KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: DNS in Parallels Virtual Machine on an iMac
Topic Summary: No longer works
Created On: 03/05/2012 12:35 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 DNS in Parallels Virtual Machine on an iMac   - Dr. S. - 03/05/2012 12:35 PM  
 DNS in Parallels Virtual Machine on an iMac   - Lunis Orcutt - 03/05/2012 02:04 PM  
 DNS in Parallels Virtual Machine on an iMac   - Dr. S. - 03/05/2012 02:45 PM  
 DNS in Parallels Virtual Machine on an iMac   - Stan Winikoff - 03/12/2012 04:23 PM  
Keyword
 03/05/2012 12:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Dr. S.
New Member

Posts: 18
Joined: 05/29/2007

A few weeks ago Apple introduced an update that caused DNS to no longer work in Parallels virtual machine environment.  Does anyone know anything about this? Is there a fix?  Initially, opening DNS would cause a blue screen of death.  After reformatting and starting new with a fresh install of windows, now I cannot finish installing DNS as it continuously opens the windows installer in an endless loop. 

Thanks,

Dr. S. 



-------------------------
Dr. S.
 03/05/2012 02:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 26002
Joined: 10/01/2006

Would working with Bootcamp be a possibility? As of yet, we haven't heard any complaints about running DNS on a Mac in Parallels so this could be something unique with your computer.

-------------------------

Click KB 2014 to take KnowBrainer 2014 on a 30 day test drive

Click SpeechStart+ to take SpeechStart+ on a 15 Day test drive

 03/05/2012 02:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Dr. S.
New Member

Posts: 18
Joined: 05/29/2007

Bootcamp is a possibility but I would probably just try another VM like VM fusion preferentially.  It is not just my PC.  This problem started the moment apple released their system update three weeks back.  I worked with Parallels on this daily for a week, they concluded there is definitely a problem which they reported to Dev.  I thought someone else must have encountered this as well.  I can't get DNS to finish installing even on a fresh reformat.

-------------------------
Dr. S.
 03/12/2012 04:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Stan Winikoff
Senior Member

Posts: 157
Joined: 10/03/2006

I have run DNS using VMWare on a MacBook Air. It worked but reaction time was sluggish. I found it was simpler and easier to use BootCamp. 

 

 

Stanley A. Winikoff | Attorney at Law | Dell, Moser, Lane + Loughney, LLC |

525 William Penn Place | Suite 3700 | Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania  15219 |

412.281.3333, ext. 221 | Direct Facsimile: 412.202.3565 | Cell: 412.260.7149

 

 



-------------------------

_________________________________________________________

Stanley Winikoff |  Dell Moser Lane & Loughney  |  Attorneys and Mediators  | 525 William Penn Place | Suite 3700 |  Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania  15222  |  T:412.281.3333  |   F:   412.202.3565 

Statistics
28575 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 2028 on 04/05/2013 at 07:36 PM.
There are currently 124 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 126 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.