KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Output list of custom commands to a plain text document?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/10/2021 01:11 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 Output list of custom commands to a plain text document?   - benTalks - 08/10/2021 01:11 PM  
 Output list of custom commands to a plain text document?   - Lunis Orcutt - 08/10/2021 03:17 PM  
 Output list of custom commands to a plain text document?   - Ag - 08/16/2021 11:25 PM  
 Output list of custom commands to a plain text document?   - R. Wilke - 08/10/2021 03:34 PM  
 Output list of custom commands to a plain text document?   - Edgar - 08/10/2021 03:49 PM  
 Output list of custom commands to a plain text document?   - Edgar - 08/10/2021 03:51 PM  
 Output list of custom commands to a plain text document?   - Lunis Orcutt - 08/15/2021 02:06 PM  
 Output list of custom commands to a plain text document?   - Lunis Orcutt - 08/15/2021 02:25 PM  
 Output list of custom commands to a plain text document?   - monkey8 - 08/18/2021 05:14 PM  
 Output list of custom commands to a plain text document?   - benTalks - 08/15/2021 12:47 PM  
 Output list of custom commands to a plain text document?   - Edgar - 08/15/2021 06:36 PM  
 Output list of custom commands to a plain text document?   - Ag - 08/16/2021 11:16 PM  
 Output list of custom commands to a plain text document?   - kkkwj - 08/17/2021 10:47 PM  
 Output list of custom commands to a plain text document?   - monkey8 - 08/18/2021 05:08 PM  
Keyword
 08/10/2021 01:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
benTalks
Junior Member

Posts: 36
Joined: 04/27/2020

Hello,

I have a bunch of custom commands, but have trouble remembering them all. Does anyone have a script that will convert the commands.XML file into a simple document that I can print?

Just a simple table in HTML would work great.

 08/10/2021 03:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 40211
Joined: 10/01/2006

The approach you used to post this question is 1 of the best solutions we can think of. We recommend opening your Command Browser as vertically wide as possible, reversing your alphabetical order and taking a JPEG snapshot. If you can't fit all of your commands into a single picture, try placing multiple pictures side-by-side in a program like Microsoft Word. HOWEVER, our favorite option is to leave the Dragon Command Browser open; behind other windows or minimized if necessary. This is 1 of the primary reasons we use 3 32 inch monitors. We are available 24 hours a day; mostly because our court ordered ankle bracelet transmitter beeps if we wander too far from the trailer



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2022
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1

 08/16/2021 11:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ag
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 887
Joined: 07/08/2019

Originally posted by: Lunis Orcutt The approach you used to post this question is 1 of the best solutions we can think of. We recommend opening your Command Browser as vertically wide as possible, reversing your alphabetical order and taking a JPEG snapshot. If you can't fit all of your commands into a single picture, try placing multiple pictures side-by-side in a program like Microsoft Word.

 

Although I prefer to go directly from XML to text or HTML  without going through JPEG or other bitmaps, 

 

 I think it might be useful to add to Lunis's suggestion:

 

a) I just took such a screen capture, pasted into  Microsoft OneNote, and then did "Copy Text from Picture",  and it worked

 

b)  conversely,  the SnagIt screen capture application which I had installed recognized that the Dragon Command Browser is a scrolling window, rolled it automatically, but did not manage to capture anything except the last   windowful.

 

Anyway, there are ways to go from screen captures to useful stuff like text  or HTML.    OK in if you're doing it as a one-off, not so good if you want to do this regularly.

 

 

 



-------------------------

DPG15.6 (also DPI 15.3) + KB, Sennheiser MB Pro 1 UC ML, BTD 800 dongle, Windows 10 Pro, MS Surface Book 3, Intel Core i7-1065G7 CPU @ 1.3/1.5GHz (4 cores, 8 logical, GPU=NVIDIA Quadro RTX 3000 with Max-Q Design.

 08/10/2021 03:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
R. Wilke
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 7921
Joined: 03/04/2007

mostly because our court ordered ankle bracelet transmitter beeps if we wander too far from the trailer


Lunis, I always thought that living in a trailer park was in the past. Have you gone back to it by now?



-------------------------



No need to buy if all you want to do is try ...

DragonCapture KB Download (Latest)
DragonCapture Homepage



 08/10/2021 03:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Edgar
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 1294
Joined: 04/03/2009

Originally posted by: benTalks Does anyone have a script that will convert the commands.XML file into a simple document that I can print?

