KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Place cursor in Search Box
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/14/2023 04:28 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 Place cursor in Search Box   - Robert Snow - 01/14/2023 04:28 PM  
 Place cursor in Search Box   - Lunis Orcutt - 01/14/2023 05:31 PM  
 Place cursor in Search Box   - Robert Snow - 01/14/2023 11:54 PM  
 Place cursor in Search Box   - Lunis Orcutt - 01/15/2023 09:17 PM  
 Place cursor in Search Box   - Alan Cantor - 01/15/2023 10:23 AM  
 Place cursor in Search Box   - Alan Cantor - 01/16/2023 12:31 PM  
Keyword
 01/14/2023 04:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Robert Snow
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 261
Joined: 04/18/2017

I'm trying to move my cursor into the search box using Windows OneNote. If I manually type Ctrl+F it will accomplish this. The following is the code that I used.

 

Application-Specific (OneNote)

Command Type (Advanced Scripting)

 

Sub Main
   SendDragonKeys
"{Ctrl+F}"

End Sub

 

Sub Main

   SendSystemKeys "{Ctrl+F}"

End Sub

 

Sub Main
   
SendKeys "{Ctrl+F}"

End Sub

Thanks for taking the time.

 

Bob



-------------------------

Robert Snow
Germantown, WI

 01/14/2023 05:31 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 40989
Joined: 10/01/2006

SendDragonKeys and SendKeys are about the same speed in Ver. 15.61. SendSystemKeys might be slightly more bulletproof because it is a smidgen slower. Since this is a single movement script, you probably won't notice any speed difference.

However, your script requires 3 steps.

1. Moving the cursor in the Find field
2. Dictating your text
3. Saying Press enter

If you're not using the KnowBrainer 2022 Upgrade we recommend combining all 3 steps into a single command which we call Find <dictation> in KnowBrainer. Just copy the following script. For example if you're looking for your oil change information you can say Find <oil change>

 

Sub Main
SendKeys "^f"
Wait 0.2
SendKeys ListVar1
Wait 0.5
SendKeys "{Esc}"
End Sub


-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2022
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1



 01/14/2023 11:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Robert Snow
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 261
Joined: 04/18/2017

Thanks for the help.

I did get it to work to a point.

Sub Main
SendKeys "^f"
Wait 0.2
SendKeys ListVar1
Wait 0.5 (Changed to 3.5)
SendKeys "{Esc}"
End Sub
The change allowed me to type in a typed value.  How can I have it except a verbal
value?

Bob

Ps I might be missing the boat. I'm thinking of switching back to your software. How would this look using your software.

The reason of concern. It seems that I'm almost the only one not using it. I see my name coming up almost exclusively  on the forum for help.



-------------------------

Robert Snow
Germantown, WI



 01/15/2023 09:17 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 40989
Joined: 10/01/2006

Originally posted by: Robert Snow ... I might be missing the boat. I'm thinking of switching back to your software. How would this look using your software.

 

The reason of concern. It seems that I'm almost the only one not using it. I see my name coming up almost exclusively  on the forum for help.

 

 

Alan noting that you needed to add a list name to the name of your command is spot on

There is no such thing as too many KnowBrainer 2017/2020/2022 questions. Don't worry about it



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2022
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1

 01/15/2023 10:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Alan Cantor
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 4637
Joined: 12/08/2007

Rename your command to this:

Find <dictation>

If the command has <dictation> at the end, you'll be able to say, for example, "Find cookies" or "Find next meeting" or whatever.

(Alternatively, rename the command to begin with a word or phrase you find easy to say and remember, e.g., Search For <dictation>
 01/16/2023 12:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Alan Cantor
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 4637
Joined: 12/08/2007

When using the Find <dictation> command, note that you shouldn't pause after saying "Find." To search for "cookies" don't say "Find [pause] cookies." Instead, say "FindCookies"
Statistics
32634 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 195 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 197 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2023 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.