KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Error Code: HOOKERR_NONOTIFYWINDOW
Topic Summary: Error Code: HOOKERR_NONOTIFYWINDOW
Created On: 08/08/2012 04:00 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 Error Code: HOOKERR_NONOTIFYWINDOW   - EMBWayne - 08/08/2012 04:00 PM  
 Error Code: HOOKERR_NONOTIFYWINDOW   - Lunis Orcutt - 08/08/2012 10:46 PM  
 Error Code: HOOKERR_NONOTIFYWINDOW   - CtRptr - 11/19/2012 07:12 PM  
 Error Code: HOOKERR_NONOTIFYWINDOW   - Lunis Orcutt - 11/19/2012 11:23 PM  
 Error Code: HOOKERR_NONOTIFYWINDOW   - EMBWayne - 08/08/2012 11:59 PM  
 Error Code: HOOKERR_NONOTIFYWINDOW   - Lunis Orcutt - 08/09/2012 01:10 PM  
 Error Code: HOOKERR_NONOTIFYWINDOW   - Everitt - 11/16/2012 06:25 AM  
 Error Code: HOOKERR_NONOTIFYWINDOW   - Chucker - 11/16/2012 01:49 PM  
 Error Code: HOOKERR_NONOTIFYWINDOW   - SJRockower - 11/17/2012 11:07 AM  
 Error Code: HOOKERR_NONOTIFYWINDOW   - Lunis Orcutt - 11/18/2012 04:16 PM  
 Error Code: HOOKERR_NONOTIFYWINDOW   - SJRockower - 11/19/2012 04:14 PM  
 Error Code: HOOKERR_NONOTIFYWINDOW   - Chucker - 11/19/2012 05:00 PM  
 Error Code: HOOKERR_NONOTIFYWINDOW   - CtRptr - 11/21/2012 05:11 PM  
 Error Code: HOOKERR_NONOTIFYWINDOW   - SJRockower - 11/21/2012 07:06 PM  
 Error Code: HOOKERR_NONOTIFYWINDOW   - Lunis Orcutt - 11/21/2012 08:08 PM  
Keyword
 08/08/2012 04:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


EMBWayne
Junior Member

Posts: 25
Joined: 01/04/2007

COM returned an unexpected error code: Detaails are: HOOKERR_NONOTIFYWINDOW

I received this error message when attempting to dictate into this Message Box, hwen I attmpted to dictate into other message box on the internet.  My  browser if Firfox 14.0.1.

This error code has benn displayed in other applicaions.

I do not recall receiving thjis error message prior to copying and pasting my KB2011 Open<file> global cammands.

 

Thanks,  Ed

 

 



-------------------------

Using Dragon NaturallySpeaking 12 and Knowbrainer 2012



 08/08/2012 10:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 25078
Joined: 10/01/2006

You'll find a step-by-step solution in the NaturallySpeaking Quick Tips which, if you are using KnowBrainer 2011 you can launch by saying "Open Quick Tips" or manually clicking the "NaturallySpeaking Quick Tips" link (located under the "Recommend Links" section of this forum) when you look up “Hookerr”. Not that this is necessarily good reason to upgrade but the Ver. 12 upgrade also takes care of this problem.



-------------------------


Click KB 2012 REV D to Download a 30 Day Evaluation of KnowBrainer 2012
Click SpeechStart+ to Download a 15 Day Evaluation of SpeechStart+

 11/19/2012 07:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


CtRptr
Senior Member

Posts: 113
Joined: 10/02/2006

located under the "Recommend Links" section of this forum - I do not find the "Recommend Links" section on my page. Where is it located, please?

-------------------------

M-Tech, Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4900MQ CPU @ 2.80Hz 2.80GHz, 64-bit, 32GB RAM, Windows 7 Professional, DNS 12.5 Professional, SpeechMatic USB MultiAdapter, SmartMic (closed microphone court reporting)

 11/19/2012 11:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 25078
Joined: 10/01/2006

We suspect you have clicked on the Hide link to the right of your username. Just click the little black triangle to view the entire menu. You will see the NaturallySpeaking Quick Tips at the bottom of that table. Note that you can optionally click the previous embedded hyperlink.



-------------------------


Click KB 2012 REV D to Download a 30 Day Evaluation of KnowBrainer 2012
Click SpeechStart+ to Download a 15 Day Evaluation of SpeechStart+

 08/08/2012 11:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


EMBWayne
Junior Member

Posts: 25
Joined: 01/04/2007

I've ordered DNS 12.0 & KB.

Can you ship today, Lunis?

Ed

-------------------------

Using Dragon NaturallySpeaking 12 and Knowbrainer 2012



 08/09/2012 01:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 25078
Joined: 10/01/2006

We’re guessing that you missed the part about us offering preorder pricing. No one is shipping NaturallySpeaking 12 currently. See following shipping schedule which is also viewable on our website:

Premium 12 8-20-2012 ETA
Pro 12 8-27-2012 ETA
Legal 12 upgrades  9-03-2012 ETA



-------------------------


Click KB 2012 REV D to Download a 30 Day Evaluation of KnowBrainer 2012
Click SpeechStart+ to Download a 15 Day Evaluation of SpeechStart+



 11/16/2012 06:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Everitt
New Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 11/16/2012

Is the HoorErr_NoNotify problem solved for Adobe Flash Add-in 11.5 for Firefox 16 solved in Dragon 12? The problem exists still in 11.5 Dragon 11.5 .

-------------------------

Dragon taming for beginners...

