KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Dragon 15.6 -I Can't Right Click To Access My Settings
Topic Summary: No Right Click To Access My Settings?
Created On: 01/16/2021 02:15 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 Dragon 15.6 -I Can't Right Click To Access My Settings   - Roybretton - 01/16/2021 02:15 AM  
 Dragon 15.6 -I Can't Right Click To Access My Settings   - monkey8 - 01/16/2021 03:29 AM  
 Dragon 15.6 -I Can't Right Click To Access My Settings   - redenton3 - 01/29/2021 10:13 AM  
 Dragon 15.6 -I Can't Right Click To Access My Settings   - Lunis Orcutt - 01/29/2021 03:06 PM  
 Dragon 15.6 -I Can't Right Click To Access My Settings   - Roybretton - 01/16/2021 04:51 AM  
 Dragon 15.6 -I Can't Right Click To Access My Settings   - monkey8 - 01/16/2021 07:33 AM  
 Dragon 15.6 -I Can't Right Click To Access My Settings   - Roybretton - 01/16/2021 08:32 AM  
 Dragon 15.6 -I Can't Right Click To Access My Settings   - monkey8 - 01/16/2021 09:02 AM  
 Dragon 15.6 -I Can't Right Click To Access My Settings   - Roybretton - 01/16/2021 09:09 AM  
Keyword
 01/16/2021 02:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Roybretton
Senior Member

Posts: 84
Joined: 12/16/2012

I upgraded to Dragon 15.6 last night as I was reminded that there was an upgrade, so I thought I would give it a try.

I don't use the standard toolbar at the top of the screen. I prefer to use the settings with Dragon at the foot of the page on the right-hand side, near the clock. I used to be able to right click on Dragon and then see all the various settings. Now all I can see is when I right click is; minimise tray and exit Dragon, I'm sure that this cannot be correct. I wondered if something has gone wrong in the setup process?

Can anyone tell me if this is correct or has the setup process gone wrong, please?

And if I do need to repeat the setup process, how do I go about this, please?

Your help is appreciated.

Thanks for reading.

Roy



-------------------------

https://gardenequipmentreview.com/


 


 


 


https://thechristianinternetmarketer.com

 01/16/2021 03:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
monkey8
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 3693
Joined: 01/14/2008

Hi Roy,

 

Welcome to the new reality, when you right click on the system Tray icon you will get the option to "open" or "exit Dragon". If you choose open then the Dragon bar will appear and all those items that used to be on the context menu in the system tray are now available through the Dragon bar menus. You will get used to it. Alternatively you can just say "show DragonBar" at any time to get to the menus. "Hide DragonBar" will get rid of it.


Lindsay



-------------------------



 01/29/2021 10:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
redenton3
New Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/26/2021

That sounds useful, but I don't have a "Hide Dragonbar" command. I have a "Hide Dragon Sidebar" command.

 01/29/2021 03:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 38491
Joined: 10/01/2006

                    Welcome (See Mission Statement)

 

Try the following:



-------------------------

Forum Mission Statement
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ext 1

 01/16/2021 04:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Roybretton
Senior Member

Posts: 84
Joined: 12/16/2012

Hello Lindsay,

Thank you for your prompt reply, it's appreciated.

Unfortunately, your instructions do not work for me.

When I right-click on the system tray icon, I have the option to "minimise to tray" or "exit Dragon", as far as I can see there are no other options available.

When I speak "show Dragon bar" nothing happens apart from Dragon can hear my voice as a small message appears on the screen.

This is why I wonder if something has gone wrong when I first set up Dragon?

Roy



-------------------------

https://gardenequipmentreview.com/


 


 


 


https://thechristianinternetmarketer.com

 01/16/2021 07:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
monkey8
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 3693
Joined: 01/14/2008

If the only option you get is to "minimise to tray" or "exit Dragon" then dragon believes that the DragonBar is already open. If you choose "minimise to tray" and then right click on the icon again you should get the option to "open". If you then choose open and it still does not appear then look at your options "Show Dragon options" what settings do you have under Appearance?



-------------------------

 01/16/2021 08:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Roybretton
Senior Member

Posts: 84
Joined: 12/16/2012

Thank you for your help Lindsay, it's appreciated.

I have tried all your suggestions, but unfortunately, nothing is happening at all. If the Dragon bar is open and hidden, which it may be, where do I find the Dragon bar, please? Is there a keyboard shortcut that I can use to open the Dragon bar? I can get to the "open" menu, however, I can't get any further. So at the moment, I have no way to show Dragon options or look at "appearance".

I did try and see if I could restore to a previous version as I cannot see any improvements in this version or for at least the work I am doing. However, I had a message come up, that said: "the drive containing the backup is not accessible". Do you know the way to restore back to a previous version, please?

Thank you for your help.

 

Update at 1345 GMT

I have rebooted my PC and the functionality that you suggested is now working. I actually carried out the update yesterday evening and turned my PC off. I would have thought that this would have ironed out any rebooting issues for Dragon. However, the second reboot seems to have worked.

I don't know why Nuance wants to remove the right click menu function when Dragon is displayed on the taskbar! It was a very useful and convenient feature.



-------------------------

https://gardenequipmentreview.com/


 


 


 


https://thechristianinternetmarketer.com



 01/16/2021 09:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
monkey8
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 3693
Joined: 01/14/2008

Glad you have got it working Roy. I am in complete agreement with you regarding the right click context menu in the system tray, I also preferred that particular UI than going through the Dragon bar.



-------------------------

 01/16/2021 09:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Roybretton
Senior Member

Posts: 84
Joined: 12/16/2012

Thank you for your help Lindsay, it's amazing how time-consuming these things can be. I must admit in the short period that I have been using the upgrade I haven't noticed any improvements. I guess this does depend on what type of applications people are using. I literally just use Dragon naturally speaking to speed up my typing speed. Often I will able to speak directly into a webpage, failing that I normally use Dragon capture.

Have a good day.

Roy

-------------------------

https://gardenequipmentreview.com/


 


 


 


https://thechristianinternetmarketer.com

Statistics
31935 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 568 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 568 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2021 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.