 04/30/2021 08:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 39368
Joined: 10/01/2006

We believe Nuance is end cycling Dragon Anywhere because they want to replace it with DPA, which is DMO (without the Medical vocabularies). The cost is $40 per month for a DPI cloud version with 75% less features. Nuance is also working on a pure cloud version of DPG which will include a complimentary local installation of DPG. We would like to see Nuance do this with DMO; like Microsoft 365.



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1



 05/03/2021 04:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Stephan Kuepper
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 2174
Joined: 10/04/2006

@Lunis: Dragon Anywhere for Android is basically DPA, only accessed through a different device.

@Everybody else: To the best of my knowledge, you can set up synchronisation between Dragon Professional Individual and Dragon Anywhere Mobile through a menu in DPI. Hence, the should be no need to synchronise auto texts and words manually. Have you ever tried that?

Hope that helps, Stephan

-------------------------

www.egs-vertrieb.de - www.spracherkennungscloud.de

 05/03/2021 11:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wristofdoom
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 244
Joined: 09/03/2020

> you can set up synchronisation between Dragon Professional Individual and Dragon Anywhere Mobile through a menu in DPI. Hence, the should be no need to synchronise auto texts and words manually.

Yes, I have tried that. It doesn't work.

However, in theory I should be able to synchronize my vocabulary and my auto text commands between my desktop installation and my mobile, as per this video. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g880cOPXDhU

I have logged into my Dragon Anywhere account from within my Dragon Professional Individual installation, and the login validates successfully. However, none of my auto-text or custom vocabulary seems to synchronizes automatically. They make it look so easy in the video.

I created a customer support ticket with Nuance, and in their preliminary reply they said it may be caused by the fact I'm running the 7 day free trial of Dragon Anywhere. I'm going to wait for the trial to expire and purchase a subscription for one month and see if the profile synchronization starts working. (I'm gambling that this will be cheaper than engaging with the support ticket - apparently they charge $10 a question.)

Fingers crossed



-------------------------

Dragon Professional Individual v15.6. Windows 10. Knowbrainer 2017.



 07/30/2021 05:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
GS
New Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 09/22/2012

I've been paying for Dragon products since 1996, and if there's one thing I know by now, it's that customer loyalty acknowledgement is non-existent.

In this case, here were are in the dark about a major feature of a software that they are charging us a subscription fee for.

With that in mind, it seems to me that the only reason for optimism is that Nuance has been acquired by Microsoft because, while Microsoft is a mega-monolith, it does a much better job at staying in touch with its customers than Nuance ever has.



-------------------------
Gregory Shields
 07/30/2021 09:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 39368
Joined: 10/01/2006

Microsoft has not pulled the trigger on the the Nuance purchase and will not close the deal until sometime in December or not. We have heard about a possible wrinkle in the deal so best for us to wait with baited breath

-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1

Statistics
32177 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 296 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 296 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2021 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.