Parenthesize that?   - kkkwj - 03/12/2021 06:55 PM  
 Parenthesize that?   - wristofdoom - 03/18/2021 12:43 PM  
 Parenthesize that?   - newbiecoder - 03/27/2021 12:43 PM  
Keyword
 03/04/2021 06:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SJones12

I'm a law student who often desires (and needs) to put phrases in parenthesis. That said, I find the "open paren" > "close paren" thing a bit cumbersome given the frequency with which I need to use it. Does anyone know how to create a "parenthesize (or "paren) that" command that closes the last utterance in parenthesis? (Much like italicize, bold, capitalize that etc.)

03/04/2021 06:55 PM

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Welcome (See Mission Statement)

You might find it easier to use Dragon's built-in italicize <dictation>, bold <dictation> and capitalize <dictation> commands. For example, you can say “the brown fox jumped over the fence”. You can then say bold <brown fox> to apply bold formatting to “brown fox” without having to select text in Dragon friendly environments like Microsoft Word.

Dragon does not include commands like add paren to <brown fox> but we took a different approach in KnowBrainer 2017. If you don't mind pausing before using parentheses you can say phrases like Paren <brown fox> to create (brown fox).

-------------------------

Forum Mission Statement
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ext 1

03/04/2021 07:12 PM

Author Icon
Matt_Chambers
Top-Tier Member

I have a command that puts a word or term in parenthesis and quotation marks (I used to be a lawyer). It's a DVC command, but could easily be an Advanced Scripting command. It's named "defined term ". Here's the script:

SendKeys "(" & "{Shift+'}"
SendKeys _arg1
SendKeys "{Shift+'})"
 03/05/2021 11:30 AM

Author Icon
Matt_Chambers
Top-Tier Member

here's a Advanced Scripting command to do what you asked for. I call it "paren ":

Sub Main
SendKeys "{(}",1
SendKeys ListVar1,1