KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Recomended Anti-Virus Software
Topic Summary: Comprehensive cover with minimum DNS latency
Created On: 01/21/2013 05:59 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Keyword
 01/21/2013 05:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


silfan
Power Member

Posts: 70
Joined: 01/28/2010

Hello Friends,

Would anyone have any recomendations as to which Anti-Virus program would provide good protection, while causing minimal disruption of Dragon's performance?

I read a recomendation (Jerry at M-Tech) for 'Avast' - anyone know whether he was likely to be recomending 'Avast pro antivirus', or the larger 'avast internet security'?

Thank you for your help.

Silfan



-------------------------

Equipment and specs


 


SR PROGRAM: DNS  12.5 premium + KB 2012  - UK English / SOUNDCARD & MIC: speech ware three in one / OS: Windows 7  home 64-bit  / PROCESSOR: i7 3720 QM, 2.6 GHz / RAM: 16GB

 01/21/2013 06:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Chucker
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 14123
Joined: 10/10/2006

silfan,

There is a basically free version of Avast but the Pro and the Internet security are not free. Why not stick with a tried-and-true and reliable freebie from Microsoft, Microsoft Security Essentials. Microsoft Security Essentials is designed for Windows 7 and below, and is incorporated into Windows 8 (Windows Defender). It's free, it's reliable, it does not interfere with DNS and it is regularly updated via Windows update. It has gotten good reviews from PC World and PC Magazine, and it doesn't give you false positives, while at the same time giving you complete control over virus, spam, and malware. I've been using it since it was first released and have never had any problems with it.

Avast is OK, but I don't particularly care for it.

Chuck

"Good enough never is." - Debbi Fields: founder of Mrs. Fields Bakeries

-------------------------

VoiceComputer: the only global speech interface.

The views, thoughts and opinions expressed in this post are my own and do not reflect those of VoiceTeach LLC.

Chuck Runquist
VoiceComputer technical support

 01/21/2013 06:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


silfan
Power Member

Posts: 70
Joined: 01/28/2010

Thanks Chucker, I very much respect your expert recomendations.
I am weary of relying on Microsoft Security Essentials, as from the reviews I have read it does not provide a particularly comprehensive protection - although obviously very good considering it is free. Great that you have never had problems with it.
Silfan

-------------------------

Equipment and specs


 


SR PROGRAM: DNS  12.5 premium + KB 2012  - UK English / SOUNDCARD & MIC: speech ware three in one / OS: Windows 7  home 64-bit  / PROCESSOR: i7 3720 QM, 2.6 GHz / RAM: 16GB

 01/23/2013 10:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Tiger Feet
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 1930
Joined: 12/04/2009

Originally posted by: silfan Thanks Chucker, I very much respect your expert recomendations. I am weary of relying on Microsoft Security Essentials, as from the reviews I have read it does not provide a particularly comprehensive protection - although obviously very good considering it is free. Great that you have never had problems with it. Silfan


Silfan,


I use Microsoft Security Essentials as well and have also never had a major problem.  I say never had a major problem, it has missed some malware in the past.  It is for this reason that alongside it I use, "malwarebytes" anti-malware (also free), 'Spybot search and destroy'(also free) & 'Spywareblaster' (also free and runs in the background).


Using the free versions you just need to make sure you run them around once a week (and Malwarebytes every day).


With this combination I have always found that what one misses, one of the others will find.  I have used this combination from the very existence of MSE and have never had a problem since.


Cheers



-------------------------

Tiger Feet

| DPG 15.6 | KnowBrainer 2017 | Windows  10 Professional /64 Bit | Intel® Core™ i9 Ten-Core Processor i9-10900K (3.7GHz) 20MB Cache |  32GB RAM. | 250GB SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS M.2, PCIe NVMe SSD (up to 3500MB/R, 2300MB/W) Boot Drive | 1TB SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS M.2, PCIe NVMe SSD (up to 3500MB/R, 3300MB/W) Storage Drive |



 01/23/2013 10:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Jomark
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 1501
Joined: 10/19/2006

Silfan,


I use Microsoft Security Essentials as well and have also never had a major problem.
I use, 'Spybot search and destroy'(also free) as well without any problem.



