List commands w variables   - dilligence - 06/13/2021 12:46 PM  
 List commands w variables   - JudCrandall - 06/15/2021 10:13 PM  
Keyword
 06/04/2021 12:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JudCrandall

Hi guys,

First-time poster longtime lurker. As a writer, I like to be able to say "nervous one" or "nervous two" for my boilerplate shortcuts, to show a certain emotion.

Instead of having a thousand different commands, each one with its own number on the end… I suspect I should be able to use the list command function to create them in larger groups, eg, provide a list of a five phrases instead of having to program five different shortcuts with a number on the end...but I can't figure out how to do it.

I tried a command called "nervous <1to5>" but I'm clearly not using the variable feature correctly in the name editor. In the contents field of the command, I listed five different phrases like so, hoping that I could then say "nervous one" and the phrase "he laughed uneasily" would pop up. But it doesn't work that way, and I can't find any good tutorial. 

He laughed uneasily

He swallowed hard

He cleared his throat

He pursed his lips

He froze perfectly still

Any suggestions on how I could create such a command, that would pick a phrase from a list based on the number I dictate?

It's tiresome putting in one command at a time, plus knowbrainers's "new shortcut <dictation>" keeps getting my dictation wrong and I have to edit each one anyway.

Thanks,

Jud

-------------------------
Sure and quick, Louis. That's the only way.
 06/04/2021 01:37 PM

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Welcome (See Mission Statement)