KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Where to find textinputhost application commands
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/10/2022 08:34 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 Where to find textinputhost application commands   - huaw1ad - 03/10/2022 08:34 PM  
 Where to find textinputhost application commands   - Lunis Orcutt - 03/11/2022 11:32 AM  
 Where to find textinputhost application commands   - dilligence - 03/11/2022 01:07 PM  
 Where to find textinputhost application commands   - Edgar - 03/12/2022 09:26 AM  
 Where to find textinputhost application commands   - dilligence - 03/12/2022 10:07 AM  
 Where to find textinputhost application commands   - R. Wilke - 03/11/2022 04:07 PM  
Keyword
 03/10/2022 08:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
huaw1ad
New Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 06/15/2016

When adding a new application specific command the 1st application that is shown is textinputhost. I made a few commands that were intended for other applications but I accidentally chose the textinputhost and now I can't find those commands to edit them and make them specific to a different application. Where would I be able to find the textinputhost commands? 

 03/11/2022 11:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 39832
Joined: 10/01/2006

Begin by opening your textinputhost app. Make certain textinputhost is in focus and your cursor is inside the app. Then say Show Application Commands or mouse click the Applications & Windows tab. You can now view and edit your textinputhost commands



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1



 03/11/2022 01:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dilligence
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 1526
Joined: 08/16/2010

As far as I know Text Input Host itself does not have an interface to launch. It appears to be part of the EMOJI tool in Windows 10/11. Here's the executable path in Windows 11:


C:\Windows\SystemApps\MicrosoftWindows.Client.CBS_cw5n1h2txyewy\TextInputHost.exe


Dragon® apparently confuses it with a program that can be launched in the regular way. Except, it can't.


Maybe it would be an idea to add a Blacklist feature to KB (like we have in SP for these kind of processes )?



-------------------------

https://speechproductivity.eu


Turbocharge your Dragon® productivity with 40 Power Addons



 03/12/2022 09:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Edgar
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 1265
Joined: 04/03/2009

Originally posted by: dilligence Maybe it would be an idea to add a Blacklist feature […] for these kind of processes

Blacklisting textinputhost might eventually become a problem. There are certainly quite a few applications which now use it. It would not surprise me to find even more applications using it.

I haven't really dug into the issue deeply but, I expect, most simple application-specific commands, which get pointed toward textinputhost as the application, will perform the same in all of the user-applications. It's going to get dicey when you start trying to click application buttons, pick application menu items or doing application-specific mouse movements.

I suspect that what will need to be done eventually is to figure out what actual application is using textinputhost…



-------------------------

-Edgar
DPI 15.3, 64-bit Windows 10 Pro, OpenOffice & Office 365, Norton Security, Shure X2U XLR to USB mic adapter with Audio Technica DB135 vocal mic, Asus X299-Deluxe Prime, Intel Core i9-7940X (14 core, 4.3 GHz overclocked to 4.9 GHz), G.SKILL TridentZ Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4 3333 (PC4 26600) F4-3333C16Q-64GTZ, NVIDIA GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1060 GV-N1060G1 GAMING-6GD REV 2.0 6GB graphics card with 3 1920x1080 monitors

 03/12/2022 10:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dilligence
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 1526
Joined: 08/16/2010

Originally posted by: Edgar
Originally posted by: dilligence Maybe it would be an idea to add a Blacklist feature […] for these kind of processes

 

Blacklisting textinputhost might eventually become a problem. There are certainly quite a few applications which now use it. 

 

 

Definitely, but I wasn't aiming at blocking the process itself, just from not coming up as a "potential target application" in the KB command editor.




In SP 7 PRO's Placer you can for instance make it ignore (don't show) Text Input Host. The same goes for SysTray.



-------------------------

https://speechproductivity.eu


Turbocharge your Dragon® productivity with 40 Power Addons



 03/11/2022 04:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
R. Wilke
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 7840
Joined: 03/04/2007

You will certainly be amazed by what the new KB can do. Blacklisting particular processes and specifically particular people behind them will be on the list.

-------------------------



No need to buy if all you want to do is try ...

DragonCapture KB Download (Latest)
DragonCapture Homepage

Statistics
32306 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 399 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 400 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2022 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.