-------------------------

Jomark


 


DPI 15.61, KB2017, SpeechStart+, MS Office 2019 Professional, Windows 10 Pro

 01/23/2013 11:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Chucker
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 14123
Joined: 10/10/2006

Tiger & Jomark,

I really like Spybot Search and Destroy. The only problem that I have with it, and reason I don't use it, is because it is a resource hog and slow as molasses in January.

On the other hand, the only reason that Microsoft Security Essentials misses some things is because you periodically have to run a full scan as opposed to a quick scan or real-time scanning. If you periodically run a full scan, it pretty much catches everything. In my experience it uses less resources and is less intrusive and resource hungry than Spybot. Besides, too many additional utilities as far as antivirus, anti-malware, and anti-spyware is self-defeating. You might have better protection, but under some conditions, it makes your system run like you're running in water.

Chuck

"If the automobile had followed the same development cycle as the computer, a Rolls-Royce would today cost $100, get a million miles per gallon, and explode once a year, killing everyone inside." -- Robert X. Cringely



-------------------------

VoiceComputer: the only global speech interface.

The views, thoughts and opinions expressed in this post are my own and do not reflect those of VoiceTeach LLC.

Chuck Runquist
VoiceComputer technical support



 02/16/2014 07:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hansgutbrod
New Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 02/15/2014

old thread, but just wanted to share my experience that AVAST is not compatible with DNS. I had problems with DNS for years (slow, lag, etc) and thought the problem was with DNS, but then it turned out to be AVAST. It got a bit better when adding an exception, but still did not run well.

DNS got massively better when I deleted AVAST from my computer. The improvement was instant, so I am sure that this was connected. I thought I'd put this out there, in case anyone else runs into the problem.

Hans

-------------------------

-------------------------------------


Dragon 13, Windows 7 (64 Bit)


Intel Core i7 - 4600 CPU @ 2.10 GHz 2.70 GHz, 8 GB RAM


Sennheiser CC510

 02/17/2014 04:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Spoudason
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 209
Joined: 06/18/2011

Greetings. I do not wish to get into a battle over which antivirus software is best to use with Dragon. Like the previous post, I only want to express my experience. I have used avast! for about five years now. I am now using avast! Premier and found it to be completely compatible with Dragon NaturallySpeaking 12.5 and Windows Pro 8.1. I have never had any difficulty at all with any version of Dragon NaturallySpeaking and avast! I realize that each person may have difficulties that other people do not have, but that has been my experience. The biggest problems that I have had are the Microsoft Patch Tuesday security updates. They tend to mess with my sound system. I would recommend that if you are having problems with your antivirus software that you contact the people who provide the software. There may be a workaround available for you.
 02/18/2014 05:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


FootDoc
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 302
Joined: 10/03/2006

I use ESET with Dragon from versions 9-12.5 medical and professional and it has been just fine. I am up for renewal so maybe will check out MS product. Reviews are god but just not having much love for MS these days.

Larry
 02/18/2014 08:10 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 38115
Joined: 10/01/2006

Speaking of M-Tech recommendations:

M-Tech has recently removed Avast from their suggestion list in their support page. Apparently Avast can cause some major problems for their computers. M-Tech is additionally recommend against the use of Norton, AVG or Kaperski. M-Tech hasn't tested every antivirus utility but they are currently only recommending Microsoft Security Essentials and additionally recommending obtaining a good malware utility like Malwarebytes  



-------------------------

Forum Mission Statement
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ext 1



 03/24/2014 12:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KateM
Junior Member

Posts: 34
Joined: 03/24/2014

According to this: http://www.speakeasysolutions.com/blog/2011/04/26/antivirus-software-its-impact-on-a-computers-performance/  

Speakeasy Solutions Inc. has spent considerable time researching the leading antivirus applications available and has found ESET's NOD 32 (Smart Security) to be the most effective, the most configurable, and with the smallest affecting footprint on a computer system. It provides protection in email, while web surfing and of course general computer operation.

