KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Dragon to enter text in Facebook through Chrome.
Topic Summary: Facebook in Chrome
Created On: 10/16/2020 07:36 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 Dragon to enter text in Facebook through Chrome.   - LynnA - 10/16/2020 07:36 PM  
 Dragon to enter text in Facebook through Chrome.   - Matt_Chambers - 10/16/2020 07:39 PM  
 Dragon to enter text in Facebook through Chrome.   - dilligence - 10/16/2020 08:04 PM  
 Dragon to enter text in Facebook through Chrome.   - monkey8 - 10/17/2020 05:21 AM  
 Dragon to enter text in Facebook through Chrome.   - Matt_Chambers - 10/17/2020 11:21 AM  
 Dragon to enter text in Facebook through Chrome.   - Lunis Orcutt - 10/17/2020 02:28 PM  
 Dragon to enter text in Facebook through Chrome.   - R. Wilke - 10/18/2020 08:11 AM  
 Dragon to enter text in Facebook through Chrome.   - Lunis Orcutt - 10/18/2020 01:12 PM  
 Dragon to enter text in Facebook through Chrome.   - Lunis Orcutt - 10/18/2020 01:20 PM  
 Dragon to enter text in Facebook through Chrome.   - R. Wilke - 10/18/2020 02:42 PM  
 Dragon to enter text in Facebook through Chrome.   - Lunis Orcutt - 10/18/2020 05:35 PM  
Keyword
 10/16/2020 07:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LynnA
New Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 10/16/2020

I am trying to use Dragon to send messages in Facebook (through Chrome) in windows. The text appears  but cannot be posted.  I can't use my hands... ANy suggestions?

 10/16/2020 07:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Matt_Chambers
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 272
Joined: 08/09/2018

I've had a similar problem in Brave, which is also based on Chromium. I thin you need to use the Dictation Box, rather than dictating directly into Chrome.
 10/16/2020 08:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dilligence
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 1158
Joined: 08/16/2010

Both SP 6 Standard and SP 6 PRO have a convenient Send Message command for Facebook and messaging programs which Transfers and Sends your message via the SP Dictation Boxes.



-------------------------

www.speechproductivity.eu 


Fast Add-ons for Dragon Professional - Easy Guide to Dragon Scripting

 10/17/2020 05:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
monkey8
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 3600
Joined: 01/14/2008

It's because those webpages don't recognise dictated input directly from Dragon, all you need to do at the end of what you have dictated is enter a real keystroke hands-free by voice e.g. "press full stop", press space". Then it will recognise the text fine and you will be able to send it.



-------------------------

 10/17/2020 11:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Matt_Chambers
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 272
Joined: 08/09/2018

Originally posted by: monkey8 It's because those webpages don't recognise dictated input directly from Dragon, all you need to do at the end of what you have dictated is enter a real keystroke hands-free by voice e.g. "press full stop", press space". Then it will recognise the text fine and you will be able to send it.

 

thanks, Lindsay! Interesting solution. This also works for me dictating in iTunes.

 10/17/2020 02:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 38137
Joined: 10/01/2006

                   Welcome (See Mission Statement)

 

The KnowBrainer Print <dictation> command will allow you to directly dictate into Facebook without having to cut and paste from a Dictation Box or other utility. You won't have to pause and say spacebar either. You will only have to begin each phrase with the word “Print” .



-------------------------

Forum Mission Statement
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ext 1

 10/18/2020 08:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
R. Wilke
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 7279
Joined: 03/04/2007

Lunis, I don't do Facebook, but wouldn't DragonCapture also work, and perhaps a little more conveniently, when used in TypeMode, which is the default?



-------------------------



No need to buy if all you want to do is try ...

DragonCapture KB Download (Latest)
DragonCapture Homepage



 10/18/2020 01:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 38137
Joined: 10/01/2006

Unfortunately, Direct Facebook dictation is nearly impossible with any utility. The following includes our testing:


Begin by left mouse clicking on #1. When you dictate “this is a test” with Dragon (if it actually works) or DragonCapture you can barely make it out because it is blocked by the original “What's on your mind, Orcutt?” text in #2. If you say press spacebar, in #3, everything clears up but when you attempt to dictate “which didn't work”, your cursor will be moved to beginning and you will see the following in #4. In #5 we used the KnowBrainer Print <this is a test> command, paused and then dictated Print <which worked>. The negative side of this approach is having to use a trigger command but it's the only way we could directly dictate.


Additional notes: Even though Microsoft Edge is Dragon friendly, Facebook is not so you may or may not be able to dictate; not that it would make any difference. If you disable Dragon's HTML feature or the browser extension, you can pretty much DragonCapture directly dictate anywhere, except Facebook. You can only use DragonCapture or a Dictation Box (in semi automatic mode) where you can transfer your dictation but the only way we can find to directly input text is by physically typing or utilizing the Print <dictation> command. Facebook clearly didn't think about dictation utilities or those with physical disabilities. If anyone pointed out the ADA (Americans With Disabilities Act) it might be possible to shame Facebook into speech recognition compliance. We would start with the “public accommodations” chapter... hint hint

 



-------------------------

Forum Mission Statement
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ext 1

 10/18/2020 01:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 38137
Joined: 10/01/2006

Update: For anyone who is not using KnowBrainer but wishes to add this functionality to Dragon, feel free to copy the following script as a Dragon Advanced-Scripting command:

 



-------------------------

Forum Mission Statement
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ext 1

 10/18/2020 02:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
R. Wilke
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 7279
Joined: 03/04/2007

Lunis, kind of odd that DragonCapture, by itself, won't do this, as it already simulates keystrokes in the default settings. It would be as easy as pie to get it to, but that would mean having to add another option, of which I am extremely weary. DragonCapture isn't meant to come with a load of options, deliberately, and isn't meant to be "fancy", and this is the bottom line.

As a developer, you can always address issues by adding even more code, and some of the resident scripters would happily agree, but you only start to shine if you manage to solve it by redoing what you already have, even if it means having to start from scratch.

-------------------------



No need to buy if all you want to do is try ...

DragonCapture KB Download (Latest)
DragonCapture Homepage

 10/18/2020 05:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 38137
Joined: 10/01/2006

Lindsay came up with the missing ingredient which we didn't even realize was already in KnowBrainer. The only part DragonCapture is missing is inserting a {Space} at the end of the dictation. Adding this to DragonCapture would be simple enough but probably risky in other situations.

-------------------------

Forum Mission Statement
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ext 1

Statistics
31833 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 581 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 582 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.