KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Executing a .net dll from an advanced scripting macro
Topic Summary: Can I execute .net dlls from an advanced scripting command
Created On: 08/24/2013 01:13 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 Executing a .net dll from an advanced scripting macro   - Pranav Lal - 08/24/2013 01:13 PM  
 Executing a .net dll from an advanced scripting macro   - monkey8 - 08/24/2013 02:29 PM  
 Executing a .net dll from an advanced scripting macro   - Pranav Lal - 08/24/2013 08:02 PM  
 Executing a .net dll from an advanced scripting macro   - kkkwj - 02/28/2021 11:47 AM  
Keyword
 08/24/2013 01:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Pranav Lal
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 219
Joined: 10/02/2006

Hi all,

 

I am building a dll using the .net framework specifically, visual basic .net. Can I execute the functions in such a dll from an advanced scripting command? Can the dllCall function execute such a dll or does it only execute com dlls?

 

Pranav

 08/24/2013 02:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
monkey8
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 3723
Joined: 01/14/2008

There is an advanced script function called DLLCALL but you can't access a .net DLL, not a managed DLL which needs the CLR. You can find full details in the Dragon help file "search Dragon help for DLL"

 

Instead of creating a .net DLL why don't you just create a .net executable with command line arguments to call the different functions, that will work in exactly the same way and you can then run it using ShellExecute within an advanced script.

 



-------------------------



 08/24/2013 08:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Pranav Lal
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 219
Joined: 10/02/2006

Hi Lindsay,

<snip

Instead of creating a .net DLL why don't you just create a .net executable with command line arguments to call the different functions, that will work in exactly the same way and you can then run it using ShellExecute within an advanced script.

PL] An excellent suggestion and one I am going to follow. <smile

 

Thanks

Pranav 



 02/28/2021 11:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kkkwj
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 694
Joined: 11/05/2015

Yes, that seems like a good idea. Maybe the information about not being able to call a managed DLL that needs the CLR runtime is the reason that my attempts failed (on another thread). Once again, thank you Lindsay!

-------------------------

Win10/x64, AMD Ryzen 7 3700X, 64GB RAM, Dragon 15.3, SP 6 PRO, SpeechStart, Office 365, KB 2017, Dragon Capture, Samson Meteor USB Desk Mic, Klim and JUKSTG earbuds with microphones, 3 BenQ 2560x1440 monitors, Microsoft Sculpt Keyboard and fat mouse

Statistics
31978 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 554 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 559 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2021 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.