KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: best browser(s) for version 4
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/28/2019 07:41 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 best browser(s) for version 4   - planarian - 02/28/2019 07:41 AM  
 best browser(s) for version 4   - dilligence - 02/28/2019 07:57 AM  
 best browser(s) for version 4   - Lunis Orcutt - 02/28/2019 12:31 PM  
 best browser(s) for version 4   - planarian - 03/10/2019 10:01 PM  
 best browser(s) for version 4   - Lunis Orcutt - 03/11/2019 10:30 AM  
 best browser(s) for version 4   - planarian - 03/11/2019 11:05 AM  
 best browser(s) for version 4   - Lunis Orcutt - 03/11/2019 01:33 PM  
 best browser(s) for version 4   - planarian - 03/11/2019 03:07 PM  
 best browser(s) for version 4   - Lunis Orcutt - 03/11/2019 03:54 PM  
 best browser(s) for version 4   - planarian - 03/01/2019 08:12 AM  
 best browser(s) for version 4   - Lunis Orcutt - 03/01/2019 04:23 PM  
 best browser(s) for version 4   - Marklarian - 10/18/2021 06:40 PM  
 best browser(s) for version 4   - Lunis Orcutt - 10/18/2021 07:54 PM  
 best browser(s) for version 4   - Marklarian - 10/19/2021 07:17 AM  
 best browser(s) for version 4   - Dominic76 - 04/28/2022 05:43 PM  
 best browser(s) for version 4   - Lunis Orcutt - 04/28/2022 06:17 PM  
 best browser(s) for version 4   - Dominic76 - 04/29/2022 10:31 AM  
 best browser(s) for version 4   - Lunis Orcutt - 04/29/2022 01:58 PM  
 best browser(s) for version 4   - Dominic76 - 04/29/2022 03:21 PM  
 best browser(s) for version 4   - Lunis Orcutt - 04/29/2022 04:09 PM  
Keyword
 02/28/2019 07:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
planarian
New Member

Posts: 20
Joined: 02/01/2019

How does one rank the major browsers for compatibility with DMPE 4? My preference is Firefox, but I don't want to swim against the current if Chrome, IE, Edge, etc. offer a smoother experience.

 02/28/2019 07:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dilligence
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 1526
Joined: 08/16/2010

The order of compatibility is probably:

 

1. Internet Explorer/SlimBrowser or any other browser with the Trident engine .

2. Firefox

3. Chrome (not everybody's happy with the Chrome Web extension)

 

Other browsers like Opera and Edge are not supported unless you use third-party add-ons.

Chrome is probably the safest and smoothest browser especially if you combine it with Click by Voice, SP Chrome Search and the KnowBrainer scroll commands.



-------------------------

https://speechproductivity.eu


Turbocharge your Dragon® productivity with 40 Power Addons



 02/28/2019 12:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 39832
Joined: 10/01/2006

We basically concur with Ron but have a slightly different spin:

1.  Internet Explorer (already on your computer) is undeniably Dragon's favorite browser but unfortunately it is not very stable and you will likely suffer intermediate crashes. To make matters worse, Microsoft likes it this way because they don't want you to use Internet Explorer. Microsoft wants you to switch to Microsoft Edge which Dragon absolutely despises and should be avoided.

2.  Google Chrome includes Active Accessibility plus Select-&-Say dictation. In other words it's nearly as friendly as Internet Explorer except that many people lose the required Dragon extension about every 20 minutes. Google Chrome is stable and will keep on running but you will no longer be able to directly dictate unless you have the DragonCapture (download).

3.  We would've put Firefox in 2nd place because the Dragon extension includes Active Accessibility but not everyone can dictate into Firefox. Some end-users are able to utilize Select-&-Say while other end-users can only Dumb Dictate and some end-users can't directly dictate at all.

Having made the previous observations, as odd as it sounds, we have a slight preference for Firefox. We can only Dumb Dictate but DragonCapture allows us to directly Smart Natural Text dictate. Our preference is to use the KnowBrainer Insert <dictation> and Say <dictation> commands for correcting and editing. We mention this because you already have KnowBrainer 2017, which includes these commands.



