KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Error 1722 + general colapse of Dragon 15.3.00
Topic Summary: do I reinstall w new mic?
Created On: 10/02/2020 08:51 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 Error 1722 + general colapse of Dragon 15.3.00   - GeorgetheWriter - 10/02/2020 08:51 PM  
 Error 1722 + general colapse of Dragon 15.3.00   - R. Wilke - 10/02/2020 09:04 PM  
 Error 1722 + general colapse of Dragon 15.3.00   - GeorgetheWriter - 10/02/2020 09:36 PM  
 Error 1722 + general colapse of Dragon 15.3.00   - GeorgetheWriter - 10/02/2020 10:47 PM  
 Error 1722 + general colapse of Dragon 15.3.00   - R. Wilke - 10/03/2020 05:00 AM  
 Error 1722 + general colapse of Dragon 15.3.00   - GeorgetheWriter - 10/03/2020 08:55 AM  
 Error 1722 + general colapse of Dragon 15.3.00   - R. Wilke - 10/03/2020 09:13 AM  
 Error 1722 + general colapse of Dragon 15.3.00   - GeorgetheWriter - 10/03/2020 06:07 PM  
 Error 1722 + general colapse of Dragon 15.3.00   - Lunis Orcutt - 10/03/2020 06:22 PM  
 Error 1722 + general colapse of Dragon 15.3.00   - GeorgetheWriter - 10/03/2020 06:33 PM  
 Error 1722 + general colapse of Dragon 15.3.00: ALL IS WELL NOW   - GeorgetheWriter - 10/16/2020 10:18 AM  
Keyword
 10/02/2020 08:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


GeorgetheWriter
Junior Member

Posts: 28
Joined: 08/29/2010

(Using HP Pavilion laptop, Windows 10 Home 10.0.19041 build 19041)

Without warning and for no apparent reason, today Dragon 15.3.00 stopped working. Recognition accuracy collapsed. “Wake up” and “go to sleep” unrecognized. Ran ‘Check microphone’; got ‘level too low’ and ‘level too high’ within seconds of each other. Changed (Radio Shack 33-3012) microphone battery. Changed to another RatShack 33-3012 mic. Still NG.

Ran Dragon 15 Repair off the original Install DVD.  Twice.  Got this error message both times.:

 '1?) Dragon Installer Information       X

I

Error 1722.There is a problem with this Windows Installer package. A program run as part of the setup did not finish as expected. Contact your support personnel or package vendor. Action GenerateModelslni, location: C: \Program Files (x86) \Nuance NaturallySpeaking 15 ',Program

 

Of course I’m under the gun to produce the October newsletter of the NJ Audio Society (I’m editor), so there is time pressure.

Should I uninstall/remove Dragon 15 and reinstall?  At least I saved my current vocabulary list to a .txt file.

And maybe buy a new headset microphone (Audio Technica Pro 8HEMW KB) from Lunis?

 George, NJ, USA

 

 



-------------------------

George Witterschein Mendham NJ USA

 10/02/2020 09:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
R. Wilke
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 7279
Joined: 03/04/2007

The error message when running the installer has nothing to do with the microphone. The message is misleading also. It comes up because you first installed 15.0 off the DVD (full install), and then installed the patch to 15.3, which cannot not be repaired, because it is not a full install.

You need to uninstall Dragon first via the control panel, then reinstall 15.0, and then run the patch to 15.3. Take good care of your user profile, better export it first.

-------------------------



No need to buy if all you want to do is try ...

DragonCapture KB Download (Latest)
DragonCapture Homepage

 10/02/2020 09:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


GeorgetheWriter
Junior Member

Posts: 28
Joined: 08/29/2010

Thanks, Mr. Wilke!

 

Your Reply is crisp & clear.

 

Will do as you suggest unless I see other advice coming in later.

 

George



-------------------------

George Witterschein Mendham NJ USA

 10/02/2020 10:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


GeorgetheWriter
Junior Member

Posts: 28
Joined: 08/29/2010

Problems with "export user profile":

The option I see is not "export profile" but save profile". Is there a difference?

Also, when I try to "save profile I get en error message (see attached jpg scrnshot).

Your advice?

 

George

 






-------------------------

George Witterschein Mendham NJ USA

 10/03/2020 05:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
R. Wilke
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 7279
Joined: 03/04/2007

That one is a classic, and a major pain in the neck. It is equally misleading as the message previously mentioned, and most of all, the solution suggested in the error message is very far in the left-field.

It only happens during saving the profile, and the real solution involves a little manual interaction.

If it comes up, escape the message, open File Explorer, and locate the second path mentioned in the message, therefore "C:\ProgramData\Nuance\Dragon15\Users\WendyWitt" in this case. Keep in mind that the folder is hidden by default.

In this folder, you can safely delete the subfolder starting with "tb", which stands for "temporary backup", and while you are there and if there are anymore folders starting with "t", you may delete them as well. These folders are created temporarily by Dragon during saving the profile, and they should be empty by the time Dragon needs to access them in order to copy the file also mentioned in the message. Due to a timing issue, they may not be empty, therefore the message.

