KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Some questions regarding accuracy correction
Topic Summary: Correction best practices
Created On: 09/20/2021 08:13 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Keyword
 09/20/2021 08:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Elvis143BRA
New Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/20/2021

This is my first time using the forum, so bear with me. I have Dragon 15.6 and a Fifine K670 (microphone). Program works great for me. Just needed a lot of training since English is my second language, even though I do speak it well.

I have some questions regarding correcting mistakes made by the program.

1. When there's a mistake, a lot of times I select the wrong part with my mouse and just dictate over. I've always thought that doesn't influence anything at all on how I make the program better understand me, but recently I noticed that a pop-up notification shows up every time I do that. It usually says 'Select' followed by what I selected with the mouse. My question is: is this something I should keep doing or avoiding? Do I actually change the correction code every time I do that like it happens when I use 'Correct that'?

2. If I make a wrong correction, is there any way I can revert it and fix it, or is the only way to do that by correcting it the next time it shows up?

3. I unticked a box which made it so the program was always recording (in .dra files) all of my recordings. Does that lower the accuracy of the program or does it make correction more difficult?

Thanks in advance.

 09/20/2021 09:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cesmd40831
Power Member

Posts: 79
Joined: 04/04/2018

https://www.knowbrainer.com/downloads/KnowBrainer_public_toolbox.PDF
Easiest way: Procure all of your software from Lunis Orcutt / KnowBrainer
Dragon Third-Party Utilities:
  KnowBrainer 2017
  DragonCapture
Dragon & DMPE Training / Installation Manual: read it couple of times, then once every 2-4 weeks, then every 2-4 months

https://www.knowbrainer.com/forums/forum/
L column
"SEARCH THE FORUMS"... enter whatever question you have... it's likely been answered by several forum members.

If you can't find answers go to "KnowBrainer Speech Recognition" WINDOW, top Right "~menu bar" NEW TOPIC like you did to start THIS thread

Carl E. Smith, M.D., F.A.A.P.
DMPE 4.3.1(.1?) Build 15.51.350.021 (Updated 09/06/2021)
KnowBrainer 2017 Version 4.51.000, Build 08-19-2021 (Updated 09/06/2021)
DragonCapture Build 1.0.3698 (12/16/2020)
Philips SpeechMike LFH3500/00 Premium
Dell OptiPlex 7080, Reg Model/Type D15S001, Intel Core i7-10700, CPU@2.90GHz, 2.90GHz [Cores 8] [Logical processors 16], RAM 32.0GB, 512 GB Micron 2300 NVMe SSD (01/2021)
Windows 10 19042.1110, E Pack 120.2212.3530.0 (as of 08/11/2021)
ViewSonic 1920 x 1080
MedInformatix EMR (since 01/20/2003): Version 7.6.8.20 (since 01/20/2003



-------------------------

DMPE 4.3 Build 15.50.200.030 {04/07/2020}, KnowBrainer 2017 Build 01/01/2021, DragonCapture Build 1.0.3698 {12/16/2020}, Philips SpeechMike LFH3500/00 Premium, Dell OptiPlex 3040 Intel Core i7-6700, CPU@3.408GHz, 3.41GHz, RAM 16.0GB, Windows 10 Pro V1809 64-bit OS, x64-based processor Build 17763.864, 01/20/2003 MedInformatix EMR V7.6.8.20 as of 12/16/2020



 09/20/2021 09:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Alan Cantor
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 4185
Joined: 12/08/2007

My impression is that correcting errors improves Dragon's accuracy a little, but not significantly.

What you're already doing is fine.

If you occasionally correct something in the wrong way, don't worry. The effect on accuracy is minuscule -- maybe even non-existent.

Not recording your dictation sessions won't affect accuracy.
 09/21/2021 07:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Elvis143BRA
New Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/20/2021

I correct everything I can. Since English is my second language, I had no idea if the program would ever work well for me. I tried version 13 with an older microphone I had and it was just bad. Version 15.6 and my new microphone make the experience with the program a lot better.

I've seen loads of improvement by correcting the mistakes using the 'Correct that' command and adding custom senteces in the Vocabulary.

I agree that choosing the wrong correction option sometimes doesn't seem to affect the accuracy of the program much.  Just wish there was an option to go back and choose the right one.

Statistics
32177 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 408 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 409 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2021 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.