KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Is my PC really too slow for Dragon?
Topic Summary: PC running at 1.6GHz - constantly crashing
Created On: 04/22/2020 09:37 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 Is my PC really too slow for Dragon?   - waveydavey - 04/22/2020 09:37 AM  
 Is my PC really too slow for Dragon?   - Scribe - 04/22/2020 09:59 AM  
 Is my PC really too slow for Dragon?   - R. Wilke - 04/22/2020 12:56 PM  
 Is my PC really too slow for Dragon?   - Lunis Orcutt - 04/22/2020 01:36 PM  
 Is my PC really too slow for Dragon?   - cripp7 - 08/12/2020 04:43 PM  
 Is my PC really too slow for Dragon?   - Lunis Orcutt - 08/13/2020 01:39 AM  
Keyword
 04/22/2020 09:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
waveydavey
New Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/22/2020

Hello

I'm trying to run Dragon 15 on a slowish machine - its processor (an i3) runs at 1.6 GHz. It's crashing a lot. I sent the error logs to Dragon, who stated that this was down to processor speed. I'm aware that their minimum system requirement is 2.2GHz, but would this really account for the problems? I've had differing advice from 'experts', some of whom have told me that Dragon would run slow on my PC, but wouldn't keep crapping out on me.
I'd rather not have to buy a new PC, but if I need to, I'd like to know asap!
thanks
David

 04/22/2020 09:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Scribe
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 364
Joined: 04/02/2010

See my answer on your other thread.

-------------------------

The woman who dueled with Aaron Burr and won: www.MmeJumel.com


Crohn's News Blog: www.crohns-news.net

 04/22/2020 12:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
R. Wilke
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 7229
Joined: 03/04/2007

If you managed to install DPI 15 on the machine, you should be good to go, as regards hardware, to begin with. But there are so many other things to consider, and what does "crashing" actually mean?

In other words, more information is required. And of course, having a more powerful system won't hurt.

As an aside, I would take any feedback from a user who is still on DNS 11.5, like Srcibe, answering a question related to DPI 15 with a grain of salt. But this is just my personal take on it. (Awaiting another shitstorm...)



-------------------------



No need to buy if all you want to do is try ...

DragonCapture KB Download (Latest)
DragonCapture Homepage

 04/22/2020 01:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 37997
Joined: 10/01/2006

                    Welcome to the World's Only Speech Recognition Forum


You have not yet filled out your member profile which we added for good reason. For example, you haven't told us how much RAM is in your i3. 4 Gb is a little too minimal and anything less may work but is unacceptable. 
We recommend 16 Gb of RAM (8 Gb minimum) for most end-users; 32 Gb of RAM or more for power users. We prefer Intel i9, i7, i5 or AMD equivalent processors. Note that DPI 15.3/DPG 15.5/DMPE 4.3 require notably less processing power than previous Dragon releases. 


SSD (solid-state hard drives) have recently become much more affordable and recommended over traditional HDDs. We recommend 512 Gb SSD (256 Gb minimum) or larger. 


Did you remember to patch Dragon 15.0 so that you are running Ver. 15.3? Dragon 15 is also a bit of a misnomer. It would be better to tell us exactly what version and edition of Dragon you are using. Example: Home Edition 15 or DPI 15.3. In our opinion, Home Edition is more or less a Dragon appetizer and down the road, even more expensive than DPI 15 because it cannot be upgraded.

Neither Home Edition 15 or DPI 15.3 are fully compliant with the latest version of Office 365; especially in Outlook and Excel, which can cause Dragon to freeze.

When you say crash, to you mean that your Windows is crashing, Dragon is crashing or freezing for about 30 seconds?



-------------------------

Forum Mission Statement
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ext 1

 08/12/2020 04:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cripp7
Senior Member

Posts: 106
Joined: 07/31/2010

On the Intel core i3-i7 processors, most laptops use the 2 core version instead of the 4-6 cores. To the multiple cores play a part in that also?

-------------------------

 


 


 


 


 08/13/2020 01:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 37997
Joined: 10/01/2006

The short answer is no but it depends on how many apps are running in your computer. In most situations you won't notice any difference.



-------------------------

Forum Mission Statement
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ext 1

Statistics
31793 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 727 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 727 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.