KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Expand on a Windows 10 Pro ShortCut
Topic Summary: Execute a file
Created On: 07/05/2020 05:38 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Keyword
 07/05/2020 05:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Robert Snow
Senior Member

Posts: 122
Joined: 04/18/2017

I am trying to expand on macro I have created using a Windows 10 Pro shortcut. The program is Opus which will open up my Lister-Layout.

 

Opus is my replacement for File Explore. When shortcut is executed it displays two windows instead of one pluss much more. It allows me to display two Windows and determine which one is active when it opens. Hence the ability to do the following:
A:\UTY\Opus\dopusrt.exe /cmd Prefs LAYOUT=Message

It opens my Opus-Lister with the folder that contains the file "message.db" active.

 

With the above I would like to expand the shortcut but with Dragon V15.3, as a command.

 

I would like to expand on this to execute "message.db". This will open my program called "CiintaNotes", displaying the proper file.

 

Example Windows 10 Pro ShortCut:
Step1 - A:\UTY\Opus\dopusrt.exe /cmd Prefs LAYOUT=Message(Opens Lister Layout called Message)
Step2 - Exacute "message.db" (which opens CintaNotes)

 

CintaNotes Location - A:\PRG\Notes\CintaNotes\CintaNotes.exe
message.db Location - A:\PRG\Notes\CintaNotes\DB\!Message\Message.db Note: Any file with *.db opens up associated program called CintaNotes
Opus Location - A:\UTY\Opus\dopusrt.exe

 

I would like to do this with Dragon 12.3. I need help please.
Bob



-------------------------

Robert Snow
Germantown, WI



 07/07/2020 01:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mav
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 426
Joined: 10/02/2008

I don't think I really understand what you're writing about "Opus", but you can run a program with arguments in a step-by-step command.

If you want to open a given file, you have to run the application associated with this file type and give the file path as argument.

Or you use "cmd.exe" as program and use

/c "start PATH_TO_YOUR_FILE"

as argument to open the file with its standard application.

This works for URLs too, btw.:

cmd.exe /c "start http://www.google.com"

opens Google in your default browser.

 

Hth,

mav

 

 07/07/2020 07:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Robert Snow
Senior Member

Posts: 122
Joined: 04/18/2017

I tried the following:

 

Target: A:\PRG\Notes\CintaNotes\cintanotes.exe (I tried with and without Cintanotes.exe)
Target: /c "A:\PRG\Notes\CintaNotes"
Target: /c A:\PRG\Notes\CintaNotes
Startin: cmd.exe A:\PRG\Notes\CintaNotes
Startin: cmd.exe A:\PRG\Notes\CintaNotes.exe
I few other ways also.

 

I have no idea what the "/c" will do. Also adding the cmd.exe in the front of the line. cmd.erxe probably is associated with executing CintaNotes in some way. Of course, that's only my guess.

 

My executable file is in (A:\PRG\Notes\CintaNotes.exe)
My associated files are located in (A:\PRG\Notes\CintaNotes\DB\AT&T\AT&T.db)

 

If I click on file AT&T.db it will open the program CintaNotes. DB extension is associated with the program CintaNotes.

 

But I rather execute with a Dragon voice command.
Bob



-------------------------

Robert Snow
Germantown, WI



 07/08/2020 02:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mav
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 426
Joined: 10/02/2008

The /c switch tells cmd.exe (that's the executable of the Windows command line/shell) to execute the given command and then quit.

 

Try this:

Open a command line and then enter (exactly like this!):

start "A:\PRG\Notes\CintaNotes\DB\AT&T\AT&T.db"

This should open your file with OPUS, as long as .db files are associated with OPUS.

Please note that the quotes are absolutely neccessary because you have used the special character '&' in your path. Without the quotes cmd.exe thinks everything behind & is a new command.

I guess this special path has kept you from opening the file so far.

 

You can even try to just give the path to your .db file as target in your Open... command step. I've tried it with a file named C:\temp\AT&T\AT&T.txt and it correctly opened the editor associated with .txt files.

 

 06/21/2021 11:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Robert Snow
Senior Member

Posts: 122
Joined: 04/18/2017

I going over this old topic I started. You might have my answer. I saw this after I posted the following topic:

Using /cmd Prefs to open a LayOut

thanks for the help.

Bob



-------------------------

Robert Snow
Germantown, WI

 06/21/2021 11:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Robert Snow
Senior Member

Posts: 122
Joined: 04/18/2017

I tried this and it did not like syntax, Manage Custom Commands.

Sub Main
AppBringUp "C:\Program Files\GPSoftware\Directory Opus\DOpusRT.exe" /c Prefs LAYOUT="vCarve-OneNote-WasteBoard"
End Sub

The developer of Opus subjected I use the following code.
Sub Main
AppBringUp "C:\Program Files\GPSoftware\Directory Opus\DOpusRT.exe" /cmd Prefs LAYOUT="vCarve-OneNote-WasteBoard"
End Sub

Opus is the Program & "vCarve-OneNote-WasteBoard" is the Lister that should open.

You can see the details at the following Site.
Leo Directory Opus Developer

Bob



-------------------------

Robert Snow
Germantown, WI

 06/22/2021 01:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 39257
Joined: 10/01/2006

Try creating an Advanced-Scripting command as follows:

 

Sub Main

AppBringUp "C:\Program Files\GPSoftware\Directory Opus\DOpusRT.exe"

End Sub



-------------------------

Change "No" to "Know" w/KnowBrainer 2020
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ex 1

 06/22/2021 03:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Robert Snow
Senior Member

Posts: 122
Joined: 04/18/2017

It opens with DOpus.exe not with DOpusRT.exe. I had gotten this far already. But my problem is opening a Lister for the opening program, Opus. 

The Opus develper sujested the following:
Sub Main
AppBringUp "C:\Program Files\GPSoftware\Directory Opus\DOpusRT.exe" /cmd Prefs LAYOUT="vCarve-OneNote-WasteBoard"
End Sub

I think my current problem is converting what the Opus Developer suggested as a workable solution to the current language amusing.

Bob



-------------------------

Robert Snow
Germantown, WI

Statistics
32133 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 365 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 367 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2021 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.