KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: EMR restriction
Topic Summary: Documents I create are being labeled EMR restricted
Created On: 03/31/2020 01:11 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 EMR restriction   - dheaph - 03/31/2020 01:11 PM  
 EMR restriction   - Lunis Orcutt - 03/31/2020 01:52 PM  
 EMR restriction   - Dr. C - 09/19/2022 02:06 PM  
 EMR restriction   - Lunis Orcutt - 09/19/2022 02:49 PM  
 EMR restriction   - Dr. C - 09/19/2022 04:56 PM  
 EMR restriction   - Lunis Orcutt - 09/19/2022 05:04 PM  
 EMR restriction   - Dr. C - 09/19/2022 05:07 PM  
 EMR restriction   - Lunis Orcutt - 09/20/2022 12:46 PM  
 EMR restriction CENSORSHIP   - harpalus - 09/24/2022 12:20 AM  
 EMR restriction CENSORSHIP   - Lunis Orcutt - 09/24/2022 11:40 AM  
Keyword
 03/31/2020 01:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dheaph
New Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 03/12/2017

Hi, I hope you can help. I use Dragon NaturallySpeaking Professional 15.4 but for some reason I am getting EMR restriction messages on documents I have created. This makes no sense.

 

 03/31/2020 01:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 40207
Joined: 10/01/2006

                    Welcome to the World's Only Speech Recognition Forum


There is no version DPI 15.4. You are either using DPI 15.0 or 15.3.

The reason why you are receiving the EMR restriction error is because Nuance doesn't permit anything other than DMPE 4.3 to be used in the top 70 most popular EMRs.

 

Note that we also include an installation guide Quickstart and details on avoiding 3 dozen sandtraps. This is why it is best to purchase from professionals rather than the manufacturer or illegal resellers who sell Dragon on Amazon, eBay etc... Official Dragon certified resellers are only permitted to sell on their own websites. 



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2022
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1



 09/19/2022 02:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dr. C
Power Member

Posts: 48
Joined: 11/01/2007

Similar to what dheaph posted above, I am having trouble with some MS Word documents that I've created indicating an EMR restriction with a message "Program not supported. See "EMR restriction" in Help." I do not have an EMR on this PC, and I never have. I have seen this message pop up in Word documents and in Microsoft Outlook email messages. Most of the time this happens when I receive emails and Word documents from a medical institution that does have an EMR. For some reason the email and word documents are flagged blocking Dragon on my PC. I've had to draft my email responses in a different application and copy and paste into Outlook in these cases, which is quite annoying. I'm using DPI 15.61.200.010 but I've seen this problem arise in previous versions. I'm currently using Office 365.

 



-------------------------

David Collier




DPI 15.61, Plantronics Savi W440, Sennheiser ME3, Plantronics D100, Logitech USB adapter, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, MS Office 365



 09/19/2022 02:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 40207
Joined: 10/01/2006

Nuance took the path of least resistance. Rather than recognizing an EMR, nonmedical versions of Dragon additionally look for an EMR name in the Window subject/name field. You or the hospital made the mistake of naming the document with an EMR name such as Epic etc. All you have to do is change the name of your document. You'll experience the same problem if the name of an EMR appears in an Outlook subject box. Welcome to the world of speech recognition stupidity

PS: We just released the KnowBrainer 2020 Upgrade



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2022
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1



 09/19/2022 04:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dr. C
Power Member

Posts: 48
Joined: 11/01/2007

I wish it were that simple. I can find no reference to an EMR in the Word document that is giving me the EMR restriction. The document was created by me on my PC and I have not named it using an EMR name, such as Epic.



-------------------------

David Collier




DPI 15.61, Plantronics Savi W440, Sennheiser ME3, Plantronics D100, Logitech USB adapter, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, MS Office 365

 09/19/2022 05:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 40207
Joined: 10/01/2006

The Dragon no-fly-zone includes over 70 names. Try temporarily renaming it to “test”. You might need to close and relaunch Word 1st



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2022
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1

 09/19/2022 05:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dr. C
Power Member

Posts: 48
Joined: 11/01/2007

The filename had "v1.1" in the title as it is being edited and there will be different versions. Could Dragon AI be assuming that anything with "v#.#" is an EMR?



-------------------------

David Collier




DPI 15.61, Plantronics Savi W440, Sennheiser ME3, Plantronics D100, Logitech USB adapter, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, MS Office 365

 09/20/2022 12:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 40207
Joined: 10/01/2006

A Window name of v1.1 shouldn't be an issue but we suspect Dragon is finding another red flag. Sorry we can't help you more



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2022
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1



 09/24/2022 12:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
harpalus
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 226
Joined: 10/05/2008

The messages in this thread are profoundly upsetting.  if I understand correctly, Nuance is using DPI or DPG to read text and then block program operation if one or more forbidden words are present or if someone is communicating with a forbidden institution. Once upon a time Dragon users could dictate whatever they wanted without worrying about forbidden words or forbidden institutions.

It DPI spies for forbidden medical related terms, can it spy for other types of information and pass such information back to the company?  DPI has to be able to "read" the current page of text so that it can correctly implement commands such as inserting the cursor after a given word. The ability of the program to "read" text should not be used for censorship.


The concept of forbidden words reminds me of George Orwell's 1984.



-------------------------

GaryN

 09/24/2022 11:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 40207
Joined: 10/01/2006

Dragon's ability to read text is not used for censorship or spy on your dictation. This is not even an option unless you put a checkmark in the DragonBar/Options/Data/Help us improve Dragon. However, even if you do add a checkmark, which we don't recommend doing for other reasons, humans are not involved. This is a robotic function that is designed to see how many times you use specific words and how they are used with other words. Nuance has no interest in yours or my thoughts. If it doesn't generate $, Nuance doesn't care. 

 

There are no forbidden words and you can add any words, like Meditech and Greenway, to your personal vocabulary. When Nuance prevented all but medical versions of Dragon Direct Dictation into popular EMRs, it was apparently too difficult to just identify the EMR executables because many EMRs are only available via your browser or through a network. Nuance did not intend for this to happen but there is some unintended customer blowback. We don't have any trouble dictating into documents that include names like Epic, Cerner, eClinicalWorks etc., as we are doing now. The only time we are prevented from dictating into a document is when an EMR name appears in the title. Same problem with Outlook subject lines and even EMR forums. You might run into the same problem if “Epic” appeared in this message title. Of course being the forum monitor, we would just edit the title



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2022
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1

KnowBrainer Speech Recognition » Dragon Speech Recognition » EMR restriction

Statistics
32389 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 335 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 335 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2022 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.