Anyway, just delete the folder(s) starting with "t", close File Explorer (this is important!), and try to save the profile again. That will work.

To export the profile, go to "Manage User Profiles", select the profile, and go to "Advanced -> Export". Then follow the prompts. Choose a location other than the default. A USB drive always comes in handy.



-------------------------



No need to buy if all you want to do is try ...

DragonCapture KB Download (Latest)
DragonCapture Homepage



 10/03/2020 08:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


GeorgetheWriter
Junior Member

Posts: 28
Joined: 08/29/2010

Mr. Wilke:

 

   The inevitable followup question:

 

   There are also 't' folders --('ts,' tt', 'ttm') in a subfolder under "C:\ProgramData\Nuance\Dragon15\Users\WendyWitt" named "\backup".  

 

   Delete those too?

  George

 

  PS With your answer I should be ready to do a Windows uninstall of DNS 15 and then re-install from the original DVD.  I guess that's what I'll be doing with my Saturday.

PS # 2 BTW I'm a (semi-retired) professional writer in the IT industry.  I wrote award-winning software manuals for the likes of Citibank in NY City.   Permit me to praise you for the excellence, the superb clarity, of your writing in the posts here.



-------------------------

George Witterschein Mendham NJ USA

 10/03/2020 09:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
R. Wilke
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 7279
Joined: 03/04/2007

George, the backup subfolder is not as critical, as the name indicates, it is a backup of the current profile maintained by Dragon and routinely updated, by the default settings every fifth time the user profile is saved. Since your backup may also have become affected already, you might also want to create a new backup manually, thus overwriting the previous one, after you manage saving the user profile successfully, by going to "Backup User Profile", for good measure. Keeping your user profile clean and shiny is always recommended.

Enjoy your Saturday :-)

For any further assistance, and to make sure that you will be up and running, I guess I will be around and come back occasionally for the rest of the day, which, over here, has already reached 3 PM.

Thanks also for the very kind compliment, and sure I wouldn't mind being mentioned favourably. More often than not, I don't get that kind of treatment, not even at home. :-)

 

Rüdiger



-------------------------



No need to buy if all you want to do is try ...

DragonCapture KB Download (Latest)
DragonCapture Homepage



 10/03/2020 06:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


GeorgetheWriter
Junior Member

Posts: 28
Joined: 08/29/2010

R:

Folllowed all your steps , Wndows-uninstalled DNS 15 and reinstalled.  

Could not find patch to upgrde to 15.3 so haven't done that yet.

Lots of problems getting DNS 15.00.000.076 to respond and work normally… Then I imported the User Profile I Exported prior to uninstall, closed and reopened DNS 15 several times and Dragon seems to be working  normally now.

As of now, I'm OK running DNS 15.00.000.076.

Do I still want to upgrade to 15.3 before attempting anything else? If yes, where is that patch?  I searched for it on this site and didn't find it.  

George



-------------------------

George Witterschein Mendham NJ USA

 10/03/2020 06:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 38137
Joined: 10/01/2006

Dragon NEVER makes a patch unless it is absolutely critical because it bites into their profit margins. Use Dragon's Check for Updates menu to download and install the Ver. 15.3 patch or contact us Support@KnowBrainer.com privately. You are going to run into all kinds of problems using 15.0



-------------------------

Forum Mission Statement
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ext 1

 10/03/2020 06:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


GeorgetheWriter
Junior Member

Posts: 28
Joined: 08/29/2010

Thanks!

Just privately emailed support@knowbrainer.com asking for the patch.

George

 



-------------------------

George Witterschein Mendham NJ USA

 10/16/2020 10:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


GeorgetheWriter
Junior Member

Posts: 28
Joined: 08/29/2010

I have to say that as sometimes happens in this life, what starts out as a problem soon progresses to a better-than-ever solution!

Thanks to excellent software advice from Rüdiger, and to equivalent excellent advice from Lunis Orcutt of KnowBrainer about a replacement microphone, I'm now really enjoying using DNS 15.3. Here's the review I left on the Better Business Bureau review site for KnowBrainer.com:

Just a quick word to let you know that I'm back from Vermont and chose this afternoon to install my Audio-Technica Pro 8 microphone and Andrea Full-Duplex PureAudio USB Soundcard. 

The install went very smoothly, in part thanks to your KnowBrainer installation guide, in part thanks to good product design by Audio-Technica.

I must add that the recognition accuracy is night-and-day-better than anything I've ever had before.

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! You and your company are a marvel.

George W,  NJ USA

Just to clarify, the software advice from Rüdiger got me up and running again with DNS 15.3 after everything collapsed and wouldn't work, and the new microphone-soundcard combo I bought from Lunis/KnowBrainer really has everything humming. Couldn't be happier!

 

 

 



-------------------------

George Witterschein Mendham NJ USA

Statistics
31833 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 649 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 651 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.