KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Clicking Hard Disk when Dragon is Running
Topic Summary: Only clicks when Dragon is running.
Created On: 08/05/2021 01:52 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 Clicking Hard Disk when Dragon is Running   - G.J. Premo - 08/05/2021 01:52 PM  
 Clicking Hard Disk when Dragon is Running   - dilligence - 08/05/2021 03:38 PM  
 Clicking Hard Disk when Dragon is Running   - kkkwj - 08/05/2021 07:36 PM  
 Clicking Hard Disk when Dragon is Running   - G.J. Premo - 08/06/2021 08:38 PM  
 Clicking Hard Disk when Dragon is Running   - Lunis Orcutt - 08/06/2021 08:45 PM  
 Clicking Hard Disk when Dragon is Running   - Lunis Orcutt - 08/06/2021 01:10 PM  
 Clicking Hard Disk when Dragon is Running   - G.J. Premo - 08/06/2021 08:37 PM  
 Clicking Hard Disk when Dragon is Running   - Lunis Orcutt - 08/06/2021 08:44 PM  
Keyword
 08/05/2021 01:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


G.J. Premo
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 821
Joined: 05/12/2007

My hard disk is making a clicking sound, I guess that means its nearly the end its useful life.

BUT, its only noticable when Dragon is running.  Exit Dragon, no problem.

Is Dragon that disk intensive?

 08/05/2021 03:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dilligence
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 1431
Joined: 08/16/2010

Hmm.. sounds like a very busy read-write actuator in your HDD. Maybe indeed the result of wear... or serious fragmentation? Strange that it only seems to occur with Dragon® running. 

 

A bit of a long shot, are you using version 15.6 and is the clicking mostly happening in Microsoft Edge or Chrome? 

 

On a side note. It's always a good idea to replace your HDD (I'm assuming it is an HDD!) with a SSD.



-------------------------


Auto Box© Demo now available

 08/05/2021 07:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kkkwj
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 829
Joined: 11/05/2015

I'm with Rob. Serious disk activity is usually indicative of heavy disk I/O. Fragmentation is always present, but excessive fragmentation can generate more head activity. Defragment your disk as a first step, for sure.

Other than that, maybe your Dragon options are set up to save all your dictation for playback or something.

I'm also with Rob on replacing your HDD (*especially* a busy HDD) with a modern SSD. You'll notice a distinct speedup in anything to do with boot times, load times, and heavy I/O activities. It's probably the cheapest and most reliable way of increasing overall performance in a "good bang-per-buck" way.

-------------------------

Win10/x64, AMD Ryzen 7 3700X, 64GB RAM, Dragon 15.3, SP 6 PRO, SpeechStart, Office 365, KB 2017, Dragon Capture, Samson Meteor USB Desk Mic, Klim and JUKSTG earbuds with microphones, 3 BenQ 2560x1440 monitors, Microsoft Sculpt Keyboard and fat mouse

 08/06/2021 08:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


G.J. Premo
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 821
Joined: 05/12/2007

What is good program to do a complete copy of a hard drive to a new drive (be it hard or soft)

 08/06/2021 08:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 39353
Joined: 10/01/2006

Originally posted by: G.J. Premo

What is good program to do a complete copy of a hard drive to a new drive (be it hard or soft)



This isn't an official endorsement, because this isn't our area of expertise but we like Acronis True Image



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1

 08/06/2021 01:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 39353
Joined: 10/01/2006

We cannot overstress kkkwj recommendation to change Save recorded dictation with document from ALWAYS to NEVER. You will find this option under the DragonBar Options/Data (Tab). This is 1 of our 27 recommendations.



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1

 08/06/2021 08:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


G.J. Premo
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 821
Joined: 05/12/2007

I'm listening to you, Lunis. I never want or wanted to save dictation with documents. But Dragon saves it anyway, regardless of my setting. Mind of its own.
 08/06/2021 08:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 39353
Joined: 10/01/2006

Originally posted by: G.J. Premo I'm listening to you, Lunis. I never want or wanted to save dictation with documents. But Dragon saves it anyway, regardless of my setting. Mind of its own.


Sometimes Dragon really has a mind of its own and will ignore a setting. If you think you're in this situation, consider exporting your vocabulary, commands, create a new user profile and import your vocabulary & commands.



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1



Statistics
32173 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 557 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 559 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2021 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.