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1

 03/10/2019 10:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
planarian
New Member

Posts: 20
Joined: 02/01/2019

The release notes for DMPE 4 indicate that support for Firefox has been discontinued. Is this plugin (which appears to be intended for DPI 15) the one you were referring to?

 03/11/2019 10:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 39832
Joined: 10/01/2006

We assume, but can't be certain, that Nuance will support Firefox when they release a patch for DMPE 4.5. We do not know when the patch will be released but the latest scuttlebutt is sometime this spring. It's not so much that Nuance has discontinued Firefox support but rather the latest version of Firefox is deliberately designed to reject Firefox extensions that don't meet Mozilla's safety protocols. If you are a big Firefox fan, you might consider Waterfox which is identical to Firefox but open source and will accept most extensions.

Your other option is to add the new DragonCapture utility which is what we use to directly dictate our forum answers.



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1

 03/11/2019 11:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
planarian
New Member

Posts: 20
Joined: 02/01/2019

I had thought the value of the plugin wasn't select-and-say (which I was under the impression had never really been available in Firefox before DragonCapture) but the exposure of user interface controls (menus, buttons, etc) for control by Dragon. Is that not the case?

 03/11/2019 01:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 39832
Joined: 10/01/2006

Dragon browser extensions (plug-ins) incorporate 2 features.

• Active Accessibility: Which we have in Firefox, gives you the ability to click on controls, buttons, menus and hyperlinks. If you don't have Active Accessibility, you can optionally add Mouseless Browsing which KnowBrainer 2017 kicks up a notch by adding the ability to simultaneously click and dictate into any numbered field. Even Active Accessibility lacks the ability to click into a field.

• Select-&-Say: Which we don't have in Firefox, not only gives you direct dictation capability but additionally the ability to select text, along with other editing capabilities. We think of this as Smart Dictation.

Dragon can force direct dictation via Natural Text (see Quick Tips) but DragonCapture is a little smarter and that's why we call it Smart Natural Text. You won't have Select-&-Say but you will have direct dictation capability with proper capitalization and spacing. You can now even optionally hide the DragonCapture box, which was released over this weekend.



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1

 03/11/2019 03:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
planarian
New Member

Posts: 20
Joined: 02/01/2019

>>If you don't have Active Accessibility

 

Does anyone running a modern version of Firefox have it, currently? I thought the point of the patch was to restore the necessary plugin.

 

>>you can optionally add Mouseless Browsing

 

That plugin doesn't seem to work with the most recent Firefox. Will other plugins that provide similar functionality also work? I assume this would use KnowBrainer's "Click <0to500>", which you have listed under "Google Chrome Browser" heading in the KnowBrainer Command Examples.



 03/11/2019 03:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 39832
Joined: 10/01/2006

The previously mentioned Mouseless Browsing extension is working in our 32-bit version of Firefox. We believe there are other Mouseless Browsing extensions for Firefox.

The KnowBrainer Click <0to500> and other number clicking commands should work.



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1

 03/01/2019 08:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
planarian
New Member

Posts: 20
Joined: 02/01/2019

Perhaps I've misunderstood the purpose of the "Insert" and "Say" commands. I thought they were for placing text directly into a field without the use of a dictation box. How do you use them in conjunction with DragonCapture?
 03/01/2019 04:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 39832
Joined: 10/01/2006

Insert <dictation> and Say <dictation> are ideally suited for short quick dictations but they are also ideally suited for editing and correcting. DragonCapture is perfect for about 98% of non-Dragon friendly major dictations because you can dictate normally without using a command like Say <dictation> but the biggest problem is editing/correcting. For example, after you dictate something like “My dog has fleas.” If you want to insert “yellow” before the word “dog”, DragonCapture would automatically capitalize the word “Yellow” and you might have a spacing issue. You could use DragonCapture to make these types of corrections but you would likely wind up wasting time examining the DragonCapture Dictation Box to figure out exactly how to correct. The KnowBrainer Insert <dictation> and Say <dictation> commands simply take the guesswork out.

