KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Can you write a script to press the start menu and another key
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/01/2020 09:44 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 Can you write a script to press the start menu and another key   - wheels496 - 10/01/2020 09:44 AM  
 Can you write a script to press the start menu and another key   - dilligence - 10/01/2020 10:18 AM  
 Can you write a script to press the start menu and another key   - wheels496 - 10/01/2020 12:02 PM  
 Can you write a script to press the start menu and another key   - dilligence - 10/01/2020 12:15 PM  
 Can you write a script to press the start menu and another key   - Matt_Chambers - 10/01/2020 12:18 PM  
 Can you write a script to press the start menu and another key   - Lunis Orcutt - 10/01/2020 04:35 PM  
 Can you write a script to press the start menu and another key   - Matt_Chambers - 10/01/2020 04:46 PM  
 Can you write a script to press the start menu and another key   - wheels496 - 10/02/2020 05:24 AM  
 Can you write a script to press the start menu and another key   - Matt_Chambers - 10/02/2020 02:49 PM  
Keyword
 10/01/2020 09:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


wheels496
Senior Member

Posts: 134
Joined: 10/01/2008

I have a PC software, by Microsoft, that did not use the usual keyboard shortcuts. For example, to activate the file menu, I need to press alt+ Windows then f! I have managed to press alt+windows, in the step by step command but is it possible to do this in scripting?



-------------------------

DPI 15.6.1

 10/01/2020 10:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dilligence
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 1431
Joined: 08/16/2010

Assuming that the "!" after "f" in your example is not part of the code, you can use DVC scripting and I think the script should be:

 

SendSystemKeys "{Alt+win+f}"



-------------------------


Auto Box© Demo now available



 10/01/2020 12:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


wheels496
Senior Member

Posts: 134
Joined: 10/01/2008

Probably being silly but how do you create a DVC script?

-------------------------

DPI 15.6.1

 10/01/2020 12:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dilligence
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 1431
Joined: 08/16/2010

Not a silly question, here's how you do it:

 

Open your Dragon Command Browser.

In the top left section click Mode and then Script.

Locate the <mousegrid> command and double-click it.

Then click Create New:

 

 

 

 

 

Simply type a new command name and insert the new script in the DVC Script section.

 



-------------------------


Auto Box© Demo now available

 10/01/2020 12:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Matt_Chambers
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 452
Joined: 08/09/2018

I think you can do this with Advanced Scripting with the following line:

SendKeys "%{WindowsHold}r"

No need to use SendSystemKeys or DVC.
 10/01/2020 04:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 39353
Joined: 10/01/2006

Creating a DVC script is unnecessary. You can use the same script as a standard Advanced-Scripting command. Here are 3 choices:

 

Sub Main
SendSystemKeys "{Alt+Win+f}"
End Sub

Sub Main
SendDragonKeys "{Alt+Win+f}"
End Sub
Sub Main
SendKeys "%{Win}f"
End Sub
The following script would only work in KnowBrainer 2017 
Sub Main
SendKeys "%{WindowsHold}f"
End Sub


-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1



 10/01/2020 04:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Matt_Chambers
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 452
Joined: 08/09/2018

Originally posted by: Lunis Orcutt

The following script would only work in KnowBrainer 2017 
Sub Main
SendKeys "%{WindowsHold}f"
End Sub

Lunis, 

With the advent of DPI 15.6 and WinWrap Basic, I don't think you're right.  When I use 

SendKeys "%{WindowsHold}f"

I get some sort of recording being made, so I think this now works in 15.6

 10/02/2020 05:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


wheels496
Senior Member

Posts: 134
Joined: 10/01/2008

Okay none of the above work unfortunately but I think I know why (I should have been more specific).

I need to be able to press alt + start only. They keyboard shortcuts are only displayed, and therefore available, once that keystroke has been pressed. So, for example, to activate the file menu in Power Bi, I need to press and then release alt + start and then press the relevant keyboard shortcut. (We have just tested, pressing all 3 at once does not work).

Thanks

-------------------------

DPI 15.6.1

 10/02/2020 02:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Matt_Chambers
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 452
Joined: 08/09/2018

The Winwrap Basic documentation suggests that you should be able to do this by using this line:

SendKeys "%{Windows}",1
SendKeys [relevant keyboard shortcut]

Here's a link to the documentation: http://www.winwrap.com/web2/basic/#!/ref/WWB-doc_sendkeys_instr.htm

Edit: if you're still using 15.3, this probably won't work.



Statistics
32173 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 460 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 461 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2021 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.