Does anyone have any advice re: what I need to get changed to work around Enterprise installation of McAffee?

Thanks



-------------------------


~ Kate



 03/24/2014 01:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Tiger Feet
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 1930
Joined: 12/04/2009

Does anyone have any advice re: what I need to get changed to work around Enterprise installation of McAffee?


Kate,


Could you just expand on exactly what you wish to do?  Are you saying that you have McAfee and that you want to know how to take it off your computer?


Cheers



-------------------------

Tiger Feet

| DPG 15.6 | KnowBrainer 2017 | Windows  10 Professional /64 Bit | Intel® Core™ i9 Ten-Core Processor i9-10900K (3.7GHz) 20MB Cache |  32GB RAM. | 250GB SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS M.2, PCIe NVMe SSD (up to 3500MB/R, 2300MB/W) Boot Drive | 1TB SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS M.2, PCIe NVMe SSD (up to 3500MB/R, 3300MB/W) Storage Drive |

 03/24/2014 03:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Chucker
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 14123
Joined: 10/10/2006

Kate,

The McAfee Enterprise Internet Security software requires that you go in and exclude everything and anything related to Dragon. Otherwise, that AV software will flag it and not allow you access to Dragon. If you're running it on a network and it was installed by your network IT people, you should contact them and let them configure it appropriately. This is one of the major problems with this software.

Chuck

Education is when you read the fine print. Experience is what you get if you don't. - Pete Seeger

-------------------------

VoiceComputer: the only global speech interface.

The views, thoughts and opinions expressed in this post are my own and do not reflect those of VoiceTeach LLC.

Chuck Runquist
VoiceComputer technical support

 04/01/2014 11:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Roger
Senior Member

Posts: 125
Joined: 10/12/2006

A computer company I am going to buy my computer from recommends these 2 for heavy Internet users:
http://www.webroot.com

http://www.eset.com/us/home/products/smart-security/

they say it doesn't use much resources. Anyone know anything about these 2?



-------------------------

I plan on using this computer: Intel Core i7 4771 Haswell 3.5GHz Quad 8 MB cache with HT, LGA1150: Z87 3x 16X PCIe, 2 PCIe 1x, 2 PCI, USB3, Sata 600, 16 GB DDR3 1600 LV CL11-11-11-28, OS Drive: SSD Samsung 256GB 840 Pro, Data Drive: 2TB 7200rpm Sata 600 64 MB Cache WD2002FAEX, Win 7 Pro 64-bit, Andrea USB Soundpod, Sennheiser ME 3, DNS Pro 13 using BestMatch V?



 04/02/2014 07:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TCXO
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 273
Joined: 06/29/2013

Hi Roger,

My $0.02
I like ESET NOD32 and MalwareBytes. My office IT person recommended these.
There is a free version of MalwareBytes. (I go with the pay version so I get updates automatically).
Enjoy your awesome new computer,

David



-------------------------

DMPE 4.3 (v15.5) | Lenovo ThinkPad P52 [Xeon E-2176M, 16GB DDR4] | Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon 6th [i7-8650U, 16GB LPDDR3] | Philips SMP4000 w/ ACC4100


"The greatness of a nation can be judged by the way its animals are treated." - Mahatma Gandhi



 04/05/2014 02:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Roger
Senior Member

Posts: 125
Joined: 10/12/2006

Hi David,

Thanks for your $.02! Although, I think your sense is worth more than $.02 :-)

 

 



-------------------------

I plan on using this computer: Intel Core i7 4771 Haswell 3.5GHz Quad 8 MB cache with HT, LGA1150: Z87 3x 16X PCIe, 2 PCIe 1x, 2 PCI, USB3, Sata 600, 16 GB DDR3 1600 LV CL11-11-11-28, OS Drive: SSD Samsung 256GB 840 Pro, Data Drive: 2TB 7200rpm Sata 600 64 MB Cache WD2002FAEX, Win 7 Pro 64-bit, Andrea USB Soundpod, Sennheiser ME 3, DNS Pro 13 using BestMatch V?

