KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Scrolling down
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/09/2021 12:09 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 Scrolling down   - Psithyros - 07/09/2021 12:09 PM  
 Scrolling down   - Lunis Orcutt - 07/09/2021 02:46 PM  
 Scrolling down   - Psithyros - 07/10/2021 03:47 AM  
 Scrolling down   - dilligence - 07/10/2021 09:37 AM  
 Scrolling down   - Psithyros - 07/24/2021 08:49 AM  
 Scrolling down   - dilligence - 07/24/2021 09:31 AM  
 Scrolling down   - Psithyros - 07/24/2021 11:14 AM  
 Scrolling down   - dilligence - 07/24/2021 12:11 PM  
 Scrolling down   - Psithyros - 07/24/2021 12:48 PM  
Keyword
 07/09/2021 12:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Psithyros
Junior Member

Posts: 29
Joined: 01/30/2021

I may be missing something obvious, but is there a way to create a custom command for Dragon (or Knowbrainer) that would mimic continuously scrolling down using a mouse wheel? E.g. if I want to scroll through a Twitter feed without repeatedly having to say "page down"

thanks.

 07/09/2021 02:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 39191
Joined: 10/01/2006

KnowBrainer includes Scroll <direction> <1to300> and Scroll <directionspeed>. You can say things like Scroll <Down> or Scroll <Left> <42>.  Lower speed numbers like 1 to 30 (depending on your computer) will not work.



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1

 07/10/2021 03:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Psithyros
Junior Member

Posts: 29
Joined: 01/30/2021

Many thanks. This works great on most sites, but on a Twitter feed the performance is inconsistent for me. Sometimes the command starts scrolling, but most commonly it instead opens one of the links on the page in a new tab... (I.e. the command is recognised correctly by Dragon and knowbrainer, but doesn't do what it's supposed to do). Any idea what could be causing this behaviour? I've tested this in chrome and edge.
 07/10/2021 09:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dilligence
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 1393
Joined: 08/16/2010

Pressing the mouse wheel, either manually or via scripting to initiate continuous scrolling in browsers is not foolproof. If you press the wheel at the location of an image on a webpage it will not only open the underlying link, but it will do so in a new tab. This can also happen with regular links. Before you know it you have several new tabs opened in the background

 

A much more sophisticated scrolling solution is SP Glide. It doesn't care about the current mouse pointer location as long as it's in the target window and it won't cause any "stray" tabs. Furthermore it works in many applications:

 

 

 

 

 

 

Glide not only allows you to speed up/slow down the scrolling in real time but you can also pause and resume (quickly moving the mouse pointer outside of the application will also pause the scrolling). In addition there's the option to reverse the scrolling direction.

 

The additional Speed Factors dialog enables you to set your own default scrolling speeds:

 

 

 

 

 

Glide is under constant development and an updated version is coming out soon. There is also a demonstration video on the way.



-------------------------



 07/24/2021 08:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Psithyros
Junior Member

Posts: 29
Joined: 01/30/2021

Thanks, dilligence. SP glide sounds like a perfect solution. I have SP 6 (purchased for me by my employer back in September 2020), but I can't see the SP Glide function. Do I need to update?

Many thanks.
 07/24/2021 09:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dilligence
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 1393
Joined: 08/16/2010

Hi Psithyros, 

 

I cannot tell from your nickname if you have SP 6 Standard or SP 6 PRO.

Glide© is featured in PRO.

 

Assuming you have an English/US Windows version, please do the following. Say "open control panel", "click programs and features". Now scroll down until you see the following entry:

 

 

 

 

 

As you can see I am currently using SP 6 Standard. Let me know which version you have installed. If it is Standard then you can easily upgrade here.



-------------------------



 07/24/2021 11:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Psithyros
Junior Member

Posts: 29
Joined: 01/30/2021

Thank you for the quick response. I've checked and I am using version 6.6.6 PRO.
 07/24/2021 12:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dilligence
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 1393
Joined: 08/16/2010

That means that you did not receive the free update to SP 6.9.6.3 PRO which includes the improved Glide© version. Please send me an email so I can resend you the download link.



-------------------------

 07/24/2021 12:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Psithyros
Junior Member

Posts: 29
Joined: 01/30/2021

Thanks. I have sent you a private message.
KnowBrainer Speech Recognition » Commands, Scripts, and Macros - Dragon » Scrolling down

Statistics
32107 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 386 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 387 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2021 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.