KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: English plus German profiles?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/25/2019 01:55 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 English plus German profiles?   - Tremulous Tetra - 09/25/2019 01:55 PM  
 English plus German profiles?   - Lunis Orcutt - 09/25/2019 05:54 PM  
 English plus German profiles?   - Tremulous Tetra - 09/29/2019 11:46 AM  
 English plus German profiles?   - Lunis Orcutt - 09/29/2019 03:30 PM  
 English plus German profiles?   - R. Wilke - 09/29/2019 12:31 PM  
 English plus German profiles?   - Tremulous Tetra - 09/30/2019 08:54 AM  
 English plus German profiles?   - R. Wilke - 09/30/2019 12:03 PM  
Keyword
 09/25/2019 01:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Tremulous Tetra
Advanced Member

Posts: 167
Joined: 10/09/2014

I have Dragon professional 15 loaded with an English language. It has been upgraded to 15.3 with the upgrade software. Is it possible now for me to have my 2 profiles for English, and another profile for German? In other words, now I have the 2 English profiles which have been using for a year or 2, can I now install the German language features, and create a profile which I can use along with the 2 English. I want to switch between languages.

Any advice appreciated, Tremulous Tetra. :-)



-------------------------

Been using computers since 1985 paralysed from the neck down. I have 64-bit Windows 10 professional, DPI 15.3, I7-7500U CPU 2.7/2.9GHz, 16 GB RAM.

 09/25/2019 05:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 37997
Joined: 10/01/2006

If you installed Dragon German, you can create as many user profiles as you have room for on your computer, in both languages.

 



-------------------------

Forum Mission Statement
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ext 1

 09/29/2019 11:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Tremulous Tetra
Advanced Member

Posts: 167
Joined: 10/09/2014

I haven't installed German. I've been running with an English installation for about 2 years. So would I have to start again from scratch, installed both English and German?

Any advice appreciated, Tremulous Tetra. :-)


-------------------------

Been using computers since 1985 paralysed from the neck down. I have 64-bit Windows 10 professional, DPI 15.3, I7-7500U CPU 2.7/2.9GHz, 16 GB RAM.

 09/29/2019 03:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 37997
Joined: 10/01/2006

If you originally purchased the English version of DPI 15, you don't need to uninstall it. Just install the German version over the top of the English version. Assuming that both editions of the same version, this should work. If not, uninstall the English version before installing German.



-------------------------

Forum Mission Statement
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ext 1

 09/29/2019 12:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
R. Wilke
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 7229
Joined: 03/04/2007

Which particular versions in terms of languages do you actually have?

-------------------------



No need to buy if all you want to do is try ...

DragonCapture KB Download (Latest)
DragonCapture Homepage

 09/30/2019 08:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Tremulous Tetra
Advanced Member

Posts: 167
Joined: 10/09/2014

ah, I realise where I'm going wrong now. When I 1st tried to run Dragon to reinstall, I didn't select the correct file on my hard disk, so I was asking the question blind. I've just managed to run the program properly, and realise that the German language pack is not part of the English edition of DPI 15. I've realised I will have to buy DPI 15.

I am learning German, and it has occurred to me that being able to use a speech recognition program would greatly enhance my learning process. If I purchased an old version of Dragon NaturallySpeaking in German, could I load that as a separate program to DPI?

Any advice appreciated, Tremulous Tetra. :-)


-------------------------

Been using computers since 1985 paralysed from the neck down. I have 64-bit Windows 10 professional, DPI 15.3, I7-7500U CPU 2.7/2.9GHz, 16 GB RAM.

 09/30/2019 12:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
R. Wilke
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 7229
Joined: 03/04/2007

I am learning German, and it has occurred to me that being able to use a speech recognition program would greatly enhance my learning process.


That is most definitely true. You might as well consider Dragon to be the equivalent of a native speaker indicating whether what you said was correct.

If I purchased an old version of Dragon NaturallySpeaking in German, could I load that as a separate program to DPI?


That won't work unfortunately. In order to install a 2nd language on top of an existing one, it must be of the same version and edition. Your best bet would have been, and still would be, to get German DPI 15 which includes both German and English.

-------------------------



No need to buy if all you want to do is try ...

DragonCapture KB Download (Latest)
DragonCapture Homepage

Statistics
31793 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 612 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 616 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.