 04/14/2014 05:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
brainybanana
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 417
Joined: 08/27/2010


In the past I have used Kaspersky Internet Security, which worked really well, but from the perspective of Dragon, it has, indeed continues to cause NaturallySpeaking to crash after three minutes of dictation. I have also used Microsoft Security Essentials, without a problem. Now, I am forced to used Avast Internet Security, which I'm pleased to report for me at least, thus far, has created no problem with the performance of NaturallySpeaking. There is no latency; nor does NaturallySpeaking inexplicably lock-up, which for me is extremely important.
 



-------------------------

Dragon Professional Individual v15, Windows 7, Intel Core i7 3630QM, 16GB of RAM. At home: SpeechWare 6-in-1. Travelling: FlexyMike SEC with Buddy 7 Soundcard.

 04/14/2014 09:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Spoudason
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 209
Joined: 06/18/2011

I realize that this subject is a matter of experience and usage, but I have used avast! Internet Security for many years with no difficulty regarding Dragon NaturallySpeaking. The free version has the same basic features as the paid version. I am now using Avast! Premier. It works extremely well with Dragon. That is merely my testimony. Usage may vary.

 06/11/2014 04:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KateM
Junior Member

Posts: 34
Joined: 03/24/2014

Pasting this related info from response in another post to help complete the thread re: McAffee Exceptions I should ask IT security to create:

Originally posted by: Chucker ....McAfee has always been both the bane and the bastard of Internet security software. I've had to fight the battle with corporations that require McAfee. However, if you can come to a reasonable understanding with your corporate IT folks, you should ask them to make exceptions for the following: C:\Program Files (x86)\Nuance\NaturallySpeaking12 (and all subfolders) C:\ProgramData\Nuance\NaturallySpeaking12 (and all subfolders - this is the most critical) processes: natspeak.exe DgnSvc.exe DGN UI Automation Server (dgnserver.exe) - only for Windows 7 64-bit (handles 32-bit standard applications under Windows 7 64-bit) DGN UI Automation Server (dgnserver_x64.exe) - only for Windows 7 64-bit (handles 64-bit applications under Windows 7 64-bit and supports Dragon NaturallySpeaking under Windows 64 bit) Everyone thought that the acquisition of McAfee by Intel would improve things, particularly because Intel is thoroughly familiar with Dragon NaturallySpeaking and has been since 1998. However, it seems that Intel has only made things worse. Chuck



-------------------------


~ Kate

 06/24/2014 01:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Handyman
New Member

Posts: 17
Joined: 08/16/2013

Chuck, If I switch to Microsoft's security essentials, do I need to uninstall the McAfee antivirus program that I'm using first? I use AVG on my desktop computer and McAfee on my laptop, however after I read your post and it made me want to switch both of my computer because you seem to know your stuff. Do you recommend I do this?

I'm ashamed to admit that I've been in a wheelchair for 13 years now and I really know nothing about computers because I'm afraid to mess with mine for the fear of breaking it.

Also, thank you for answering my question about Yahoo news the other day. I'm still unable to read any articles.

Do you have to click on your user when you're starting Dragon? Every time we open my laptop I have to have somebody click on Dragon NaturallySpeaking and then click on my username to get things going.



-------------------------

Tom Davis

KnowBrainer Speech Recognition » Computer Issues / Recommendations » Recomended Anti-Virus Software

1 2 Next Last unread
Statistics
31827 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 398 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 402 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.