 11/16/2012 01:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Chucker
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 10906
Joined: 10/10/2006

Everitt,

The problem is not with Adobe flash player. In Firefox/Chrome, the problem is with the Adobe shockwave player add-in/plug-in. Adobe flash player and Adobe shockwave player are two distinctly different flash player applications. If you disable the Adobe shockwave player in Firefox, the problem should resolve itself for DNS 11.5. Otherwise, the answers your question is that DNS 12 does not seem to be "generally" affected by this particular issue. However, Nuance has no control over the protected mode problems with Adobe flash player/Adobe shockwave player. Only Adobe Systems can solve that. One should not assume that DNS 12 will absolutely resolve the problem because some users of DNS 12 are still running into it, albeit much more rarely. The only thing that the Com returned an unexpected error code HOOKERR_NONOTIFYWINDOW means is that protected mode in Adobe shockwave player is preventing Dragon NaturallySpeaking from accessing a particular function or window in Firefox/Chrome. It is not a Dragon error. Dragon is simply reporting that access has been denied by virtue of the protected mode issues.

Chuck

"Many of the things you can count, don't count. Many of the things you can't count, really count." Albert Einstein



-------------------------



 11/17/2012 11:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SJRockower
Senior Member

Posts: 132
Joined: 10/02/2006

"addressing a function in Firefox/Chrome"

But why does this happen if one is not using Firefox or Chrome?  I can be going along for an hour or more, and then suddenly all shuts down.  Usually shutting down DNS and restarting works, but that is a pain....



-------------------------

Stephen J. Rockower, MD


Capitol Orthopaedics & Rehabilitation, LLC


Rockville, Maryland, USA


www.cordocs.com


@DrBonesMD

 11/18/2012 04:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 25078
Joined: 10/01/2006

All browsers use Flash plug-ins; including Internet Explorer



-------------------------


Click KB 2012 REV D to Download a 30 Day Evaluation of KnowBrainer 2012
Click SpeechStart+ to Download a 15 Day Evaluation of SpeechStart+

 11/19/2012 04:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SJRockower
Senior Member

Posts: 132
Joined: 10/02/2006

But if no browser is open (IE, Firefox, Chrome, Opera or anything) why is this happening?

I only have MSAccess open...



-------------------------

Stephen J. Rockower, MD


Capitol Orthopaedics & Rehabilitation, LLC


Rockville, Maryland, USA


www.cordocs.com


@DrBonesMD

 11/19/2012 05:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Chucker
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 10906
Joined: 10/10/2006

Stephen,

It could be for a number of reasons. However, it is most likely because you're using DMPE 11.0, wherein the problem is not been resolved. It was resolved between Adobe and Nuance for the first instance where this arose, which is with Acrobat reader. Do you have Acrobat reader installed? If so, what version. If you need Acrobat reader, try installing the new Acrobat reader XI. Also, try upgrading your Adobe Acrobat Flash Player to the newest version 11.5. Otherwise, edit the following file:

C:\Windows\SysWOW64\Macromed\Flash\mms.cfg (Windows 7 64-bit)

or,

C:\Windows\System32\Macromed\Flash\mms.cfg (Windows 7 32 bit).

Simply add the line at the very bottom after opening that file in notepad: ProtectedMode=0

Otherwise, make sure that you have Administrative Permissions to edit that file. If you don't, you won't be able to save the modifications. Adding that line to that file effectively disables protected mode.

Note also that this is not a Dragon error. It is simply a Dragon notification which indicates that a protected mode issue is not allowing you access to something. It isn't Dragon error erring out, it's just telling you that Dragon can't access something, which is caused by the protected mode issues that are basically related to a number of relatively unrelated problems with protected mode as far as Adobe Systems applications and players are concerned. By performing the above, you should eliminate the problem. Nevertheless, the problem comes from the version of Dragon that you are using. If DMPE had been upgraded to 11.5, most of these issues would have gone away, even though some would have remained. What remains should be eliminated using the above instructions and/or upgrading to the current versions of flash player or Acrobat reader.

Basically, it doesn't matter what you have open. The problem can still rear its ugly head anyway. Particularly if you're using DNS commands (Advanced Scripting/KnowBrainer, etc.).

Chuck

What you are aware of, you are in control of. What you are not aware of, is in control of you. Anthony Melillo

-------------------------

 11/21/2012 05:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


CtRptr
Senior Member

Posts: 113
Joined: 10/02/2006

Thanks, Lunis - I must've done that years ago because I wasn't aware it even existed. Thanks!

-------------------------

M-Tech, Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4900MQ CPU @ 2.80Hz 2.80GHz, 64-bit, 32GB RAM, Windows 7 Professional, DNS 12.5 Professional, SpeechMatic USB MultiAdapter, SmartMic (closed microphone court reporting)

 11/21/2012 07:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SJRockower
Senior Member

Posts: 132
Joined: 10/02/2006

So what's the cost to upgrade from KB2011-D to 2012-D? My 2011 is from 2011(not recent)...


-------------------------

Stephen J. Rockower, MD


Capitol Orthopaedics & Rehabilitation, LLC


Rockville, Maryland, USA


www.cordocs.com


@DrBonesMD

 11/21/2012 08:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 25078
Joined: 10/01/2006

The KnowBrainer 2012 Upgrade is $79.



-------------------------


Click KB 2012 REV D to Download a 30 Day Evaluation of KnowBrainer 2012
Click SpeechStart+ to Download a 15 Day Evaluation of SpeechStart+

Statistics
28316 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 2028 on 04/05/2013 at 07:36 PM.
There are currently 168 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 170 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.