KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Need code editing app suggestions
Topic Summary: I used to use Notepad++ for editing HTML, CSS, C++ etc. but it doesn't seem to work with Dragon anymore
Created On: 06/16/2020 11:20 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 Need code editing app suggestions   - cy_borg5 - 06/16/2020 11:20 AM  
 Need code editing app suggestions   - Lunis Orcutt - 06/16/2020 08:05 PM  
 Need code editing app suggestions   - kkkwj - 06/17/2020 01:28 AM  
 Need code editing app suggestions   - Lunis Orcutt - 06/17/2020 10:32 PM  
 Need code editing app suggestions   - cy_borg5 - 06/17/2020 10:49 AM  
 Need code editing app suggestions   - kkkwj - 06/17/2020 11:50 AM  
Keyword
 06/16/2020 11:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

cy_borg5

I'm looking for a suggestion for a Dragon friendly text editor for programming. I have been using Notepad++ for several years and I really liked it. For some reason after recent update or some other unrelated glitch I can't identify, it no longer accepts dictation from DPI 15.3.

Is anyone else using Notepad++ with the Dragon and had problems or is it just me?

Can anyone recommend alternatives. I tried downloading something called Ginny and it wouldn't even let me call up the dictation box let alone allow me to dictate directly.

06/16/2020 08:05 PM

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

We like Visual Studio a little more than Notepad++

-------------------------

Forum Mission Statement
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ext 1

06/17/2020 01:28 AM

Author Icon
kkkwj
Top-Tier Member

Edgar always uses PSPad, which is apparently Dragon friendly.

I just tested Notepad++ v7.8.6 on my system, and it would not receive normal Dragon dictation directly into the editor buffer.

Lunis, are you saying you can dictate directly into VS with Dragon 15.3? I have never been able to do that.