We would additionally recommend using KnowBrainer for shorter dictations that have to anticipate your next move. For example, if you say  Tab <1> <my dog has fleas>, KnowBrainer will tab to the next field and simultaneously type “My dog has fleas”. Also notice how the word “My” even begins with a capital letter. When it comes to dictation, we use KnowBrainer commands for automated, specialty and short dictations but DragonCapture for larger dictations in non-Dragon friendly applications.



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1

 10/18/2021 06:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Marklarian
Power Member

Posts: 67
Joined: 11/09/2006

Is this still the current thinking for the latest version of Dragon? About to change over to RxNT and it is a web based EHR. Would prefer to use Microsoft Edge, but would change over to Chrome if ppl thought it was a better choice.

Paul.
 10/18/2021 07:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 39832
Joined: 10/01/2006

In our opinion, Microsoft Edge is still marginally the best browser for Dragon

-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1

 10/19/2021 07:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Marklarian
Power Member

Posts: 67
Joined: 11/09/2006

Ok, Thanks Lunis....

Paul.
 04/28/2022 05:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dominic76
New Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 02/20/2014

I am similarly finding that my fulltext control is not working anymore in Firefox for some reason. I usually use a 64-bit version of Firefox, but based on some research here I have started using the 32-bit version of Firefox, without much change. I also use DPI latest 15 version, and I also added the Tobii Dynavox mouseless browsing app recently in hopes it would be helpful. However, Dragon is not activating those numbers for some reason either. I'm trying to find a hands-free way to browse the web using my voice. I have been unable to find other mouseless apps for Firefox. Am I missing something here? Even if I purchase Voice Computer, how will I be sure that Dragon will work with it if it's not working with the Tobii mouseless app? By the way, I've thoroughly played around with all of the command options in Dragon, with no real success. Has something changed recently with the newest Firefox, Dragon, or Tobii app that might be causing this problem? Thank you for any guidance you can provide.
 04/28/2022 06:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 39832
Joined: 10/01/2006

If you switch to Google Chrome or Microsoft Edge, you can use Click By Voice. Keep in mind that when Dragon Ver. 16 is released, it will include more support for Microsoft Edge, which is already included in DPG 15.71. However, we doubt it will include better Chrome or Firefox support because they are not Microsoft products.

 

Rumor has it that Dragon 16 will include a global Click by Voice numbers option which will work everywhere so you may not have to give up Firefox after all.



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1



 04/29/2022 10:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dominic76
New Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 02/20/2014

Thank you. Dragon doesn't seem to activate the numbers in edge, when using click by voice either. I even did a repair of Dragon. What could be the problem? Do you have any sense as to when DPI version 16 may be released?



 04/29/2022 01:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 39832
Joined: 10/01/2006

We trigger Click by Voice numbers with KnowBrainer 2020. This feature isn't easy to perform in Dragon, unless you automate Click by Voice with your own commands. We also added a few AI features like the ability to simultaneously click into a numbered field and dictate.



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1

 04/29/2022 03:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dominic76
New Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 02/20/2014

Did I see in 1 of the threads that there is free knowbrainer software for people who are disabled/have disabilities? That certainly includes me. And would that software be helpful to me in navigating the web? Thank you.
 04/29/2022 04:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 39832
Joined: 10/01/2006

Originally posted by: Dominic76 Did I see in 1 of the threads that there is free knowbrainer software for people who are disabled/have disabilities...

 

KnowBrainer 2020 is free to anyone with a permanent physical disability. As far as clicking links and fields, KnowBrainer can only do that to verbally assist Click by Voice but there are a lot of other browser capabilities such as being able to Google for anything from anywhere. You also have the ability to go to almost any website

Send your proof of disability to Support@KnowBrainer.com for a complementary license.



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1



KnowBrainer Speech Recognition » DMPE, DMO and EMRs » best browser(s) for version 4

Statistics
32305 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 403 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 403 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2022 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.