I use a programmer's text editor (PSPad) to do exactly this quite easily. This topic is posted in the KnowBrainer section so, as an example, here are the first 27 lines of its command file:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>

<!---->

<!--KnowBrainer Professional XML Command File-->

<!---->

<!---->

<KnowBrainerCommands version="014">

  <Commands scope="global" group="new global">

    <Command name="Duck To <dictation>" group="" enabled="true">

      <description></description>

      <content type="WinWrap Basic"><![CDATA[

Sub Main

   ShellExecute "https://duckduckgo.com/"

   Wait 3

   'Clipboard ListVar1

   'Wait 0.4

   'SendKeys "^v"

   'Wait 0.4

   SendKeys ListVar1, 1

   SendKeys "~"

   Wait 3

   SendKeys "~"

End Sub

]]></content>

    </Command>

    <Command name="<keyname> Release" group="" enabled="true">

      <description></description>

      <content type="WinWrap Basic"><![CDATA[

and here are a few other command name lines:

 

 25: <Command name="<keyname> Release" group="" enabled="true">

 40: <Command name="Zotz <FlowTypes> Constructor" group="" enabled="true">

144: <Command name="Download Tiny <1to100>" group="" enabled="true">

216: <Command name="Helper Download <1to100>" group="" enabled="true">

316: <Command name="Inject Directly <dictation>" group="" enabled="true">

324: <Command name="Download Panel" group="" enabled="true">

334: <Command name="Do The Scan" group="" enabled="true">

342: <Command name="Forced Injection <dictation>" group="" enabled="true">

439: <Command name="Remove Leading" group="" enabled="true">

(remember, this is my version of the KnowBrainer commands file). PSPad exports all of the lines which denote command names to a text file. You can then easily strip all of the leading line numbers off, remove all of the [<Command name="] prefixes and all of the [" group="" enabled="true">] suffixes leaving you with something which looks like:

Duck To <dictation>

<keyname> Release

Zotz <FlowTypes> Constructor

Download Tiny <1to100>

Helper Download <1to100>

Inject Directly <dictation>

Download Panel

Do The Scan

Forced Injection <dictation>

Remove Leading

if the list names look a bit strange you can do another pair of replacements, replace [<] with [<] and [>] with [>]:

Duck To <dictation>

<keyname> Release

becomes:

Duck To <dictation>

<keyname> Release

etc.

you could then sort this to show all command names in alphabetical order. One drawback is that it is a little more work to sort these commands out as to availability (global, application- / window-specific).



-------------------------

-Edgar
DPI 15.3, 64-bit Windows 10 Pro, OpenOffice & Office 365, Norton Security, Shure X2U XLR to USB mic adapter with Audio Technica DB135 vocal mic, Asus X299-Deluxe Prime, Intel Core i9-7940X (14 core, 4.3 GHz overclocked to 4.9 GHz), G.SKILL TridentZ Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4 3333 (PC4 26600) F4-3333C16Q-64GTZ, NVIDIA GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1060 GV-N1060G1 GAMING-6GD REV 2.0 6GB graphics card with 3 1920x1080 monitors

 08/10/2021 03:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Edgar
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 1294
Joined: 04/03/2009

Well, that's quite strange this board doesn't seem to want to allow exact pasting of text. In the above example the real file does not show list names with angle brackets.

-------------------------

-Edgar
DPI 15.3, 64-bit Windows 10 Pro, OpenOffice & Office 365, Norton Security, Shure X2U XLR to USB mic adapter with Audio Technica DB135 vocal mic, Asus X299-Deluxe Prime, Intel Core i9-7940X (14 core, 4.3 GHz overclocked to 4.9 GHz), G.SKILL TridentZ Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4 3333 (PC4 26600) F4-3333C16Q-64GTZ, NVIDIA GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1060 GV-N1060G1 GAMING-6GD REV 2.0 6GB graphics card with 3 1920x1080 monitors

 08/15/2021 02:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 40211
Joined: 10/01/2006

Edgar,

You should be able to include lists and <> brackets but there is a catch. If you edit your post most of the <>s will be removed. It's a problem for us too but not fixable because the company who created the software for this forum discontinued all services (aside from accepting maintenance payments) about 17 years ago. Probably the best way to avoid these issues would be to re-create long posts and your scripts in DragonPad or WordPad (not Microsoft Word) and then cut and paste into your post.

Another option, which we use, is to dictate all of our posts directly. A command that copies our forum text before saving because we also have to edit



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2022
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1

 08/15/2021 02:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 40211
Joined: 10/01/2006

Here is a copy of the latest KnowBrainer command called Save Post. It will not work in the Quick Reply field but will work in the Reply field. If you are not using KnowBrainer <%> Build 08-11-2021 feel free to copy the following script into Dragon as an Advanced-Scripting command.

