KnowBrainer Speech Recognition
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: point vs comma
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/15/2020 10:55 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
 point vs comma   - dicdoc - 04/15/2020 10:55 AM  
 point vs comma   - Lunis Orcutt - 04/15/2020 11:22 AM  
 point vs comma   - dicdoc - 04/15/2020 11:53 AM  
 point vs comma   - Scribe - 04/15/2020 11:50 AM  
 point vs comma   - dicdoc - 04/15/2020 11:54 AM  
 point vs comma   - Lunis Orcutt - 04/15/2020 12:15 PM  
 point vs comma   - dicdoc - 04/15/2020 12:18 PM  
Keyword
 04/15/2020 10:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dicdoc
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 268
Joined: 07/31/2014

Is there an option to dictate "2,5" as "2.5" ?



-------------------------

Memory: 16GB Microphone Brand and Model: LFH 4000 & Flexy Mike  Operating System: win 10, latest update; Surface Book 2, Processor (CPU) Type & Speed: I7 8650 Soundcard Brand and Model: none Speech Software: Dragon Medical Practice Edition, french version: 4.2 Using KnowBrainer?:Yes

 04/15/2020 11:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 38007
Joined: 10/01/2006

If we didn't read your message correctly, can't you just say two point five for 2.5? In order to get 2,5 you would have to say two comma no-space five because this isn't considered to be proper comma behavior. Of course you can always change the behavior of the comma in the Vocabulary Editor but this would be a problem for your dictation. Also note that you would have to change your Auto-Formatting Options Numbers, if greater than or equal to 0. Whenever you fight what is considered to be normal behavior, it is usually not easy.



-------------------------

Forum Mission Statement
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ext 1

 04/15/2020 11:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dicdoc
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 268
Joined: 07/31/2014

Well, the problem is with french version. 

When I Say "2.5" "deux point cinq", DMPE writes ": cinq", since ":" is "deux point".

DMPE seems not to take into account windows regional setting. In my case decimal symbol is "." and not ",", but DMPE does not care



-------------------------

Memory: 16GB Microphone Brand and Model: LFH 4000 & Flexy Mike  Operating System: win 10, latest update; Surface Book 2, Processor (CPU) Type & Speed: I7 8650 Soundcard Brand and Model: none Speech Software: Dragon Medical Practice Edition, french version: 4.2 Using KnowBrainer?:Yes

 04/15/2020 11:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Scribe
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 364
Joined: 04/02/2010

dicdoc is using the French edition of Dragon, which may make a difference. In French, commas are used to punctuate numbers in the way that periods are used in English. Therefore, the number that would be said as "two point five " in English is probably dictated as "two virgule five" in French, without need for the "no-space" command. (Virgule" is the French word for "comma.") dicdoc, have you tried saying "deux point cinq"? I'm not sure if the spacing will work correctly in the French edition, but it's worth a try. Otherwise, maybe there are options in the number formatting that might help. Someone who has a copy of the French edition is probably the best person to advise on this question.

-------------------------

The woman who dueled with Aaron Burr and won: www.MmeJumel.com


Crohn's News Blog: www.crohns-news.net

 04/15/2020 11:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dicdoc
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 268
Joined: 07/31/2014

yeah, here are several attempts

trois. Cinq

: cinq

quatre. Cinq



-------------------------

Memory: 16GB Microphone Brand and Model: LFH 4000 & Flexy Mike  Operating System: win 10, latest update; Surface Book 2, Processor (CPU) Type & Speed: I7 8650 Soundcard Brand and Model: none Speech Software: Dragon Medical Practice Edition, french version: 4.2 Using KnowBrainer?:Yes

 04/15/2020 12:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lunis Orcutt
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 38007
Joined: 10/01/2006

As a non-French-speaking end-user, we are probably out of our depth but have you considered adding a specialized word for “comma” that types a , but behaves like a dot or period? Just add a , to the Written Form and something like “dot” to the Spoken Form. Then edit the Word Properties so that it behaves like a traditional dot which is Perceived By Nothing and Followed By Nothing. You will also need the default setting of Format the next word with normal capitalization. Note that you will probably have to remove the original ./dot from your vocabulary to use this option.



-------------------------

Forum Mission Statement
Trial Downloads
Dragon/Sales@KnowBrainer.com 
(615) 884-4558 ext 1



 04/15/2020 12:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dicdoc
Top-Tier Member

Posts: 268
Joined: 07/31/2014

I tried, but the result was not good.

 

My only option is to create list of numbers with comma in letters, under excel and then import it with a written form with "." comma



-------------------------

Memory: 16GB Microphone Brand and Model: LFH 4000 & Flexy Mike  Operating System: win 10, latest update; Surface Book 2, Processor (CPU) Type & Speed: I7 8650 Soundcard Brand and Model: none Speech Software: Dragon Medical Practice Edition, french version: 4.2 Using KnowBrainer?:Yes

KnowBrainer Speech Recognition » Dragon Medical Practice Edition and EMR » point vs comma

Statistics
31795 users are registered to the KnowBrainer Speech Recognition forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.
The most users ever online was 12124 on 09/09/2020 at 04:59 AM.
There are currently 653 guests browsing this forum, which makes a total of 653 users using this forum.

FuseTalk Standard Edition v4.0 - © 1999-2020 FuseTalk™ Inc. All rights reserved.