KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Using keyboard to manipulate Excel custom sort dialog box?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/15/2021 10:58 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 Using keyboard to manipulate Excel custom sort dialog box?   - Anders - 01/15/2021 10:58 AM  
 Using keyboard to manipulate Excel custom sort dialog box?   - Lunis Orcutt - 01/15/2021 01:05 PM  
 Using keyboard to manipulate Excel custom sort dialog box?   - Anders - 01/15/2021 03:51 PM  
 Using keyboard to manipulate Excel custom sort dialog box?   - Alan Cantor - 01/15/2021 02:47 PM  
 Using keyboard to manipulate Excel custom sort dialog box?   - Anders - 01/15/2021 03:54 PM  
 Using keyboard to manipulate Excel custom sort dialog box?   - Alan Cantor - 01/15/2021 06:36 PM  
 Using keyboard to manipulate Excel custom sort dialog box?   - Anders - 01/15/2021 08:02 PM  
 Using keyboard to manipulate Excel custom sort dialog box?   - Alan Cantor - 01/15/2021 11:05 PM  
 Using keyboard to manipulate Excel custom sort dialog box?   - Anders - 01/19/2021 03:51 PM  
Keyword
 01/15/2021 10:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Anders
Junior Member

Posts: 31
Joined: 10/03/2017

I do a lot of custom sorts in Excel 2016 on Win 10. I can easily open up the custom sort dialog box using the ribbon shortcuts using Vocola/Caster, and in the dialog box I can add/delete/etc sort levels.  But I can't figure out how to use the keyboard to actually pick the fields I want to sort on.  I know this was possible in earlier versions of Excel.  I'm also a bit surprised; Office is mostly great at giving you ways to manipulate things using the keyboard.

Has anyone been able to make this work?  Even using tabbing doesn't get there; neither do click commands.  And the Dragon command browser doesn't seem to have any built in voice commands.  If I have to I'll create a mouse command to do it; I try to avoid them given that I work on multiple machines that don't have the same screen size.

 

Thanks!

Anders

 01/15/2021 01:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 38648
Joined: 10/01/2006

You have probably already tried this but have you tried pressing Alt+w, s, a ect...?

-------------------------

Forum Mission Statement
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ext 1

 01/15/2021 03:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Anders
Junior Member

Posts: 31
Joined: 10/03/2017

Not entirely sure what you mean, Lunis; why would pressing alt w work? I did try it, and it didn't seem to do anything.



 01/15/2021 02:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Alan Cantor
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 4027
Joined: 12/08/2007

If you are looking for a way to select a range of cells, here are two approaches:

The mouthful method:

"select cell alpha one through cell alpha ten"

You must say the word "cell" twice. You may need to substitute the word "to" for "through." Although you don't need to use the military alphabet to specify the columns, doing so really helps. You cannot pause at any point, no matter how many syllables there are.

The F8 method

In Excel, pressing F8 causes cells to be selected by pressing the arrow keys.

"go to cell Alpha 1"
"press F8"
"move down 10 lines"
 01/15/2021 03:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Anders
Junior Member

Posts: 31
Joined: 10/03/2017

Thanks for the info about selecting cells, but that's not the problem. The problem is that when I call up the custom sort dialog box, which allows you to sort by more than one field, I can't find any way to navigate by keyboard that will let me set which fields Excel should sort by.

 01/15/2021 06:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Alan Cantor
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 4027
Joined: 12/08/2007

Or do you mean this dialog box?

The drop down lists are opened by pressing Alt + down or Alt + up.



 01/15/2021 08:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Anders
Junior Member

Posts: 31
Joined: 10/03/2017

Yes, that's exactly what I was looking for!

I'm off my computer for the next couple of days to rest my voice, but I'll try it out on Monday. Thank you so much!
 01/15/2021 11:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Alan Cantor
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 4027
Joined: 12/08/2007

Another option: say "press F4" (or "press Function 4").

Or you might be able to say "drop list" to, well, drop the list.
 01/19/2021 03:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Anders
Junior Member

Posts: 31
Joined: 10/03/2017

Problem solved! The problem I was running into was that I couldn't use tabs or any other keyboard shorts to move the cursor to one of the sort fields. Now I can -- I can get there with tabs no problem.

Every once in a while Excel starts behaving weirdly. I could have sworn I had restarted my computer several times and still had the problem, but either I hadn't or something else was going on. In any case, it now works just fine.  

Thanks for your efforts to help me; sorry I ended up eating up your time.

Anders's

Statistics
31978 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 562 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 562 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2021 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.