 

Sub Main
SendKeys "^a"
Wait 0.1
SendKeys "^c"
Wait 0.1
SendKeys "^s"
Wait 2
SendKeys "^{End}"
End Sub


-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2022
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1



 08/18/2021 05:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
monkey8
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 3950
Joined: 01/14/2008

Originally posted by: Edgar Well, that's quite strange this board doesn't seem to want to allow exact pasting of text. In the above example the real file does not show list names with angle brackets.

 

Well you have obviously edited your post because when you edit a post the angle brackets disappear, workaround is simple, just copy everything to DragonPad, edit on DragonPad or similar and paste back in.



-------------------------

 08/15/2021 12:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
benTalks
Junior Member

Posts: 36
Joined: 04/27/2020

Edgar,

Thanks for sharing this. Would it be possible for you to attach the file, or provide a download link?
 08/15/2021 06:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Edgar
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 1294
Joined: 04/03/2009

Originally posted by: benTalks provide a download link?

 

http://www.pspad.com/



-------------------------

-Edgar
DPI 15.3, 64-bit Windows 10 Pro, OpenOffice & Office 365, Norton Security, Shure X2U XLR to USB mic adapter with Audio Technica DB135 vocal mic, Asus X299-Deluxe Prime, Intel Core i9-7940X (14 core, 4.3 GHz overclocked to 4.9 GHz), G.SKILL TridentZ Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4 3333 (PC4 26600) F4-3333C16Q-64GTZ, NVIDIA GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1060 GV-N1060G1 GAMING-6GD REV 2.0 6GB graphics card with 3 1920x1080 monitors



 08/16/2021 11:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ag
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 887
Joined: 07/08/2019

I do this regularly, creating and comparing command lists, as part of my version control and change tracking system. I have Dragon speech commands that export MyCmds.xml (which I call MyCommands-Dragon.xml for various reasons), and then invoke the following from the cygwin command line, , or more often makefiles and other scripts.

 

Here's the quick and dirty approach:

 

< MyCommands-Dragon.xml iconv -f utf-16 -t utf-8 | grep '

 

I started to clean the above up by providing xmlstarlet commands, but I'm too lazy, the above is good enough, culture at howsoever you may want.

 

 

Obviously you probably also want to provide lists.

 

 

And for me this is only the very small number of commands that I actually writing Dragon's basic like scripting language, many many more of my commands live in AutoHotKey.

 

 

Providing a decent browser for such command lists is on my to do some day. Complicated by the fact that I wish to have it use regular expressions or grammars, not just a fixed list of commands.

 

 

 

I.e. I want to type "foo bar", and I want to find all the regular expressions for BNF or whatever that match "foo bar" or "bar foo".



-------------------------

DPG15.6 (also DPI 15.3) + KB, Sennheiser MB Pro 1 UC ML, BTD 800 dongle, Windows 10 Pro, MS Surface Book 3, Intel Core i7-1065G7 CPU @ 1.3/1.5GHz (4 cores, 8 logical, GPU=NVIDIA Quadro RTX 3000 with Max-Q Design.



 08/17/2021 10:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kkkwj
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 1021
Joined: 11/05/2015

I wish I had a C# example to connect to Dragon and dump the commands to an XML filename of my choice. If I had that, then the rest would be relatively easy.

-------------------------

Win10/11/x64, AMD Ryzen 7 3700X/3950X, 64/128GB RAM, Dragon 15.3, SP 7 Standard, SpeechStart, Office 365, KB 2017, Dragon Capture, Samson Meteor USB Desk Mic, Amazon YUWAKAYI headset, Klim and JUKSTG earbuds with microphones, 3 BenQ 2560x1440 monitors, Microsoft Sculpt Keyboard and fat mouse

 08/18/2021 05:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
monkey8
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 3950
Joined: 01/14/2008

Originally posted by: benTalks Hello,

 

I have a bunch of custom commands, but have trouble remembering them all. Does anyone have a script that will convert the commands.XML file into a simple document that I can print?

 

 

Use the following application which is free and does all the work for you, Just start the application and everything will be at your fingertips.  The application you will find your active command file from your user profile and show the relevant commands from the mycmds.dat on a sidebar broken into global commands, application and Windows specific commands when relevant windows are active.  If you have any problems downloading let me know.  You can also print out all the commands in a text  file..  Full description below.

 

http://www.pcbyvoice.com/shop/pcbyvoice-scriptmanager/

 



-------------------------



Statistics
32390 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 373 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 373 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2022 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.