KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Putting back a KB backup into the KB Command Browser
Topic Summary: Need to know how to do this.
Created On: 08/09/2021 12:55 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 Putting back a KB backup into the KB Command Browser   - Brenda - 08/09/2021 12:55 PM  
 Putting back a KB backup into the KB Command Browser   - Edgar - 08/09/2021 02:12 PM  
 Putting back a KB backup into the KB Command Browser   - Lunis Orcutt - 08/09/2021 02:30 PM  
 Putting back a KB backup into the KB Command Browser   - monkey8 - 08/14/2021 11:40 AM  
 Putting back a KB backup into the KB Command Browser   - Brenda - 09/19/2021 10:12 AM  
Keyword
 08/09/2021 12:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Brenda
Power Member

Posts: 62
Joined: 08/25/2010

I have not hit the KB Commands Updater as yet.  I am assuming, once I do, there will be a lot of KB commands that have been trimmed from the original?

If, for any reason I need to go back to putting in an original backup so I have all the original commands back, is this relatively easy to do?  Can somebody show me how to put a KB backup back into the KB Browser please?

Thank you



-------------------------

Brenda



DPI 15.61, Windows 10 64-bit, Intel Quad Core i7, 8 GB RAM, Nuance Wireless / Dragon-Bluetooth Headset

 08/09/2021 02:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Edgar
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 1276
Joined: 04/03/2009

KnowBrainer just recently got a minor update (not the commands file, the actual application itself) so I do not guarantee that this very old set of instructions still works! Have a look at this thread:

https://www.knowbrainer.com/forums/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=3&threadid=33367

It gives very detailed instructions on how to do that. One thing that might make a lot of sense is to make a copy of the KnowBrainer commands file, located here:
C:\Users\[your user name]\AppData\Roaming\KnowBrainer\KnowBrainerCommands\MyKBCommands.xml

and store it "off-site"; I do this weekly.



-------------------------

-Edgar
DPI 15.3, 64-bit Windows 10 Pro, OpenOffice & Office 365, Norton Security, Shure X2U XLR to USB mic adapter with Audio Technica DB135 vocal mic, Asus X299-Deluxe Prime, Intel Core i9-7940X (14 core, 4.3 GHz overclocked to 4.9 GHz), G.SKILL TridentZ Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4 3333 (PC4 26600) F4-3333C16Q-64GTZ, NVIDIA GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1060 GV-N1060G1 GAMING-6GD REV 2.0 6GB graphics card with 3 1920x1080 monitors



 08/09/2021 02:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 39967
Joined: 10/01/2006

Just adding a smidgen to Edgar's sage advice... A lot of commands were trimmed out of the November 24, 2020 Ver. 4.51 release but there's a good chance that none or very few of the commands you use were removed. As Edgar noted, you can always import a command. Pre-November 24 KnowBrainer struggles with a Windows 10 update from around September 2020.

PS: You can also say Open KnowBrainer Commands to open the %USERPROFILE%\AppData\Roaming\KnowBrainer\KnowBrainerCommands folder. The command file is MyKBComands.XML



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1



 08/14/2021 11:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
monkey8
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 3904
Joined: 01/14/2008

Originally posted by: Brenda I have not hit the KB Commands Updater as yet.  I am assuming, once I do, there will be a lot of KB commands that have been trimmed from the original? If, for any reason I need to go back to putting in an original backup so I have all the original commands back, is this relatively easy to do?  Can somebody show me how to put a KB backup back into the KB Browser please? Thank you

 

 

Brenda, It's not very obvious from the KB sidebar and I don't know if it's in the user manual but if you click on "Manage Commands" at the bottom of the sidebar and then choose "disable/enable".  At the top of the dialogue that appears you can choose "Utilities | backup commands file".  You can give any name you want to the backup and place it anywhere you want.  Then update the commands file with the updater and any commands you miss or want to import later you can then use "Manage Commands "| Import and choose individual or groups of commands. That's the proper way to do it using the UI.



-------------------------



 09/19/2021 10:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Brenda
Power Member

Posts: 62
Joined: 08/25/2010

Very useful information that you have given out. I'll see how I get on and if I need any more advice, I will report back. Thank you.

-------------------------

Brenda



DPI 15.61, Windows 10 64-bit, Intel Quad Core i7, 8 GB RAM, Nuance Wireless / Dragon-Bluetooth Headset

Statistics
32324 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 337 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 337 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2022 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.