KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Won't Transcribe
Topic Summary: Using My OLympus ds-3400 but can't transcribe
Created On: 10/11/2011 06:26 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 Won't Transcribe   - lloydgarver - 10/11/2011 06:26 PM  
 Won't Transcribe   - Lunis Orcutt - 10/11/2011 06:45 PM  
 Won't Transcribe   - lloydgarver - 10/11/2011 07:07 PM  
 Won't Transcribe   - R. Wilke - 10/11/2011 07:12 PM  
 Won't Transcribe   - lloydgarver - 10/13/2011 12:41 AM  
 Won't Transcribe   - lloydgarver - 10/11/2011 07:13 PM  
 Won't Transcribe   - R. Wilke - 10/11/2011 07:14 PM  
 Won't Transcribe   - Lunis Orcutt - 10/12/2011 11:55 AM  
Keyword
 10/11/2011 06:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


lloydgarver
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 227
Joined: 01/28/2007

It's been a while since I've used this feature, but I went to the original instructions that came with the recorder. I was able to get the files from the recorder to the Module. However,I couldn't get those files to transcribe. I clicked the red dragon symbol and when asked, I chose selected window and dictation only. Then I was warned not to touch the mouse or keyboard. I'm trying to get it to transcribe onto a page of a Word file. Either nothing happens, or it will open up some other NS window--Dragon Keyword Edit -- and some usually random words will appear in that window.

 Any suggestions?

 

Lloyd



-------------------------

 

 10/11/2011 06:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 26012
Joined: 10/01/2006

This can happen if you launch Microsoft Word before opening NaturallySpeaking or the Microsoft Word DNS add-in has been deactivated. Try performing the same procedure in DragonPad and see what happens? This will help to rule out possible problems. If it works in DragonPad, simply close and re-launch word and repeat the procedure.

-------------------------

Click KB 2014 to take KnowBrainer 2014 on a 30 day test drive

Click SpeechStart+ to take SpeechStart+ on a 15 Day test drive

 10/11/2011 07:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


lloydgarver
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 227
Joined: 01/28/2007

It seems to be working now. Thanks.

 BTW, I gather that after you've transcribed a file once, the program won't transcribe it again. Is that correct? At least that's what I've always experienced.

 

Lloyd



-------------------------

 

 10/11/2011 07:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
R. Wilke
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 5280
Joined: 03/04/2007

You can achieve this by changing the audio file properties in the module. How to do this precisely will depend on your particular setup, but basically it's about resetting the flag.

Rüdiger

-------------------------

A salamander scurries into flame to be destroyed, imaginary creatures are trapped in birth on celluloid.

 10/13/2011 12:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


lloydgarver
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 227
Joined: 01/28/2007

Thanks--Lloyd

-------------------------

 

 10/11/2011 07:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


lloydgarver
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 227
Joined: 01/28/2007

I have a list of sound files when I open the Module. Some are in bold. What does that mean?  And some (those on the top of the list) are kind of highlighted in orange.What does that mean?

Lloyd



-------------------------

 

 10/11/2011 07:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
R. Wilke
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 5280
Joined: 03/04/2007

Which "module" (recorder software type) are you talking about?

-------------------------

A salamander scurries into flame to be destroyed, imaginary creatures are trapped in birth on celluloid.

 10/12/2011 11:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 26012
Joined: 10/01/2006

Lloyd is referring to the DSS Player Pro software that was included with his Olympus DS-5000. By default, the newest recordings are displayed at the top of the list and as Rüdiger noted, you can transcribe a previously transcribed file but the DSS Player Pro software automatically adds a notation that the file is finished which means you cannot re-transcribe it until you right-click on the file and change the properties.

-------------------------

Click KB 2014 to take KnowBrainer 2014 on a 30 day test drive

Click SpeechStart+ to take SpeechStart+ on a 15 Day test drive

KnowBrainer Speech Recognition » Transcription and Digital Recorders » Won't Transcribe

Statistics
28579 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 2028 on 04/05/2013 at 07:36 PM.
There are currently 104 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 106 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.