KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Force Dragon to dictate into Dragon unfriendly programs
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/27/2022 03:15 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 Force Dragon to dictate into Dragon unfriendly programs   - Cav - 05/27/2022 03:15 PM  
 Force Dragon to dictate into Dragon unfriendly programs   - monkey8 - 05/27/2022 04:54 PM  
 Force Dragon to dictate into Dragon unfriendly programs   - Cav - 05/27/2022 10:40 PM  
 Force Dragon to dictate into Dragon unfriendly programs   - Lunis Orcutt - 05/27/2022 05:04 PM  
 Force Dragon to dictate into Dragon unfriendly programs   - dilligence - 05/27/2022 08:00 PM  
Keyword
 05/27/2022 03:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Cav
New Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/07/2018

I have used Sublime Text for coding for many years and in all the time I was able to dictate mostly normally into it with Dragon. Recently either Dragon or Sublime had an update and now Dragon no longer accepts dictation when Sublime is active.

I am running Dragon professional 15.6. I have read in these forums that this KnowBrainer utility can force Dragon to dictate into whatever program I like. Is this correct? Save that are there any workarounds for me? Being disabled is expensive. Sheesh.



-------------------------
Love
an old software developer that programs with his arms folded now
 05/27/2022 04:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
monkey8
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 3904
Joined: 01/14/2008

Being disabled is expensive so the free way of fixing your issue as to follow the advice on the following post which I made a few years ago.That should allow you to dictate into Sublime Text again.

 

https://www.knowbrainer.com/forums/forum/messageview.cfm?FTVAR_FORUMVIEWTMP=Threaded&catid=4&threadid=19646&discTab=true#111791

 

If the file mentioned in the post above does not contain the entries shown then just add them.Please note that the solution above all restart the dictation capability but not select-and-say which has never been available with Sublime Text

 

I will leave the add-on developers to flaunt their products which you may also find useful at a cost. In terms of the application KnowBrainer it is free to disabled users and has a part solution with a command called something like "Say <dictation>"



-------------------------



 05/27/2022 10:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Cav
New Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/07/2018

that worked! Thank you so much!

If I might add a note to future readers of this thread make sure that you are able to see hidden files in your folder view when when navigating the folder path to this .INI file.



-------------------------
Love
an old software developer that programs with his arms folded now
 05/27/2022 05:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 39972
Joined: 10/01/2006

As far as Direct Dictation is concern, Monkey8's suggestion is also our 1st recommendation.

KnowBrainer 2020 includes a lot of capabilities such as Print <dictation> which will Force Dictation pretty much anywhere but do you really want to have to begin your dictation with the word “Print”? We only recommend this command for filling in fields with short dictation, such as someone's name.

Note that if you have a permanent physical disability, drop us a line at support@knowbrainer.com, with proof of your disability and we will send you a complimentary copy of KnowBrainer 2020.

DragonCapture also includes the ability to force Direct Dictation into any application but without having to say “Print”. Again, Monkey8's suggestion should be the 1st thing to try.



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1

 05/27/2022 08:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dilligence
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 1543
Joined: 08/16/2010

Cav,

 

If you are a voice coder then full Select-and-Say control is crucial. Direct sending of text without the option to properly edit your text first will only lead to tedious (manual) corrections afterwards...

 

Of course you can use the Dragon® dictation box for that. It does a great job and it's extremely reliable. However, it's somewhat slow and slightly limited compared to the wealth of features the popular SP All-In-One Dictation-Box has to offer. If you are not yet familiar with it, then it's time to check out the demonstration video:

 

https://youtu.be/Wm6fkmu2Xys

 

But it does not stop there, SP 7 PRO knows what voice coders need and also offers you the following modules: 

 

SP Code Prep© - Dictation Box & Syntax Highlighting combined.

Plates© - Create large collections of manageable boilerplates/strings. 

Transit© - Rapidly insert any code snippet or string into your target.

 

But of course, the nsuser.ini approach should be tried first ;-).



-------------------------

https://speechproductivity.eu


Turbocharge your Dragon® productivity with 40 Power Addons

Statistics
32325 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 514 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 516 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2022 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.